We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome”
Reviewed December 22, 2010

The owner was extremely welcoming and kind. Since the place wasn't full when we were there (mid-December is decidedly low season), she upgraded us from a full to a queen room without extra charge, and also accomodated my boyfriend's parents joining us for breakfast. We were also welcomed with hot apple cider and delicious homemade strudel.

The inn itself is charming and well-situated. The room we were in was spacious, and nicely decorated in a style I think of as typical B&B--antiqueish furnishings, flowered wallpaper, ruffled curtains. The bathroom was clean and had a jacuzzi tub, although we didn't try it out. There was a fireplace as well, which is a nice touch.

The breakfast was tasty, although perhaps a bit fussy--I prefer simple breakfast foods. My only complaint (and it's slight) is that I prefer tea to coffee in the morning and there were only weird flavors of tea available, and it was presented in the form of a cup of warm water from a water cooler plus teabag. Any serious tea-drinker will tell you that *boiling* water should be poured directly over the tea--but this is an all-too-common failing in this country, so I'm used to it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    114
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
56
320
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
andover, ct
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2010

the service was great. the food was delicious. the view was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneAndover_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We have just returned from our family's Thanksgiving reunion. Our 3 sons ,two daughter in-laws , and 3 kids -all under 6 , shared 4 rooms at the Cornell, all in ONE , of their buildings. It was cozy , convenient, and quiet (even with the 3 kids.) The breakfasts prepared by Lisa were tasty, and actually held us until our evening meal. We also found that the artificial log fireplaces in 2 of out 4 rooms added to the atmosphere for family get togethers. The kids enjoyed the supply of games that are kept in an old icebox,or wandering around the outdoor CARP pond, while adults enjoyed just hanging out together in the large Inn living room. Liquor at their bar also helped the atmosphere.
Location is central , close to the town center , and to Tangelwood. All in all, a terrific B&B, well suited to a family with (or without) young kids. John and Betsy Samet

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We were looking to get away before the holiday rush and we picked the right place to stay. We were welcomed by Eiran, who by the way is a very interesting person. He also put up with my boyfriend. (only kidding) Michelle served us an awesome breakfast both mornings. We had great weather and were able to go on a horseback ride, which was great. We are already planning on returning next year. Thanks for being a great host.

Eleanor & Domenic

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cateyes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We spent 3 lovely mid-week days in the Berkshires and stayed at The Cornell. The reviews were right on target. Lisa, Eiran and Michelle were very friendly and accommodating without being at all intrusive (sometimes we don't stay at B&Bs because we want more privacy than they sometimes afford). They upgraded our room and provided tasty, plentiful and varied breakfast choices. We loved having the large Kennedy Park with lots of hiking opportunities right in our backyard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

This inn has charming rooms, a lovely breakfast, and is squeaky clean. The REAL draw, however, (and what makes the inn remarkable), is its innkeeper, Lisa. Lisa is genuinely and delightfully friendly, and it's clear she receives great pleasure in offering her guests a memorable visit in the Lenox area. There's not a pretentious bone in her body...and how many inns can boast that? We'd follow her anywhere!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Had a wonderfull weekend and experience from the minute we got there till the time we left. Was impressed on how nice everything was and our room was beautiful. The breakfast was the perfect way to start off. Already thinking of when we can return!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonmcc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
559 reviews
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
6.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Property: Cornell Inn Lenox
Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing