We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfasts but I wouldn't go back”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We went to the Cornell Inn in February with a few friends. Overall, our experience was disappointing. Despite the great breakfasts and cordial service by the new owners, we found some very basic elements missing at this B&B - we were disappointed with the check-in/ check-out times, our rooms and the common areas were uncomfortably cold and the overall quality of the B&B did not warrant the rate we paid.

What we liked:
- The breakfasts were great, especially the Sunday brunch
- The location is convenient, close to the downtown area
- The new owners are friendly - they gave us great local restaurant tips and tried to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay despite the hiccups we faced

What we did not like:
- Check in time was 5 PM to 7 PM, they were pretty inflexible about this. Oddly, enough check-out time was 12 noon and unsurprisingly, they made sure we left at noon. It felt like we had been robbed of half a day of stay at the B&B
- Our rooms were not warm enough. They provided us a space heater in our room but our friends had to arm-wrestle to get enough heat for their room
- The common areas were uncomfortably cold. The innkeeper was nice enough to bring space heaters and light up the fireplace when we sat in the common areas, but it was never warm and toasty, as you'd expect to feel in a B&B in winter
- The rooms were very ordinary. Everything seemed old and only semi-functional. The whole place seemed to creak when fellow guests walked around. Our bed was not very comfortable. Our bathroom was exceptionally small. Overall, we felt like we paid way more than we should have for a room of this quality

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenblast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Change of ownership and management since this stay/review. This stay and review occurred prior to the acquisition of the Cornell Inn by its current owners (Fall of 2012).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 512 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

This place is under new management! (Hallelujah!) And while it may take some time to iron out all the kinks (2 websites, late check-in process, ambiguous financials, shoveling snowy walkways, noisy heaters, hot water boilers), the new crew is sure off to a good start! The innkeepers couldn't be more eager to please, and we could sense the "team spirit" among the staff. The gourmet breakfasts were amazing, although we might have preferred a window of time for breakfast, instead of a set 9 a.m. The late breakfast & late checkout on Valentines Day, and the romantic gift bags the night before, were such a wonderful surprise treat! We appreciated how very welcoming the staff was toward the gay couple with whom we were traveling as well. I just called my parents and told them to book this place when they are traveling for Berkshire Theater Fest this summer! I think this place is only going to get better and better with these new people on board.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEBnNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

How fortunate we were to find lodging in the Berkshires on Valentine's Day weekend!
The Cornell Inn proved to be more than just a place to sleep. Everyone on the staff was friendly and welcoming. The interior was charming, cozy and inviting. Our room was beautifully appointed. The homemade breakfast was most delicious -- all features that made our stay exceptional!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islander71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

If you are going to Lenox, you must consider staying here. Beautiful, comfortable and made to feel right at home in this lovely B&B. You'll be happy you did. My friend and I were treated like royalty. The owners really go out of their way to make everything absolutely wonderful. We've stayed in several inns in Lenox and definitely like this one the best. I recommend it to all! Located right next to Kennedy Park and close to town.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Booked the Cornell Inn, not sure what to expect since it's under new ownership.
What a FABULOUS Inn! Every year or so I meet my very dear friend for a "catch up". We each drive 2+ hours from different directions to meet; we choose a different place each time. We both feel so fortunate to have come upon this beautiful Inn. It dates from the 1700's and the new owners/innkeepers are so welcoming and accommodating. The property is beautiful. Breakfast was very special...absolutely delicious. Breakfast was memorable. Large windows overlooking the pond and woods and the snow falling...OMG!!! The food - to die for! We chatted with Michelle, who does the cooking and her husband, Eiran (sp) and enjoyed every minute of it. I plan on returning in the spring with my husband...I just didn't get enough of it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgoldst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hi!
Thanks for taking the time for writing us a review. I'm glad you and your entire family enjoyed your visit. Yes, finding a room in Lenox at a B&B for a family of 5 vs. two separate rooms is tough, but I'm glad we all made it work, so you could enjoy some quality family time while not breaking the bank during the high season! Yes, my husband, Tim, and our entire staff do our best to make people feel quite at home, while not invading their time away from home. We hope you come back to visit us again down the road.

Cheers,
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Unbelievable hostess with incredible warmth who goes out of her way to make your stay extra special. Delicious breakfast . Historic buildings, beautifully decorated in Victorian style with special touches everywhere you look. Love the fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Gardens that must be lovely in the warm weather. Wish we could have stayed longer and looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

My friend and I had the good fortune to stay at the Cornell Inn for 3 nights in early January. We were looking for lodging in the Lenox area as we were visiting a family member in a near-by nursing home. The Cornell Inn turned out to be the perfect choice. Eiran, the new manager, emailed me and called me just before my arrival to assure that all would be ready for my stay. We were greeted by Lisa, who gave us our key, showed us our room and prepared/sanitized the jacuzzi for our bathing pleasure. She was most kind and helpful during our entire stay. The room, with cable television, updated bathroom, carpeted floor and a sitting area met our needs perfectly. Our room did not have a fireplace or refrigerator, although I hear that other rooms do have these additional ammenities if you desire them. Eiran, Michele, and Lisa greeted us for an outstanding breakfast and we were treated to a delicious meal including 2 kinds of quiche, fresh fruit and juice, assorted bagels, lox, 4 kinds of cream cheese and numerous choices of hot beverages. We certainly did not leave breakfast hungry! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cornell Inn and plan to stay there again the next time we are visiting Lenox. Thanks to Eiran and his staff for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeldove_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
2 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $148 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing