We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Historic Landmark House with a Friendly and Gracious Host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic Landmark House with a Friendly and Gracious Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights (our late celebration of the Spring Solstice, aka Easter, 2013) at Hampton Terrace and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Stan Rosen (the B&B owner) is an extremely friendly and gracious host … and he could be mistaken as my “brother with a different mother” as we are both Southern Gentlemen born in the same city – Macon, Georgia.

Don’t let the fact that Stan is not a “multi-generational” New England'er deter you from selecting this B&B. He may be a Southern Gentleman with all of the requisite Southern Charm … but he has lived in the immediate area for at least two decades and is passionately in love with his Town of Lenox, the Berkshires … and Hampton Terrace - his home and B&B.

The main house, a historic landmark, was especially warm and inviting with a great entrance hall, a large living room with comfy seating, and a large gas fireplace … a lovely place to sit in the afternoon or evening. We did not stay in the main house, but stayed in one of the new, quite large, private Guest Cottages (#2) in the back garden which included a very comfortable four poster king bed, mini bar (fridge and sink), full size gas fireplace (with remote control), a Jacuzzi, coffee maker, and free wi-fi. Stan and his wife Susan have been careful to maintain period charm while at the same time providing modern amenities.

Each morning we were welcomed with Stan’s Southern Style Buffet Breakfast which included great coffee, hot water for tea, juices, fresh fruit, toast, English muffins, boiled eggs, sausage, and cereals … as well as specialty items that varied daily and included French Toast (chocolate, cinnamon or regular) or Pancakes (blueberry, wheat or regular), scrambled eggs, and on some days … cheese grits. Guests have a choice of sitting communally at two beautifully decorated large tables in the house, or privately at smaller tables on a glass enclosed sun porch.

Stan, if we could make just one request, it would be to ask if you could provide an electric tea kettle - in the Suite, or in the Dining Room where you provide the KEURIG coffee machine and unlimited coffee and tea pods 24/7 - so that guests could make proper tea during non breakfast hours. I ask this especially for my wife who is English ... and very particular about her tea. :-)

Other than that … our experience at Hampton Terrace was absolutely wonderful! It is within easy walking distance of the Town of Lenox and all of the wonderful shops and restaurants.

Thank you Stan, and we will certainly stop by for a visit the next time we are in Lenox!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SROARKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    53
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
89
642
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I grew up in this town and so visiting is truly like coming home with all of the associated memories. Our most recent trip was a brief overnight and I was showing a friend some of beauty of the Berkshires. At the Hampton Terrace Inn, the innkeeper's attention to detail is on a par with my own! The house is beautifully restored and located ideally to enjoy the charms of downtown Lenox.
We were greeted warmly on our arrival and settled into our rooms in a "this is your home, please let us know how we can make you more comfortable" way! We found our innkeeper, Stan Rosen, eager to please and sincere.
Thank you to the Hampton Terrace Inn for a perfect landing spot. We will most certainly be back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlahardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the very start, we were treated with the utmost respect and care. Stan is an extremely friendly and gracious person - the perfect B & B owner! Both the interior and outside of the property were in pristine condition, and the rooms were decorated with such warmth and charm that I truly was torn between reading a book by the downstairs fireplace and exploring the quaint and lovely town of Lenox. The breakfast was outstanding, from the fresh berries and varied flavors of homemade french toast to the delicious coffee and sausage. We will definitely be back to the Hampton Terrace, for a longer stay next time. It was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our second visit to Hampton Terrace was just perfect. Stan is amazing - the best host, thoughtful and generous. From the welcoming breakfast (blueberry pancakes and sausage - heaven!) to the bar of cordials and cognac at bedtime, comfort is king. Our favorite room, this time with its fireplace aglow every evening, was just as beautiful as we remembered. Everything you could possibly want is within walking distance - even in some yucky winter weather. We can't imagine being anywhere else.....

Room Tip: We've never stayed anywhere but the main house, but I gather others like the newer carriage hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, ct
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We like to find properties that enhance the experience of the area we are visiting. Small inns do not always meet that criteria, but this beautiful house certainly did. The charm of the Hampton Terrace is as enticing as the town of Lenox . The history of the inn and the period decor collection adds to the unique ambiance. The friendly welcome by Stan and his attention to our needs was exceptional and appreciated. While the area has many hotel/b&b options, we would choose to repeat our experience at Hampton Terrace.

Room Tip: trash pickup is early am...check which day and if dumpster is below your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I were gifted a weekend stay at the Hampton Terrace Inn with instructions to relax and enjoy. We were charmed by the Inn as soon as we parked in the semi-circular drive and entered the center hall of this elegant, graceful and welcoming property. We had done a little research on line and I have to say, the Inn was more beautiful and gracious than the photos and descriptions suggested. What an exciting treat it is to have your expectations surpassed!

Our weekend getaway happened during a blizzard snowstorm weekend and it created a magic backdrop for our experience. The Hampton Terrace Inn has a welcoming living room with a large fireplace that beckons you to sit a while. The warmth of the fire, the well appointed lving room and the Innkeepers attention to our comforts were superb. Lovely music, books, photos, and period furniture surrounded us as we relaxed with a glass of wine our first evening. The wine was a benefit of the complimentary $30 gift card we received with our room to a local wine and cheese shop that was within walking distance.

Our first evening was spent in the Spencer room, a soothing and romantic room with a full bath, queen size bed and fireplace. We slept snuggly and comfortably as the wind and snow howled outside our leaded glass windows and the fireplace crackled with warmth.

Stan is a detail oriented and thoughtful host and we benefited from his restaurant recommendations and knowledge of local things to do and see. We are avid snowshoers and hikers and found nearby Kennedy Park a delightful way to spend a winter day in 18" of fresh powder snow. There are plenty of opportunities for amusement, whatever your tastes are.

Our second night was spent in the Bonner Room, a large, front corner room with fabulous views of the street, a warming fireplace and spacious bathroom (actually huge!). This room has a king size bed and a bit more room to spread out and relax.

Each morning we were welcomed with a home made breakfast of great coffee, juices, very fresh fruit and a menu that varied from specialty french toast, scrambled eggs, pancakes, cereal and more. It was fabulous to enjoy the fare and catch up briefly with other guests who were visiting and hear Stan's stories.

Our experience was absolutely perfect! Thank you Stan, for your wonderfully appointed and run Hampton Terrace Inn. Our expectations were exceeded during our memorable stay with you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip,ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Hampton Terrace and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn is very old and the innkeepers have been careful to maintain period charm while at the same time providing modern amenities. We stayed in the Struthers Room which has a deep claw foot tub, wood burning fireplace (a new duraflame was provided each night) and a very comfortable king bed - very cozy! The common room was especially warm and inviting with a large gas fireplace and grand piano. It was a lovely place to sit in the afternoon with a glass of wine and a good book. There are many good restaurants in the area and the Inn is within walking distance of most. Stan provided suggestions that would satisfy any appetite. Breakfast was very good, changed each day and we didn't need to eat lunch! We highly recommend this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 11 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 22 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Inn

Property: Hampton Terrace Inn
Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing