We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, charming, impeccable service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, charming, impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you like privacy, beautiful grounds, homey surroundings, proximity to a great village, and terrific, intelligent service, stay here. Although we were the only guests for a day, Mark treated us like family. And when the crowds showed up, everything was still great here. Food was very good, and there is nothing about the area that Mark is not well informed about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    54
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
90
656
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Everything was class act. The owner was friendly and up on emails before arrival and gracious and thorough upon arrival. He made sure everything we'd need was taken care of. Breakfasts were adorable dining areas and delicious food with vegetarians taken into account.

We stayed in the outer house and it was a sweet cozy room with everything for comfort and beauty.

It was short drive to town(probably could walk) and neighboring towns are not far either to check out.

The owner left us with a great book of restaurants and things in the area to do and the recommendations in it were spot on.

I can't recommend staying here enough. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the house in back. Not a cottage and not the main house. And it was enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellyr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

These are the two best features of this B and B. It is what makes this B and B stand out from the rest. It was hard to crawl out of the luxurious bed in the morning except that you knew you were going to have a fantastic breakfast!!! Stan is a great host and the conversation flowed with the guests around the table each morning. Stan also provides you with an extensive list of things to do, historical facts, restaurants etc before you arrive as well as a binder with the info in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Like many we chose this B&B using tripadvisor and definitely chose the right place. We stayed for two nights back in June (taken me a while to write up) before the peak season). Sadly the weather was awful but it still proved a lovely base from which to explore the Berkshires.

Stan was an incredibly welcoming host. I would say very reminiscent of some UK B&Bs. We received a restaurant list by email and also an email just before we arrived too all welcoming us. He greeted us on arrival too (touring around the US so many B&Bs now don't seem to be actually run by the owners so this was very welcome) and was incredibly helpful with dinner recommendations, maps etc. Again in the morning was helpful with recommending was we could do with the day

We stayed in a cute little suite with two adjoining rooms - perfect for two sharers. It was decorated in what we call in the UK in a "shabby chic style". Unfortunately because of the awful weather we did not get to enjoy the pool.

It is located about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Lenox - possibly less where there are some great restaurants. Try Nudel if you can get in!

Like all the other the reviewers don't hesitate to book in at the Hampton Terrace. If I could I would have awarded 6 blobs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca1pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Charming inn with accommodations in the main house and buildings in the rear. Terrific breakfasts with items such as cinnamon and chocolate French toast are service in the beautiful dining room in the main house. Stan, the innkeeper, was friendly and attentive. There's a nice bar area with glasses, ice, bottle openers and even some house liqueurs for the guests. There was a pool in the back, and we enjoyed a relaxing dip before heading out for the evening. While the inn is nicely appointed, it's not so fussy that you couldn't bring older children. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

What a wonderful inn. Everything was just as we hoped for. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The location was perfect- close enough to town to walk but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating; they provided tons of information on local restaurants and attractions. I highly recommend Hampton Terrace. If we stay in the area in the future, I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a lovely inn which is in an ideal location in the center of a lovely town. The innkeepers were eager to please and were excellent hosts. We hope to return in the spring, and would highly recommend the Hampton Terrace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joankramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing