We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Every room makes you fell very warm and cozy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is wonderful. My husband and I along with our two daugthers enjoyed very much our stay at the Hampton Inn and hope to return soon.

The Aplin family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDR046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 978 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Terrace for two nights. Stan, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is served in a rather dark room on the ground floor and is quite good, the warm dish changes every day. There are many rules for the house - one of them is, that you're not allowed to wear perfume to the breakfast table. Sounds like a joke, but it isn't.

We stayed in the main house. The rooms are rather small and our bed was not very comfortable. It was quite cold, because the windows couldn't be closed completely due to the a/c. There is a heated pool behind the house which we liked a lot.

Lenox is a small place, the hotel is outside of town but still quite close to walk by foot. Tanglewood is a five minute drive away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberbob2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonT, Owner at Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2009

This is a positive review, but with some misunderstandings. First, we ask in our room guest book that people "go light" on perfumes, especially at breakfast, because one person can overwhelm the dining room with fragrance. We have been thanked 100 times for requesting that, and this is the first time we have been criticized.

Secondly, we have a window air conditioner in each room, and in August, it can be necessary. If it was cold that night, and if a draft came in the a/c, then we are sorry, but we cannot add and remove air conditioners on a daily basis if a cold night comes. And I am confused about their comment about their main house room being small. Being a Gilded Age mansion, it is obvious that some bedrooms are very large. In the main house, three are spacious, and two are less so. Both of the smaller rooms have obvious heat...so if this person was cold, there was a way to offset that.

Mattresses: we have only Sealy Posturepedics, and in the case of our two smaller rooms in the main house, both mattresses are less than a month old.

Everything in the village of Lenox is less than a two block walk from our door, so our location cannot be considered "out of town."

Finally, our dining room is dark red and elegant...as you can see from the photos on our website. We serve breakfast by candlelight, which is applauded by most guests...but if someone wants to be in more sunshine, then 10 of our 26 chairs are on the adjoining sun porch.

So as much as we want to respond in a positive way to negative comments....this set of comments mystify us. In the context of the last several dozen reviews, it has to come under the heading of "you can't please all of the people all of the time"....although we try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Everything was delightful. Very convenient to downtown and restaurants. We stopped in this area to visit the Norman Rockwell museum which is well worth the visit. This was an intermediate stop on our way to Nantucket.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhmgadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Great breakfasts! Good variety each day with something special to try. Pool is warm and the yard is very pretty. Great to relax in after a day of exploring the area. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance. Facilities are explained and information about local attractions pleasantly described. Interaction with other guests at breakfast was an unexpected treat as well, as we shared our local explorations and got good tips about what was worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

A five minute walk into the center of Lenox, MA, The Hampton Terrace is a very special B & B! Stan, our host, was most attentive to the needs of his guests, he knows the area well and was delighted to help with any suggestions for activities, restaurants, etc. Our room, a KING SUITE, was separate from the main house, but had every amenity from a whirpool tub to a fireplace. We appreciated the fact that the Hampton Inn was so centrally located, we were just minutes from Tanglewood! We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely Inn for your special weekend away!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakergone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Hampton Terrace is excellent. The location is great: a 9-minute walk to Shakespeare & Company and 5-minute walk into town. I stayed in the main house, the Bel Air Room, which is strategically located a few feet from a hallway refrigerator and is beautiful with a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were excellent. Stan is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stltraveler099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

If you are looking for a great B&B experience, Hampton Terrace is the place to stay when in Lenox. I have stayed here many times and always look forward to my next trip. The innkeepers are very friendly and accommodating and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are great, the atmosphere even better, and the inn as a whole is the best. Many thanks Stan and Susan for always going above and beyond!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebRN58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 15 in Lenox
582 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
539 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,097 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range: $197 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing