We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit great!”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Return visit great!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at the Cornell Inn (we stayed there first in June of this year). This time, we stayed in the main house. Our room, Frances, was the largest, and was very comfortable. I have read some of the other reviews, and do not have any of the complaints that other guests mentioned. The inn was recently purchased and the new owners seem to be implementing changes that address the feedback others have given. The buildings are historic, and in need of some freshening-up, but as the expression goes "Rome wasn't built in a day"! The inn is in a great location and Lance, the manager and chef, continues to do an excellent job - helpful and attentive. The breakfast offerings were varried and delicious - something for everyones' taste. The atmosphere of the inn works for anyone: families with kids, couples of any age, singles and friends traveling together.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry46713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Larry-
Thank you for the wonderful review and I'm glad you came back for another visit! We appreciate your understanding that the Inn is not only under new ownership, but that the three buildings are historic. Since your visit we have had numerous upgrades to the Inn: new beds, new pillows, a new pond, roof repair, restoration of the fireplaces, new patio furniture, and a new pond to name a few. Lance continues to "wow" people with his amazing breakfasts and really makes all of our guests feel important and at ease. We'll be heading back up over Memorial Day week-end to plant a few dozen flowers and look forward to moving up to the Berkshires this June so we can be hands on with our guests and meet the needs of the Inn on a daily basis. We hope to see you back again soon!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    113
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
56
317
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed our 2 night stay on a winter getaway. Our room was large with a sitting area by the fire and TV (one duraflame log included per day). Our canopy bed was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was a generous buffet with multiple egg dishes, almond french toast and pumpkin pancakes, all yummy. They have a little handmade waterfall and pond out back that is probably lovely in the warm weather to sit by. They have 3 buildings. We stayed in the main house in the Barbara (named after Barbara Bush); only complaint is it was right on the road and I am sensitive to road noise. I believe the rooms in the back of the main house would be quieter. Prices were significantly lower than another B&B we stayed at, yet the room we had was bigger and the food more plentiful. Lance, the innkeeper, lives on the third floor with his family and is reserved but helpful. He recommended Elizabeth's in Pittsfield as a good vegetarian restaurant and he was right on (read our review!). Highly recommend walking, snowshoeing or skiing in The Kennedy Park, right behind this Inn, and the Berkshire Mountain Country Store is a great place to get gifts.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the back, away from the road. Some have a fireplace and jacuzzi - be sure to ask and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed your getaway at The Cornell Inn. I'm sorry the road noise was a disturbance to you, but I am happy you could appreciate the room's beauty. Lance and Karen produce AMAZING breakfasts for our guests both in regards to taste and variety. We hope you come back and visit with us in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights, this weekend, at the Cornell. Our room was the Dolley room. We were visiting family in the area so we were able to relax at the Inn when not visiting. Our room had a clean, modernized bathroom. The room was fresh, clean and color coordinated. We enjoyed the separate seating area from the sleeping area in our room. The Inn's manager was friendly and helpful. He recommended an excellent restaurant for us as well. Breakfast was nice and we enjoyed always having access to tea and a snack. Wifi was a plus as we are presently addicted to Words With Friends. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable while visiting family in the area. Lance is both an amazing chef and a wonderful asset to our team as our manager being that he's a local and always has the "scoop" on where to go for a wonderful meal or a bit of entertainment. We hope you come back to see us again the next time you're visiting with your extended family or just for a getaway!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was willing to overlook the cobwebs and spiders everywhere. I was willing to overlook that the bathroom sink was plugged. I'm really annoyed, however, at what happened when I left my brand new, one day old sweater there. I called. They had it. They mailed it, but not to me. They admittedly mailed it to the wrong person at the wrong address. It's lost, and they've refused to make good on it. Screw them. I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were on a touring holiday and stayed for one night. The welcome was nice and the breakfast ok - lovely hot, mulled cider. Unfortunately our room (Teddy Roosevelt)had a broken sink plug, was very dark and needed a thorough clean (the top of the bed canopy was quite dusty), probably even refurbishment. I believe the B&B may have changed hands recently so a real opportunity for the new owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333CarolR333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. Since we took over the Inn, both my husband, Tim, myself, and our entire staff have been trying our best to improve both the exterior and interior of the buildings that make up The Cornell Inn. For example we have added a new pond, new lawn and patio furniture, new heaters/AC units in various rooms, a new roof, new beds and pillow, fixed all of the fireplaces and have been working on fixing on various repairs within the rooms. We also are trying to enhance our guests' visit to the Berkshire region. I will talk to Lance and the cleaning staff regarding your concerns as cleanliness is a top priority for me. enhance their stay while in the Berkshires. Thanks again for your imput, we appreciate any and all feedback as it can only point us in the right direction for our guests' needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here Nov. 2-4 and stayed in the Frances Room and had a GREAT time! Lance was tremendous! He took us up to our room upon check-in and showed us all the essentials. The staff was very friendly and the food was very good! The bed was absolutely incredible! Of all the places I have ever stayed in the U.S.--and there have been many--I've never slept on a better bed! As far as the food: they changed the menu both days. On Saturday, there was a cheese and tomato quiche, and on Sunday we had the cheese and Broccoli quiche. They also had apple cider pancakes or banana pancakes on Saturday and gingerbread pancakes or pumpkin french toast on Sunday, along with the eggs and potatoes. However, I don't understand why some here are piling on Lance! He was nothing but accommodating! We ran into him at the local Price Chopper to pick up a Duraflame log for the fireplace and he told us that they had more back at the Inn,and not to spend our money. We thought that only the first log was complimentary! Too bad the BBB doesn't recognize the good reports! Having never stayed in a B & B before, if we can do it again, we will DEFINITELY return here!

Room Tip: The Frances Room definitely has a fireplace and a complimentary 3 hour Duraflame log, so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review of our Inn. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time at the Inn and in the Berkshires. Since your visit we have done a ton of improvements. Such as: we purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes-
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took a cheap room in an annex for one night - the room (The Teddy, I think it was, - for Teddy Roosevelt), had a nice view of the hill behind the Inn and was more than large enough but the bathroom needed substantial upgrading. It was fine for one night. The main lodge is quaint and comfortable. The breakfast was substantial but pretty bland. It was a buffet with warming trays of eggs, potatoes + breads and muffins and jam etc. The staff were nice and the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickascreennamepicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I'm sorry your visit was less than truly enjoyable. I wanted to let you know since your visit we have done various improvements to enhance the Inn. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
555 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
544 reviews
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
6.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Property: Cornell Inn Lenox
Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing