We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Frank and Rosemary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, New York
1 review
“Frank and Rosemary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed out stay at Hampton Terrace. Our suite was roomy, yet cozy. We loved the plus size Jacuzzi and the fireplace was a nice touch. Breakfasts were delicious and plenty. (Loved the chocolate french toast!) Stan and his wife were excellent hosts. Friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable about the area. Looking forward to booking another weekend in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fpjuniorjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    51
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
80
610
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Thank you Stan and Susan for a wonderful weekend. The room and the inn were very comfortable and inviting and the fireplace was such a nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts (maybe a little too much) and your hospitality. In addition to the beautiful B&B itself, your location to restaurants and downtown was perfect. We didn't mind walking to dinner even in the snow. We hope for the chance to visit again in the not too distant future and wish you a very pleasant holiday season.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our second visit in three months (see my wife, Monica Sinclair's review) and Stan greeted us like old friends. He's a real professional who never stops working to make your visit enjoyable and pays great attention to detail - he remembered that that as English expats we like tea in the afternoon and made sure it was always available. He is also a great source of local knowledge and information and has excellent, reliable recommendations on restauarants, services and activities.
Last time, during peak season, we stayed in the cottage, this time we stayed in the main house. Both worked well for us.
Great location for Tanglewood and a short walk to the center of Lenox.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Hailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is our first time staying at the Hampton Terrace in Lennox. We always seek out a B&B when we travel both here in the states and in Europe. We were quite taken with the beautiful house and loved the expansive rooms. Our suite was welcoming and we loved the living room with the fireplace that helped drive away the November chill. The location with wide sidewalks gave us plenty of routes to allow us to keep our daily steps at 10,000. The recommendation of Nudel's for dinner was especially good. Stan and Susan were great especially when my husband developed a cold. We will be back as our daughter is now living in the Berkshires. Thanks for sharing your home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hampton Terrace. The property is beautiful and Stan and Susan are so nice and helpful! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and we were able to sit in a cozy enclosed porch looking out the window. Our room had a wood burning fireplace and was wonderful. We were able to walk everywhere from the B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navesink, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our third visit to the Berkshires since my college days, and we have stayed at Hampton Terrace B&B all three times. We typically vet our B&B's thoroughly before booking, did so with Hampton Terrace and have been exceedingly satisfied with this choice. The location is fantastic - no need to drive anywhere to dinner because of the excellent restaurants around the corner. We are a blend of outdoor, wine, and museum enthusiasts. There are many educational activities in the area, and we can always find fun oudoorsy things to do - for example numerous running routes, in addition to trail running down the street at Kennedy Park (where mountain biking, cross country skiing, and horse riding are also prevalent). The restaurants offer excellent wine selections, not to mention that there are local wineries and breweries that are fun to visit. I am so happy we became engaged here because that means there's an excellent reason to return again and again! To wrap this up, I'll just mention that Stan and his wife are wonderful hosts, as are all of the restaurant owners and staff we have come in contact with. And to top it off the breakfasts are very yummy!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Wynstay Cottage are more modern, but we've also been very happy with the rooms in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a lovely time using Hampton Terrace as home base. Just sorry that we didn't spend more time at the Inn itself. Warm, comfortable and private. A great balance of all 3 elements. Stan and Susan make sure you have conversation if desired without being intrusive in any manner. Breakfast by candlelight is quite a treat!

Room Tip: We stayed in a queen room which had both a fireplace and whirlpool tub big enough for 2. Lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalemMARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#3 of 13 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 13 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#3 of 23 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Hampton Terrace is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping in downtown Lenox, MA. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing