We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in the Berkshires with lovely hosts and grounds”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just spent a Sunday night at this Inn and can't wait to go back again. Very friendly hosts, charming and lovely large room (we were in Frances) with a small balcony. The generous hot breakfast was delicious and included an eggs-cooked-to-order option. The grounds are gorgeous, featuring a small waterfall flowing into a fish pond. We sat outside the morning we left in chairs at the top of the waterfall, reading the paper--very relaxing. Sunday night rates are a real deal. And it's right on the edge of Lenox itself, so very close to downtown restaurants (we like Frankie's), an excellent independent bookstore, and, of course, Tanglewood. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although the hustle and bustle of the summer season is fun, there is something to be said for visiting during the "off" season. Lenox, itself, has a whole different vibe, more locals, much easier to obtain a reservation at one of the many fine restaurants within a stone's throw of the Inn and a calmer pace. Our head chef, Lance, has some amazing culinary skills, we are fortunate to have him as part of our team. I'm glad you enjoyed the serenity of the waterfall and pond. One of our greatest assets, in my opinion, is being just outside of downtown Lenox. You have the luxury of taking an enjoyable and healthy walk to and from town, or simply relaxing within the expansive grounds of our property. We hope you come back for another stay!

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Cornell Inn Lenox
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Cornell inn for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. The inn is so warm and charming with many extra touches that mean so much. My husband and I were warmly greeted by the innkeeper, Tim when we arrived at the inn. He told us to help ourselves to fresh baked cookies, hot cider and coffee. Outside the dining room is a lovely area with tables next to a fish pond and waterfall. Our room, Helen was in main house and on smaller size with Quinn bed, without TV, but enough space for us. Air-condition was old and nosy, but we did not need it. The breakfast was substantial but pretty bland. It was a buffet with warming trays of eggs, potatoes, muffins and fruits.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi-
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We have since replaced the A/C unit in Helen with a newer version. I'm glad Tim was able to make you feel at home, and as sad as I am to see the summer weather depart, I am a HUGE fan of hot apple cider on autumn afternoons. I'm glad you enjoyed your time in the Berkshires and I hope you come for a return visit in the future.

Cheers,
Nell McCaffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everything about The Cornell Inn worked for us. We were made to feel very welcome, with staff happy to help however they could. The rooms are decorated in keeping with the age and character of the inn: they are all different, so read the descriptions to make sure you get the facilities you need. Beautiful grounds, too. Breakfast and other refreshments were excellent. The location allows an easy walk into town and there is a back route to drive to Tanglewood avoiding the queues. We think you would be lucky to find a better stay for the money in this area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hello-
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your time with us and in the Berkshires. I'm glad you enjoyed our tasty breakfast and enjoyed both our grounds and the short walk into town. Yes, having a "backway" to Tanglewood is greatly appreciated and a much needed respite from the traffic jam through town! We hope to see you again next year!

Cheers,
Nell McCaffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This Inn is showing its age and, possibly, the new owners' inexperience managing a 28-room establishment. Our room (Dolly) had an uncomfortable bed, poor quality, skimpy sheets that kept coming off the (uncovered) mattress, a problematic toilet (fixed once), a noisy AC, dirty windows, a squealing wardrobe door and atrocious old floral wallpaper. And it does get street traffic noise. Breakfast has many dishes and beautiful fruit, and is heavy on the carbs (muffins, french toast, pancakes), so there's plenty to choose from. But no one greets you, so guests wander in to figure things out & there is a haphazardness to things. The layout is cluttered and the coffee/juice area creates a doorway bottleneck. No one told us that the chef will also make eggs to order, which he delivers to the table. They could use some staff. Guests often bussed their own plates to make table room or stack things on chairs. Luckily, the outside patio by the pond was available on our 2 beautiful summer mornings, as I have no idea how they’d fit everyone in the dining room. Cold drinks and cookies are offered in the afternoon, but they were often empty and not refilled. The main house common room is small, awkward & dated, so not inviting to relax in. Maybe converting a bedroom would be a better use of the downstairs space. We never saw the tiny Pub open, but heard people trying to figure out how to get a glass of wine. There are many signs of overdue upkeep & maintenance, which I hope these folks get to when the season lightens. While a bountiful breakfast is a good way to gain favor, we didn’t think it overrode the other downsides nor justify a $265 rate.

Room Tip: Skip the main house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

I'm sorry to read you were so displeased while visiting with us at The Cornell Inn during your respite to the beautiful Berkshires. Thank-you for your feedback.

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hard to believe there's a better value in this neck of the woods, both for $ & earthy, empathy!
Starting with the staff, top down, pleasing & service oriented.
Almost wanna stay for whole 2 hours of breakfast just to see, after a unique buffet, what the kitchen will whip up for you & enjoy the waterfall seating. The in-house Pub was a real, pleasant surprise & nice touch!
Early risers can make the 1/2 mile, downhill walk to village for wake-up coffee & the pulse creating climb back up.
We do an annual Tanglewood week-end & I expect we'll be back.

Room Tip: Check 'em all, before you choose. Size increases with cost, but small rooms comfy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 640chuckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Wow, Thanks for the great review, we truly appreciate it! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and in the Berkshire region. We try our best to provide our guests with a place they can relax, enjoy the company of others, (if they choose to do so) in casual comfort while trying to treat and meet their needs to the best of our ability. Yes, our breakfasts are amazing, and decadent, but I feel a good walk to town and back, or enjoying one of the many trails behind our B&B within Kennedy Park, takes away any guilty feeling about enjoying such a wonderful and filling breakfast each and every morning! We too are happy "McCaffery's Pub" is now open daily for beer, wine, and mixed drinks. My Mom recently purchased us an old fashion popcorn maker, so you'll need to come back for a visit and enjoy some popcorn, watch a game or two on the big flat screen TV, or simply chat with us while enjoying a frothy beverage, bit in the pub or out on the patio enjoying the sound of the waterfall cascading into the pond. We hope to see you again next summer!

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I along with another couple stayed there for the first time.the innkeepers Megan and Neil did everything to make our stay the best.breakfasts were excellent as well.will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legalbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks for posting a review for our B&B. I'm so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. I'm glad you felt we were doing all that we could to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. While we know there is always room for improvement, we appreciate your kind words and look forward to your visit next summer or in the Fall Foliage and Winter Season.

Best Wishes
Nell McCaffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed in the Dolly (or Dolley) Room in July, 2013. This room overlooks Main Street, which turned out to have more traffic noise that we'd expected. The loud fan of the air conditioner somewhat masked the traffic. The room smelled a little too much of cleaning chemicals, but otherwise was clean, comfortable, and well-appointed, furniture-wise. The inn on the whole was appealing, but on a future visit, we'd probably select a quieter room. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful; the breakfasts were quite nice. We thought the price for a Berkshire B&B was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorpinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. I'm glad you enjoy your time in the Berkshires. Dolley is a beautiful room, one of my favorites, as I find the wood furniture to be remarkable and I love the little sitting area. You are correct in that there is more noise from Main St. in the front rooms of the Main House and MacDonald House then those that face the back. Such is the nature of the beast of a small resort town during the summer months. I'm glad the A/C was able to diminish the noise for you. Cleaning rooms is a "Catch 22" at times, as we want our rooms as clean and fresh as possible, but with older homes, often cleaning rooms to the standard we feel is appropriate requires more scrubbing/spraying with cleaning supplies than what might be needed for the average home or newer hotel. In the down season, I'll try my best to research cleaning supplies that might be more aromatic, but still fight dirt and stains as strong as the traditional cleaners do. While I am biased, I do believe we provide our guests with not only an ample breakfast, but a breakfast that provides some more gourmet options as well as catering to guests' dietary needs if need be. I know this for certain, one could easily pass on lunch after enjoying a breakfast at The Cornell Inn. Thank you for noting that we don't cost a fortune to stay in the Berkshires during the high season. We try to keep our rates reasonable so that many people from all walks of life can enjoy all that the Lenox and Berkshires have to offer. We also only have a 2 night minimum stay during the high season vs. the traditional 3 night stay that many of the other Inns and B&B's request. We hope you come back to visit us again next year and feel free to call ahead to ask about some of our rooms that face the rear of our property so that we may be able to enhance your stay.

Cheers,
Nell McCaffery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
560 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,038 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $153 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing