We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting Tanglewood”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at 5 inns In Lenox over the years and this was the nicest overall. The very present owners and entire staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly without being at all intrusive...as we have found at other inns. The room was large and clean. The grounds have a great garden with decks and ponds with a choice of sitting areas for breakfast or reading. Breakfast had a nice choice of healthy options (yogurt, fruit, whole grain bread), as well as cereal, frittatas, french toast, and quiche...and nice strong coffee. The staff was great about accommodating guests allergies including gluten free.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Wow-
Thanks for the sweet review. Being the "newbies" to the B&B world, knowing you have visited other B&B's in Lenox and were pleased with our Inn, makes me smile! I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself, our staff and our grounds.

Take Care-
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 504 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights for 4th of July weekend at Cornell Inn, we went to see James Taylor concert at Tanglewood, great location. We stayed in the 1777 MacDonald House, we stayed in the Mamie suite, on the second floor nice room with had two bathrooms.
The breakfast's were delicious and staff is very efficient and pleasant.
Tim and Nell the innkeepers are great ! My wife and I highly recommend The Cornell Inn, and we'll be back.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Greggartsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thanks for taking time to review our B&B. I'm so sorry Mother Nature was not too friendly during the 4th of July celebration. Still, we found most of our patrons made the best of it and simply enjoyed the great music, food, and company of their loved ones. We hope to see you again!

Cheers,
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Cornell Inn is a "find" in this area of the Berkshires. The property layout is interesting and beautiful. There is a fabulous patio for breakfast (which was made to order and excellent) or drinks in the afternoon/evening. Our room was large and clean and nicely appointed. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review, we greatly appreciate it! I'm so glad you "FOUND" us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit!

Best Wishes
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We only had one evening at the Cornell Inn and it was pleasant one. Our room was clean and importantly quiet. The service was good, the breakfast is plentiful, the gardens/grounds are nice and wi-fi is available.

The Inn is also only a short walk to the pretty town of Lenox which has dome excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us! Yes, I too love that we are a short hop, skip and a jump from downtown Lenox, but just far enough away to simply relax among the pond/waterfall, our pub, or simply in one's room.

We hope you chose to visit us again-

Fondly,
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We found Cornell Inn on trip advisor and was 100% satisfied with the accommodations and food. When we questioned the room we had chosen and worried that we would hear traffic from the road, they brought us to another room to check it out. The inn's location is perfect. Within walking distance to the town restaurants and shops and right near the Kennedy State Park. The breakfasts are awesome - banana blueberry pancakes! Rooms will be harder to reserve when people find out about this newly refurbished country inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Wow, we're so glad you took a chance on us via our reviews on Trip Advisor! I'm glad we were able to meet your needs and hope you enjoyed your time in the Berkshires! Yes, our breakfasts are quite unique and very tasty, I'm ever so happy I enjoying exercising, or I'd be in big TROUBLE!!

We feel we have a great spot for people to enjoy the hustle and bustle of town, if they choose to do so, being that it is about 10 city blocks, or 1/2 mile, or about a 10-12 minute walk to town, but also have the bonus of being away from town to simply unwind, be it on our deck looking upon the waterfall a/o pond, or taking a great hike in Kennedy Park!

Thanks again for the review! And we hope to see you again sometime down the road!

Cheers,
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent two nights at this lovely Inn. Everything is squeaky clean and most cozy and comfortable. We had enjoyable convos with the Inn Keepers and enjoyed sitting out by the Koi pond sipping wine. Oh yes, the breakfasts are wonderful!!!
We will return to the Cornell Inn every time we are out in the Lenox area. This Inn is a great place to rest and relax!
Until next time Thank You!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm so glad you had a fun "gals getaway" and chose the Berkshires as your choice of respite. We too love our updated pond, it adds to one's relaxation in addition to enjoying a beverage of choice, or reading a good book! Yes, we are fortunate, our chefs are quite amazing and our breakfasts are very, very tasty! We hope to see you and your crew back for another getaway in the not too distant future!

Best Wishes
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family (three siblings and spouses) just spent a lovely weekend at the Cornell Inn. It was everything we look for in a B&B - comfortable, cozy rooms, welcoming owners and staff, and a tasty breakfast. Bonuses at the Cornell are a fully stocked bar for before and after dinner (they'll even make buttered popcorn), large multi-level deck with pond and waterfall, nice-sized living room, and lovely gardens. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so glad you and your extended family had fun with both us, and within the beautiful Berkshires. We hope you come back to see us again down the road and pass on some more of your stories of your amazing adventures around the US!

Take Care-
Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#3 of 16 in Lenox
573 reviews
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
6.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $156 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing