We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Things: 1. Careful...Don't be confused; 2. Get ready for a rare experience...”
Review of Garden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Gables Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Two Things: 1. Careful...Don't be confused; 2. Get ready for a rare experience...”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

1. Do not confuse Lenox' Garden Gables Inn with the Gables Inn. They are not the same.
2. You know how you hope the experience you see on an Inn's website comes close to the real-world experience? Well, get ready for a real-world stay that exceeds what you experienced from Garden Gabel's website.
This place is the real deal... top quality service and care for its visitors. Friendly, accommodating staff; comfortable surroundings; and a very good value... you get a lot for your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    56
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
379
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, Vt.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights with Denise, Kelly and crew. Denise and Kelly were so accommedating and made our stay flawless. The breakfasts and our romantic dinner were wonderful. I have many dietary allergies and Denise could not have been better about working around them without making me feel like a nuisance. Our room was cozy and beautiful. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth4024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent our second wedding anniversary at this bed and breakfast and it was our first time in the Berkshires. We chose to stay two nights and picked the location based on other trip advisor reviews.

We stayed in cottage 16 which separated from the main house. The room had a nice king sized bed and fireplace with a TV mounted on the wall. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well decorated. The level of cleanliness was a four. There were some issues but nothing of concern. You have to have the right expectations for where you are staying. This is an older home and not a brand new hotel. Our impression was very positive and we spent quite a bit of time in the room just relaxing.

The service and breakfast were both fantastic and the ability to sit in the main house and have some sherry while socializing was a great plus. There are fresh chocolate chip cookies in the main house just in case you need a snack.

The location is ideal as you can easily walk to the downtown shops and restaurants in only a few minutes.

Even the weather which was overcast and rainy did nothing to detract from the experience. The place was full and had been over the past few weeks even oft season during the winter months. I think this is a testament to the value and quality of the B&B.

We did not visit the vineyard so I cannot comment on that part of the experience but we did hear many positive comments from other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Garden Gables Inn for the weekend. The location is great - you can walk into town for dinner at night, or to grab a drink at Rumpy's Tavern. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was so cozy, clean and welcoming. Denise, the innkeeper, was very helpful and accessible. We will go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

hi.

my wife and i, along with another couple, planned to spend a weekend at this b&b, but after arrival and dinner in town, i suffered an accident that put me into the hospital for an entire week, never spending a night here.

but despite the horrific situation that skewed a vacation weekend to one of back-and-forth to the hospital for my wife and friends, they couldn't stop talking about how excellent the inn was; how nice and warm the staff was; how great the breakfasts were.

moreso still, our friends departed (by rental car) after 2 nights, while my wife had to stay for the entire week alone. she was made to feel so at home by the owner and manager that it made her that much more comfortable during difficult days.

fresh cookies always on the table. fresh coffee and tea. even i think their own wines every evening.

so while i don't suggest having a medical emergency anytime, this inn made it so much easier on my wife and friends that words alone can't express.

beautiful.

Room Tip: google famous people who stayed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our first trip to the Berkshires and we really lucked out by staying at the Garden Gables Inn. Located right in town you have access to everything Lenox has to offer and at the end of the day coming back to the quiet, relaxing, and beautiful inn was so amazing!
Breakfast was delicious, the rooms were very nicely decorated and drinking the complimentary sherry by the fire was perfect.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Though all my travels, this was actually my first B&B experience but now I don't know if I could go to another because this one set my expectations so high that I don't think another can exceed or even meet them. The inn was beautiful. Quaint but spacious, very picturesque, walking distance to everything in Lenox. For Breakfast, you have to get the Apple Strudel French Toast. If the Inn was horrible (which clearly it wasn't), I'd likely go back regardless just for that. As for the service, everyone was extremely friendly. The female serving breakfast always had a smile, singing and cheerful. John, the (innkeeper/owner) would greet everyone at breakfast each morning and the female who was at the front desk was very sweet as well. Room (#7) was great, good sized bathroom, clean and very comfortable including the bed. If I had to find one critique, the heater was a little noisy throughout the night and found it a little difficult to regulate the temperature but it really wasn't that big of a deal.

Finally, the owners also own the Apple Orchard Winery (about a 15 minutes drive). If you go, as a guest of the Inn, you are entitled to a free wine tasting. They also have cross-country skiing and hiking trails, that are both complimentary as inn guests (you only have to pay for rentals). Make sure to try to Apple Cider donuts and the Johnny Mash Hard Apple Cider.

Side notes, if you make the trip to the area go to the Normal Rockwell Museum. It's a great piece of American History that takes you through the 20th century. Went to Dinner at Prime (in Lenox) which we enjoyed and one night drove over to Great Barrington to have dinner at the Castle Street Cafe. Food was very good (had the duck) and they had some great live Jazz music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
246 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gables Inn

Property: Garden Gables Inn
Address: 135 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, updated with 5-star amenities and personalized, professional service. Set back on five quiet and landscaped acres, yet just steps from the shops and restaurants of historic Lenox Village. Your breakfast, which is included, features many local and organic foods, private seating, professional waitstaff, cooked to order breakfast favorites of your choice, complemented by fresh fruit, baked goods and other items on our extensive buffet. Pamper yourself with a massage or facial in our dedicated spa treatment rooms; swim in the 70-foot heated pool (June-mid Sept). All guest rooms have private baths, AC, spa robes, L'Occitane products, LED TVs, DVD players and iPod clock radios. Complimentary WiFi throughout the Inn and grounds. Homemade chocolate chip cookies, beverages and afternoon sherry are included, as is free wine-tasting at Furnace Brook Winery at Hilltop Orchards, in nearby Richmond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Garden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gables Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing