We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to hide from Hurricane Sandy and had an incredible time. We were due to be in Newport but headed north with a view to battening down the hatches for a couple of days.

The welcome was incredible and we were given our pick of the rooms and the run of the house. There was a plentiful supply of goodies at all times - cookies, hot chocolate, coffee, cider, sherry, nuts... A fabulous book and dvd library and plenty of cosy corners to curl up in.

Breakfast was ridiculously good. Whatever we wanted was prepared to perfection with the cinnamon apple strudel being a particular highlight.

We stayed at Green Gables during a hurricane, had the time of our lives and will travel half way around the world to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    56
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
385
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our stay at the Garden Gables was exceptional. Denise went above and beyond to make our trip special. The service was the best I have had at a hotel! The location is perfect and could not be closer to town. The property and winery are beautiful, not to mention you get free wine tastings! The rooms are charming and cozy. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAV81657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I am not usually a fan of a bed and breakfast. The Garden Gables Inn exceeded my expectations in every way. It is a lovely home filled with gorgeous furnishings. The fireplaces are wonderful. The beds are so comfy that I felt like I was in a cocoon!! The Innkeeper, Denise, made us feel like we were family and accommodated any need or interest that we had. It is just a short walk to the lovely town of Lenox. The breakfast choices were numerous and had anything that we could hope to consider. It was overall a superb stay. We hated to leave after 3 days at the Inn. We will return!

Room Tip: We were in room #1 as I was traveling with my adult daughter. This room had 2 fabulous twin beds an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwidget13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We wanted a break in the Berkshires. It was peak foliage season but luckily the Inn had one cancellation and we grabbed it for Thursday to Saturday. The Inn is just a few hundred yards off the main road but nonetheless feels very secluded. Its a very short walk into the middle of Lenox with all of its restaurants and shops. Each room is distinctive. Ours was spacious, clean with all the amenities you'd hope to find. The breakfast was delicious and more than ample --make sure you try the special french toast and if possible sit out on the porch. The Inn tries to use all locally grown produce much from their own farm. There are little thoughtful touches that make you feel at home--endless local apples and homemade cookies to pick up for a snack, coffee or tea at all times of the day and bottles of sherry for you to enjoy as you sit reading the paper or one of the many books about the Berkshires in the library. The Inn also owns a local winery where you can go and pick apples or spend awhile tasting their wine. The innkeeper Denise was a treasure trove of local information and every suggestion she made was a winner --the best local restaurants, live music or theater she was on top of it all. My wife and I also booked spa appointments - both were wonderful. We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: The Inn is set far enough back from the road so noise is not a factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Attracted by a '3 for 2' offer, we found this a comfortable and 'reasonable' place to stay. Friendly welcome, good size bedroom (16) and centrally located yet quiet. Not sure why they missed servicing the bedroom on the 3rd day but they did apologise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If I could give more than 5 stars, I happily would. We spent two nights here for our 1 year anniversary and it was absolutely fantastic. We stayed in room #14 which was large, clean, comfortable, quiet and charming. We took advantage of the wood burning fireplace both nights. From the moment we arrived, the service from all staff was extraordinary; they were extremely friendly, informative of all local attractions and eateries, and welcoming. We decided to visit nearby Hilltop Farms (which is also owned by the same proprietor) for apple picking, fresh cider, and cider donuts. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the owner himself who exemplified the same superior quality of service as the inn. The views and foliage were breathtaking. It cannot go without noting my spa service with Erica, the esthetician. Now my experiences have been far and wide with facials having visited some of the best spas in cities across the U.S. I can say without hesitation, that this was unequivocally the BEST facial I've ever had. It caught me happily by surprise and it was completely unexpected that this is what I would find at a small, boutique inn in the country! You will find Erica to be professional, extremely skilled and knowledgeable, passionate, attentive and well-rounded. She is not cookie-cutter or text book and I felt she customized the service and skin-care regimen around exactly what I needed. All in all, this is a fantastic inn and one we will most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMS510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a great time at this B&B in September. It's a nice house well decorated, with nice rooms to sit in an relax and have a glass of brandy which is complimentary as well as coffee and cookies. Very attentive personnel. They own an apple orchard which guests can visit, get free wine tasting a bag for picking your own apples and back in the field there is a picnic table with a gorgeous view of the valley. Worth the visit. Worth the stat. Lenox is quite nice as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cottages outside the main building. Room #17. Spacious and well acquainted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HersonMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wheatleigh
Wheatleigh
#8 of 16 in Lenox
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Property: Garden Gables Inn
Address: 135 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 5-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in our dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, L'Occitane products, LED TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Complimentary WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing