We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with friends at the Cornell Inn”
Review of Cornell Inn Lenox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cornell Inn Lenox
Ranked #1 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“Lovely stay with friends at the Cornell Inn”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our two night stay at Cornell Inn was very pleasant. Our suite was comfortable and the fireplace was very nice on the cool evenings. The innkeeper was very helpful and friendly and recommended a very good restaurant for dinner. We are also innkeepers in Portland, Oregon and appreciate all that goes into making an inn comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts were hearty and a good start to each day. We enjoyed Lenox and hope to stay again at Cornell Inn on our next trip to New England. Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality. Pam and Carl, Heron Haus B&B, Portland, OR

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heron09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind words in your review of our Inn. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We've done a ton of improvements since your stay so if you ever get back to the East Coast, please come back for a visit and if we visit the Pacific Northwest we'll be sure to stay at your B&B!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    113
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
55
310
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently decided to go to the Berkshires. I was looking for a bed & breakfast that was reasonably priced and well located. I settled on the Cornell Inn in Lenox, Mass. It was small and filled with antiques. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was beautiful with a king size bed and two wing chairs on either side of the fireplace. We felt relaxed as soon as we entered. I was able to hook up to wifi easily. In the morning we went to the dining room for a delicious homemade breakfast. The cook had made pumpkin pancakes, lemon poppyseed pancakes, spinach quiche, muffins. There was an array os cereals, toast, potatoes, coffee and teas. We stayed for three days and the breakfast buffet was different each day. Our only miner complaint was that the shower was very small, but other than that we were very happy and would return. There is plenty to visit in Lenox and it is not far from other location like Mount Greylock. I recommend staying staying at the Cornell Inn.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a king size bed. Some of the other rooms said they had jacuzzi tubs. I might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Cornell for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was good and the treats in the afternoon were great. Coffee and hot cider were almost always available and we loved it. Inn is centrally located and parking was easy. Our room, Dolly, was on smaller size but enough space for us. My biggest concern with the room was the fireplace. We booked this room for that purpose and when we arrived we were told that it was wood burning (which is fine) but that we had to go out and buy our own firewood. This was really inconvenient, and after traveling 6 hours it was just not the welcome we were hoping for.

Also, if you're looking for a B & B experience with personal attention and a lot of help in planning your time there, I dont think this is the place for that. They have many rooms (20+) and the staff seemed really busy. We had most of our events preplanned so this wasnt really an issue for us, but we missed the casual conversations with innkeepers that we've had at other inns.

Room Tip: If you pick a room with fireplace, bring your own firewood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineKathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to review our Inn. While I am glad that overall your stay was enjoyable, I'm sorry that you had to purchase your own firewood. That is simply not acceptable. Since your stay we have made it our policy to provide one complimentary log per night/room. We've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. We're also happy to report McCaffery's Pub is know operational 7 days a week for the benefit of our guests. While I know our team would love to "brag" to everyone about what the Berkshires have to offer, they also want to respect our guests' privacy and down time. I will speak to Lance and our staff about making certain we double check with our guests if they have any needs or concerns about their rooms a/o the Berkshires. We hope you return for a visit in the near future so we can show you all of things we've done thus far to improve not just the Inn, but the overall satifsfaction of our guests.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a pleasant three night stay at The Cornell with outstanding breakfasts made made by a sweet girl named Karen. The weather was perfect (late September) and the scenery breathtaking. There is very much to see. The Norman Rockwell museum was wonderful and a trip to Edith Wharton's home 'The Mount' was amazing. We would highly recommend a trip to the Berkshires and we are looking forward to a return.
Dan and Alice Ryan

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the 'Barbara' which we would hve preferred to the 'Abigail'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! Looking foward to your next visit!

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Cornell in Lenox is a friendly B&B, on the outskirts of Lenox. You can walk to the center of town in 5-10 minutes and to Tanglewood in about 45 minutes (2 miles). That makes it a nice base for a summer weekend in the Berkshires, especially for classical music lovers. We chose to walk instead of drive to the sold-out John Williams 80th Birthday concert, and pretty much kept pace with the cars!

The decor embraces New England Americana, and depending on your taste, you might find it super cute or super "kitsch." Regardless, the rooms were well-maintained and super clean. For breakfast, the chef whips up a fantastic buffet spread of homemade creations that change daily: pumpkin spice pancakes, melt-in-your mouth banana muffins, french toast, eggs, quiche, home fries, and breakfast meats. The quality and selection was well above what I've had at similar inns, and certainly something to swoon over. There are tables both inside and outside in the garden, which is really relaxing on a summer morning.

Above all, props to the Cornell for being one of the few Inns in the area that does not have an obnoxious three-night minimum for summer weekends. This was a key factor in our choice to stay there and something we were very thankful for. Cornell's summer weekend prices are high for sure, but come out looking decent when you compare them to others in the area.

There was one "negative" asterisks to our experience: we had an odd room mix-up that gave us pause. This is the sort of B&B where each room is decorated quite differently, and since we booked 5 months in advance, we had almost the pick of the litter. They have a computerized reservation system and our confirmation clearly stated the room we had booked, but we arrived to find they had put other guests in our room. The only explanation we could get was a sheepish "we don't know why that happened." We were given the only other room available, luckily a nearly identical room in everything but decor, which was pretty different. All was fine in practicality, but we were disappointed not to have the room we selected, especially at $225/night and having booked so far in advance. The only possible explanation we could think of was that someone else asked to switch rooms, and if that's the case, it would have been wrong of Cornell to give them our reservation. Whatever the cause, it might have been nice to see a small gesture of apology (some other places I've stayed might have given a complimentary bottle of wine or a discount on the room) but it wasn't a huge downer overall. Our experience was otherwise good, and I would certainly give the Cornell another shot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires regardless of the mix up with your room. I'm so sorry for the mix-up regarding your room regardless if it was under our ownship or the previous one. I know that must have been disappointing as you had booked it so far in advance. Since taking ownership in late August we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! We hope you choose to come for another visit in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Cute inn with great breakfast. My husband and I have stayed in bed and breakfasts in Asheville, nc before and these were our comparison points for the Cornell. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. It was outdated but met our needs. We were able to walk to dinner each night which was nice! If you're looking for something fancy/posh, this isn't the place.... But great for a budget stay near historic Lenox.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the Berkshire region. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! If you ever get back up to the northeast, please come stay with us again, we'd love to show you all of our improvements both to the Inn and the guests' enjoyment.

Best Wishes
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our room was slightly musty, and kind of high Victorian overkill. Some other (unfortunately smaller) rooms are more sedate and might more restful.

PLUSES
- Great for your Edwardian Downton Abby fantasy role play
- Lovely grounds and buildings
- Great b'fast with hot eggs, waffles, blueberry pancakes etc
- Free wifi
- Cheap
- Friendly helpful staff (let us use empty room to change for the afternoon wedding we were attending, since our room wasn't ready yet)
- Fireplace (decorative / wood -- there was no wood in it, so not sure)

MINUSES
- lots. of. wallpaper! Mismatched and as Oscar Wilde famously said "one of us has to go!"
- No info. in room on inn, b'fast hours or surrounding area in room
- Tub doesn't drain completely leaving an icky feeling when you first use it
- Low mirrors in bath mean stooping to do see anything in them
- Mismatched cheap bath products
- Hard bed and pillows

Room Tip: ask for some of the more sedate rooms, unless you enjoy lots of wallpaper and high victoriana
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sluggo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornell_Innkeeper, Owner at Cornell Inn Lenox, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in the Berkshires. We appreciate you giving us constructive criticism as we knew when we chose to purchase this Inn although it has great potential, it was in dire need of repair and upkeep on many levels. Since your last visit we've been working hard to improve the overall quality of the Inn and our guests' comfort. We've purchased new beds and pillows, upgraded our tolietries, bought new lawn and patio furniture, had a new pond built, put on a new roof, replaced various AC/heater units, added cosmetic touches to rooms that needed a bit of a make-over, and now all of the inn's fireplaces are in working vs. just a few rooms. Of course, Lance is still an amazing chef and he and Karen continue to "wow" our guests with the culinary feats. During the winter season our policy is one complimentary log/night for our fireplace rooms and we're happy to report McCaffery's Pub is now open on a daily basis for our guests! We hope you come back for another visit in the near future.

Best Wishes,
Nell McCaffery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.3 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
551 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
6.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
991 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornell Inn Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornell Inn Lenox

Property: Cornell Inn Lenox
Address: 203 Main St, Lenox, MA 01240-2384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornell Inn Lenox 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Cornell Inn, a three-guesthouse inn located in the heart of historic Lenox village. The Main House (c. 1888) is a Victorian with 10 guest rooms. The Carriage House (c. 1889) is decorated in a country primitive style. Two of the suites in the Carriage House each offer full kitchens, perfect for long-term guests. The MacDonald House, a private family home built in 1777, has 10 guest rooms, each decorated in the Colonial style. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, have private bathrooms, high definition cable with flat panel TVs, and air conditioning. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces, jetted tubs, refrigerators, and/or decks to offer you year-round comfort. The inn has a private pub for houseguests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cornell Inn Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornell In Lenox Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing