We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from Sandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We headed up to the Hampton Terrace after spending a week without power/heat/water after Superstorm Sandy. When we look back on that time, we will at least have one awesome memory; our weekend at Hampton Terrace. Stan was very kind and accommodating. The house was beautiful and very well kept; and as two musicians my wife and I got a kick out of the piano once played by John Williams in the living room. The breakfast each morning was amazing, and of course the things we take for granted were spot on; cozy warm atmosphere, clean room/bathroom and cable/internet access to keep you entertained during your down time.

Hope we'll have a chance to stay there again soon! (This time without need to escape from a crazy weather situation!) :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTmusicmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 965 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

i had spent the last two months remodeling our parlor so i needed to get away .the inn was beautiful.a lot of character and beautiful features.we stayed at one of the private rooms behind the inn .it was perfect.it was private and quiet.the breakfast was served in their beautiful dining room .the food was delicious and varied every morning.a beautiful spot .so much to see and do.

Room Tip: maybe next time i would stay in the main house but for feeling like you are the only ones there the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 89kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The hosts (Stan and Susan) and Atticus the dog were perfect hosts. We were in one of the suites. There was a jacuzzi and gas fireplace. What a treat! Stan e-mailed us a list of restaurants and places to visit before we arrived. This way we had our weekend planned out. The breakfast was fantastic. Plenty to eat and a variety of foods were offered. We were stuffed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived at the Hampton Inn after having a wonderful two nights at a B&B in Woodstock, Vermont. When we arrived, we were greeted by Stan the owner and were escorted to our room in one of the back buildings (the Rarus room). We chose the room, so we are partially to blame I guess. The room was small, but more significantly was in pretty bad shape in my opinion and is in need of some tlc. The walls are all marked up (I'm sure from people scraping their luggage against the walls), there was a wood plank on the floor that separated the bathroom from the bedroom that was in desperate need of sanding and painting. The wood was splintering and it should not have been exposed to bare feet. When we moved the curtains to open windows there was tons of dust. We eventually called Stan and asked if we could see other rooms (he had sent us an email before arriving explicitly telling us to tell him if there were any problems). Without hesitation, we were offered other rooms, including one in the main house that we ended up staying in. The new room was definitely better, but still had issues (the bathroom floor was really dirty which was evident after placing the bath mat towel on the floor). We had no remote in our room for the t.v. which we mentioned to Stan and he offered to find us one but said it wasn't replaced earlier since they were purchasing all new tvs for the property. On the bright side, the breakfast was great, Atticus (house dog) is super cute and Stan is very hospitable. I do believe he wants to make sure everyone is comfortable, but I think this property needs some additional tlc and a really deep cleaning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovevacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This historic, small-scale inn in Lenox, MA is situated in the central Berkshires with easy access to all sites [We loved our visit to Hancock Shaker Village and antique shops]. The inn is very comfortable and walkable to the shops and high quality restaurants of Lenox. Innkeeper, Stan, was a welcoming host offering us reliable information of local restaurants. [Tip: Make dinner reservations ahead of time as weekends are very busy. Stan will email a list of restaurants ahead of your stay.] Our room on the second floor of the main building was very comfortable and we woke up each morning to a modest breakfast (buffet style); we sat in the light filled, enclosed porch! We very much enjoyed our stay - a perfect combination of historic inn, with comfort and great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main historic building comprised of only 5 rooms rather than an out-building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverFoxNYC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was our first stay in the Berkshires and we are glad we stayed at the Hampton Terrace B & B. Stan our innkeeper was very attentive and gave us some very good tips on local restaurants. We chose Nudel as one of the recommendations and enjoyed the food so much we dined there on both nights. The inn is a beautiful old home with lots of original pieces of furniture of the period. I also liked the early 40's music to give one a sense of what it must have been like during that time period. We stayed in the Rosalyn Elkan Suite which is one of the cottages located behind the inn. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely laid out. The breakfast buffet was a nice touch which changes each day. We loved the coffee which was hot, fresh and excellent. Trust me it means a lot to have a good cup of coffee in the morning to start your day. I'm happy we chose this inn and would recommend it to anyone looking to visit the Berkshires.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingWolf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stan and Susan run a lovely inn in beautiful Lenox. He has a huge amount of information about the area that he shares via email before arrival and is very attentive to his patrons needs. Breakfast is a buffet with both cold items and a warm choice, the last day's choice being chocolate French toast!
They have a book with guest reviews of all the restaurants near by and Stan is a good source of information.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnthetrailCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
264 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 91 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range: $242 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn back the clock to "Gilded Age glamour and elegance at one of the East Coast's premier getaway destinations." Our Lenox, MA bed and breakfast is ideally situated in the heart of the Berkshires, steps from world class dining & shopping. This original 'Gilded Age' home delicately balances the style and grandeur of the past with the modern conveniences you require. Enjoy beautifully detailed public rooms with sconces, fireplaces, elaborate moldings, and a breathtaking three-story suspended stair. Rooms are updated with Wi-Fi, A/C and flat screen TV's mingled with period antiques and vintage fabrics. 12 of our beautifully appointed rooms have fireplaces and 10 feature spa tubs. Take a break to relax by our heated outdoor pool, indulge in our expansive breakfast buffet every morning, or enjoy a glass of wine at our BYOB antique bar. An experience Traditional Home Magazine has called "absolutely perfect." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Terrace Hotel Lenox
Hampton Terrace b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing