We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Islip,ny
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Hampton Terrace and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn is very old and the innkeepers have been careful to maintain period charm while at the same time providing modern amenities. We stayed in the Struthers Room which has a deep claw foot tub, wood burning fireplace (a new duraflame was provided each night) and a very comfortable king bed - very cozy! The common room was especially warm and inviting with a large gas fireplace and grand piano. It was a lovely place to sit in the afternoon with a glass of wine and a good book. There are many good restaurants in the area and the Inn is within walking distance of most. Stan provided suggestions that would satisfy any appetite. Breakfast was very good, changed each day and we didn't need to eat lunch! We highly recommend this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    50
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
78
593
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our second visit back!! My wife and I came up very stressed out! As soon as we arrived at the front door, Stan, the owner, made us feel at home-like part of his family! His magnificent breakfasts, the room, service, and the total atmosphere made for a fabulous weekend!!!!!!

Roger and Marge Feb. 17, 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marge w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first stay at the Hampton Terrace, and we will definitely be back again. We spent the weekend there and it couldn't have been better. The room was great - provided all the amenities you would need. The breakfast Stan and Susan made were wonderful, both mornings. They also provided us with some advice on what to do while in the area and places to eat (all of which was great!) Overall it was a great getaway weekend, thanks to Hampton Terrace.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in Hampton Terrace just before Sandy and it was great pleasure for us. Mr. Stan, hotel owner, since the reservation until the end, showed a great hospitality. We felt us like our house. Don't believe any negative comments here. We plan to stay there again, but in Summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Dexter house. It was great. We had a chance to visit other rooms, same good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertAvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are a couple straddling 40 with two kids and busy lives from which we needed a break. Time off is rare and getting away without the kids is even rarer, so we wanted to make sure our four day vacation was not wasted. After spending more than a few days looking at various websites and reading reviews for places that were at or below the price range of the Hampton Terrace, we were persuaded by the unusual number of Excellent reviews to try this place. We were so happy we did. I have never written a review before, but there was something about the quality of Stan's service and hospitality and the fabulous time we had that I knew eventually I would type this up.

Our room was clean and comfortable with a private bathroom and gas fireplace. There were many options each morning for breakfast and the food was consistently good. The house is located a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars, boutiques, and a great little bookstore/wine bar. We felt very luck to have found this gem of a place and hope to return again next year.

If you are looking for a place to stay in the Berkshires, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second visit to the Inn, having visited back in October. Stan and Susan have made a very special place which we love to visit to escape the pressures of our very busy lives and demanding jobs.

The breakfast is terrific, dining area quaint...rooms well appointed, very clean always and comfortable

We will go back, again and again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed here twice now. There were some minor “issues” during our first visit so we were invited back (at no charge) to try again for a two-night stay – and that time things went perfectly. They really do everything they can to please their guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Main House for a true B & B experience. Some rooms have fireplaces for an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjc428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#3 of 13 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 13 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#3 of 23 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#2 of 23 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Hampton Terrace is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping in downtown Lenox, MA. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing