We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

This was our second time at The Hampton Terrace for our anniversary getaway weekend and it was great. Easy to get to, good location, and great restaurants (although I wouldn't go back to The Prime Italian Steak House, lousy service). Thanks Stan and Susan for another great weekend.
The McGovern's

  • Liked — 2 person jacuzzi
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MummaGov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    55
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
91
662
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We visited the Hampton Terrace in early November 2008. We found it to be charming, cozy, and quaint. Loved the Fireplace in the room, we are from Florida, so it kept us quite cozy in the evenings! Out hosts were wonderful, and we would not hesitate to visit again. Thanks you for making our weekend so memorable.

  • Liked — The rooms were cozy and comfortable
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We visited the Hampton Terrace at the suggestion of a friend who had visited the area frequently. This was our first experience at a B&B and we weren't dissapointed. The owners were very accomodating and friendly. We felt very comfortable and loved the large comfy bed and fireplace in our room! We stayed for two days and had wonderful homecooked breakfasts both mornings that were very delicious. Thank you for allowing us to share your lovely home.

  • Liked — cozy atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biagio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Hampton Terrace is a lovely old property with very spacious, well-decorated rooms. All the amenities they list (Jacuzzi, fireplace, $30 "romance package" credit to a local wine shop) are fabulous and really add to the experience. The owners were friendly without being overbearing, the location was excellent, and the breakfasts were lovely. However, I tend to agree with some reviews about somewhat of a lack of maintenance - I was really troubled by the lack of comforter cover (having terrible allergies) but didn't want to make a fuss; the carpets were worn and a little dirty, and I didn't really see evidence that the cleaning staff did much besides make the beds and fold the towels.

All in all, we had a great experience - the weather was beautiful and Stan's extensive knowledge about the area meant we didn't have to plan a thing before getting there. I just think a little more thought put into some of the details would have made this a five-star review!

  • Liked — Charming, knowledgable owners
  • Disliked — Could have been a little shinier
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happycamper519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My girlfriend and I checked into the Hampton Terrace last weekend and were looking forward to a romantic weekend away from the noise and crowds of New York City. We selected the Hampton Terrace because of its high rating here on Trip Advisor and we were not blown away. The owners were certainly nice enough and the property was incredibly well located. However, having stayed in a number of B&Bs, we felt that the positive ratings were too generous. First, the bulk of the rooms were all being shared by a guests of wedding party - so there was incredible noise and little privacy. Second, the property was in bad shape. The carpets looked old and were dirty, the bath towels cheap and the bedding was old, used, run of the mill stuff - from old pillows to a simple comforter lacking any cover. When one comes to the Berkshires and spends over 200 per night, a little bit nicer would be appreciated. The breakfasts were not served, but buffet style and left quite a bit to be desired. Finally, the cleaning staff did a poor job and overall we didn't care that much for the property. Having stayed at B&Bs in Maine, on Cape Cod, etc - this was not one of the finest. It wasn't an awful experience - but just wasn't that great. We are glad that so many folks enjoyed their stay - but we will not be going back and were not overwhelmed at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It felt run down
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FiesoleStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonT, Owner at Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2008
We're disappointed that this couple did not let us know there were privacy issues in the carriage house that weekend. We always try to do what we can to fix problems. We were filled and everyone booked independently ....but what we did not know until check-in, was that many of our rooms were taken by couples attending a wedding down the street. There are six rooms in the carriage house and this couple ended up being the only ones in the building who were not part of that group. I can certainly understand their frustration if others were being social among the other rooms. This is the first we have heard of their displeasure.

Concerning maintenance issues, we make no excuses...we want everyone to be happy with their experience here. That weekend did represent the first weekend of the off-season, and that room has been occupied 7 nights per week for almost five months. No one, including our housekeepers, had reported any issues with that room....but we will certainly go into that room and examine any upgrades that are needed. We are proud that positive reviews to Trip Advisor have elevated us to top position, and we know that this raises expectations possibly to a level we probably won't meet with some guests. We can only promise that we will ALWAYS do what we can to meet those expectations, and we merely ask that those who find things that we should fix, please let us know while we have opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Our 4 night stay at Hampton Terrace was terrific. Great hospitality, charming accommodations. I am sure we will be back. The breakfast experience was very gracious, and the grits were my personal highlight. Husband Dave loved the guest room fireplace and enjoyed studying architectural features of the property. Wonderful visit, wonderful memories. Thank you!!!

Diane McCann
Monroe, CT

  • Liked — Grits
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dmdianemarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2008

For our honeymoon we decided to check out the fall foliage in New England. We're from California, and figured we would step outside of our typical wine country get-away box and do something different for a change. One of our stops was Lenox, MA, where we stayed at the Hampton Terrace for only one night. We really wish we would have stayed there for half of our trip! We were very impressed by the main house, it was very well kept and held so much history. Very cozy too whether the fireplace is lit or not. We were also very impressed with the private king suite we had booked. It was equipped with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, huge comfy bed, even a small kitchen area. The owners, Stan and Susan, were a pleasure to meet. We enjoyed their company while sitting around the fire drinking some wine before we headed out for dinner. They gave us a great recommendation for a local restaurant with good steaks - Prime Steakhouse. Very yummy. And the next morning Stan had cooked up a killer breakfast, complete with homemade biscuits. Delicious! This place was so memorable, we will be sure to stay here again the next time we find ourselves in the Berkshires. I've already told my parents about this B&B, and I will definitely be helping them plan a fall foliage trip of their own, complete with a long stay at the Hampton Terrace.

  • Liked — Our cozy room, and hanging with the owners by the fire
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gjoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
246 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing