We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heartily recommend this B&B”
Review of Brook Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brook Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston MA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I heartily recommend this B&B”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My husband and I just had a lovely weekend stay at Brook Farm Inn. Linda and Phil are very nice people who know how to run a B&B. Great location, lovely room (we were in the Skylight Loft on the 3rd floor) and good attention to detail. The guest pantry is a good example - there are fridges to keep your own wine and snacks, and the pantry is also stocked with ice and coffee, tea and cookies for guests to access any time. We enjoyed reading on the porch and the day's papers laid out in the library. I was sorry to leave, especially seeing the sitting room full of happy people reading and working on a jigsaw puzzle. Such a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers18, owner at Brook Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Happy guests are what we aim for! We heartily thank the reviewer for taking the time to write about Brook Farm Inn. It's such a pleasure to pay attention to details when they are appreciated. We love it when guests feel at home, and that's what the guest pantry, the reading materials, and the room decor are all about. Our location, in the heart of the Berkshires and a block from the center of Lenox, makes it easy to find lots of outdoor and cultural attractions for our guests to enjoy. Since so many lovely people come to stay, we ourselves enjoy seeing them meet here and become friends over breakfast or afternoon tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    43
    11
    12
    2
See reviews for
41
218
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The bed was very comfortable and the breakfest was nicely prepared. the granola and yogert hit the spot (alot of fruit and nuts mixed in). The Phil and Linda were quite helpful in suggesting hikes and offered to lend us mosquito repellent, which really came in handy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltrip8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers18, owner at Brook Farm Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
This spring and summer we have been visited by so many wonderful guests. One of the best parts of being innkeepers in the Berkshires is helping people discover all the things that attracted us to live here. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2009

My husband and I had a lovely time at Brook Farm Inn for a weekend this March. The inn is beautifully furnished, very comfortable and well-appointed — with a special literary atmosphere. Our room provided everything one could wish for in an historic country inn, including a fireplace, comfy four-poster bed, plenty of morning light streaming in when we opened the shades, and a bathroom which was both gleaming and spacious. Our hosts create a warm atmosphere for a flavorful breakfast and are helpful on tips to tour the Berkshires. This was a return visit to the charming inn, where we have thoroughly enjoyed our stays at other times of the year. This time, we rediscovered that it is a great place to relax indoors and out -- even off-season!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommittedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We sometimes have vacationing relatives and friends we cannot accommodate in our home near Lenox and we always send them to the historic Brook Farm Inn. They are always pleased with the scrupulously clean and charmingly furnished rooms. The breakfasts are ample and so good we sometimes join them there and are welcomed by the owners. Having afternoon tea in the sitting room is a must for our English relatives. Walking to Lenox restaurants and elegant shops is easy, so we do not have to drive them. With theatre and Tanglewood every night , plus lovely daytime hikes nearby for the young and even easy woodland hikes for the older, they enjoy an all round vacation in the summer. There is a pretty pool much used on hot days for families. With plenty of snow in this area, the skiing is a great attraction for my family. The Innkeepers are a fund of information, more than we can give and are always ready to help -even mailing left-behind articles! I would not hesitate to recommend the Inn to Americans or any travellers from abroad.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondDTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We were planning a romantic four days in the Berkshires. Called and booked the dates getting the room we liked from the site, Garden Veiw. What a beautiful, bright and cheerful room with a good size bath! They must have a wonderful housekeeper for the room was spotless. The assistant innkeeper, Katie was very helpful in directing us and making reservations for dinner. The interesting thing is each day as we left siteseeing we would make a point of putting the heat to 66 degrees so that the room would be warm in our return(for the temperture outside was below 0). When we arrived at 3:30 for tea our thermastat was always turn down to 50 degrees(much to cold for us to shower and get ready for the evening). We recomend to the innkeepers not to play with the heat when guest are paying the B&B prices during their entire stay.

  • Liked — is a beautiful old B&B
  • Disliked — The lack of heat!!!!!! The innkeeper Phil and his obsession with birds!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAllen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers18, owner at Brook Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2009
It is our policy to never enter a guest room after someone has checked in unless it is to perform a requested service (i.e. change a light bulb). Only the housekeeping staff goes into a room for normal servicing and they do not touch the thermostat. Rooms are preheated prior to a guest arriving. We do not turn down the thermostats in the rooms.

In this review there is some truth. Our rooms are bright and cheerful, the inn is spotlessly clean, and we are helpful in planning itineraries and making reservations. However, the allegation that we would do anything that might make a guest uncomfortable is false.

The comfort of our guests is paramount to our philosophy of hospitality. We are constantly upgrading our inn. The sitting room has new furniture and carpeting. The Cozy Hideaway Room has just been completely redecorated. Two layers of soundproofing and a layer of sheetrock have been installed between the two first floor rooms in the carriage house. These things were done because of feedback we received from our guests.

The week before this review was posted the inspection service from the Select Registry stayed here overnight. The inspector does not identify himself until checkout. Every experience that a guest has is rated by a travel professional. Check- in procedures, breakfast, housekeeping, and hospitality are measured to the highest standards in the innkeeping industry. Brook Farm Inn passed easily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2008

My husband and I had a great stay at Brook Farm Inn. Phil and Linda Halpern were gracious hosts who worked hard to ensure that we were comfortable and happy, and to help us find everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Lenox is a beautiful little town, with a great deal to do and see. When we told the Halperns the kinds of things we wanted to do (i.e., hiking, eating, visiting museums) they provided us with all the information we needed. We live outside Boston, and we can't wait to go back to Brook Farm Inn again -- maybe during the snowy season!

Marjorie Nydell

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2008

What a nice place this is! We’ve stayed here several times and we’ve kept coming back.

Each of the rooms in which we have stayed has had a distinctive flavor to it. It has also been of more than adequate size – and the beds are comfortable.

The breakfasts are more than ample and we found them both fresh and appetizing. Once you’ve finished them, you’re ready to begin a day walking around Lenox. And walking around Lenox is pretty easy (once you get up the hill) because the Brook Farm Inn is right next to “downtown.”

Through the years of our stay, we’ve found the innkeepers to be friendly, sociable, and extremely helpful at recommending restaurants and other attractions. Even though we’ve been coming to the Berkshires for many years, no “tourist” can know the area as well as those who live there and the innkeepers have struck us as very well informed.

We also found our hosts sociable, more than willing to talk if you want to and willing to leave you alone if you don’t.

The rooms are distinctive not only in style, but size and price, so that some of the rooms are more modestly priced. The inn once served as a private residence, which is why all the rooms are different. Our friends, who stayed in one of the smaller rooms, found it more than adequate. And we and our friends enjoyed gathering in the large library and sitting room.

The next time we need a place to stay in the Berkshires, we wouldn’t even consider looking anywhere else.

  • Liked — The countrified atmosphere and the relaxed and homey feel provided by the innkeepers
  • Disliked — The hill between the hotel and downtown Lenox
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.7 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
552 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
533 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Farm Inn

Property: Brook Farm Inn
Address: 15 Hawthorne St, Lenox, MA 01240-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brook Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New innkeepers offer considerate and responsive hospitality to guests from all over the world, immaculately clean rooms, and foods that pamper guests including freshly ground, locally roasted coffee from No. Six Depot, homemade scones during our Friday and Saturday teas, and breads made by the Berkshire Mountain Bakery - a few of the newest treats for its guests. The Berkshires' Brook Farm Inn is a short walk from the center of Lenox and a mile from the Boston Symphony Orchestra's Tanglewood and the Kripalu Yoga and Health Spa and Canyon Ranch. Call us directly for Kripalu discounts or if you'd like to start your stay in Lenox before you check in to Canyon Ranch. John, Robert, and Angela will recommend local restaurants and help you experience the best of the Berkshires in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Brook Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Farm Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing