We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May wedding at the Birchwood Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“May wedding at the Birchwood Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

My husband and I hosted our wedding at the Birchwood Inn. This Inn is a perfect destination, either for a small group or a romantic weekend.

First and foremost, the staff is exceptional. The property was beautifully maintained, Ellen and David are incredibly knowledgeable about the community and attractions, and the food is exceptional. All of our wedding guests raved and raved about the INCREDIBLE breakfasts.

Each room is unique and has a tremendous amount of character. They all look quaint and "New England-y," which was a real plus for us since our guests came from all over the world. We had so much fun assigning the different rooms for each of our guests, and I can say first hand that they are all lovely.

The location is great - no noise from downtown Lenox or from the street - but everything is walkable. Really, once you are inside the Inn, you are taken away. The weather was unfortunately quite mild while we were there, but we were thrilled that the fireplaces in each room were functional and always available to us. So cozy!

Ellen and David are very happy to make your experience personal and special. I really cannot recommend the Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmh1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
A most gracious bride! It is so easy to be an innkeeper when all of the guests are happy. The bride and groom's families were just delightful guests! Maybe everyone can come back for a 1st anniversary party. Best wishes for a joyful life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    19
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
182
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kigali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

After a week of traveling through upstate NY, Vermont, Mass and New Hampshire, this was our favorite Inn. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and varied for different tastes, the breakfast was delicious, the hostess was totally gracious and the location couldn't be better - within walking distance of the town center and the park trails.

Contrary to other reviews that highlight a tough and rigid approach, we found the innkeeper completely lovely, and willing to open in the low season and operate the Inn for just two weary road travelers who knocked on the door as she was getting ready to close up for the night. We can hardly imagine it was worth the effort to cook, clean etc... for two late and unexpected arrivals!

We couldn't have asked for better service or nicer accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msnkigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2010
"Be not forgetful to entertain strangers for thereby some have entertained angels unawares." Hebrew 13:2. Best wishes on your recent wedding and return to Rwanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

The Hubbard Room was big, pretty, very comfortable, and brought back fond memories of my grandmother's house, a wonderful thing. It is NO BIG DEAL to walk two steps out the room's "back door" to the very nice bath right across the hall with the AWESOME shower head! We never encountered any of the other guests in our hall, but Ellen provided nice robes for us just in case. I would highly recommend this inn and this room! Our hosts were delightful, the food was great, and the nearby churchyard was picturesque. The Birchwood Inn was probably my favorite thing about the whole trip!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Innkeeper/Proprietor at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
I am so glad you love The Hubbard Room! I do, too. It is the largest of our moderate rooms, with a king bed (or two twin beds), and a comfortable seating area. The newly renovated private bath with its huge 100-year-old rain forest shower head is definitely worth the couple of steps across the hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

The Birchwood Inn was picturesque on top of a hill in Lenox, Ma covered with a nice layer of snow. We arrived early and met Ellen(What a Gracious host for our two days). She had a fully booked Valentines Day weekend so our room could not be ready early. We were starving so that was fine with us. We asked Ellen where the center of town was and she gave us a map(pointing out a few places we should stop in and see). We walked 2 blocks and we were in the cute cobblestone center. After a coffee at the Lenox Coffee House we grabbed a couple sandwiches and a sixer at the local deli and headed back to Birchwood.
We got back and met Ellen's assistant Dave. He was just as warm and welcoming as Ellen. He lead us into the library were we ate our lunch and had a couple beers. The Library was large with a fireplace, a lot of sitting areas, books, board games, puzzles, etc. We basically lived in there playing scrabble, reading and playing Rummy 500:) Around 3:00 Ellen found us and let us know that our room was ready.
We stayed in the Loring Room(10) on the third floor. It was small, but was charming and warm. The bathroom was large, giant sink,small shower, views of the snow covered trees. At 4pm every day there is Tea time(hot appple cider time with apples and oranges in the cider). There were also cookies and/or brownies as well.
Both of our breakfasts were outstanding! From the hot homemade bread to the Cheese Crepes with blueberries scattered on it.
The only thing we would change next time we go is the room. A bigger shower and maybe a fireplace in the room. Other then that we loved everything and officially will be going back at least once a year. Thanks Ellen, Dave and Quinn(Ellen's dog who loves to be petted and sit by the fire during breakfast) for your genuine hospitality. We will certainly see you soon:)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineCountry-ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Innkeeper at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the library fireplace. Sure warms up a wintry weekend!
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chappaqua,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

I took my husband here since it boasted having a beautiful room with a king and a woodburning fireplace. We were not disappointed! The inn is at the top of a hill in beautiful Lenox MA. Our room was decorated with lovely details and each room was also decorated tastfully giving one a cozy feeling.
Tea at 4:00 each day was servved w/ a homemade cake and breakfasts were extraordinary from homemade breads to fruit "quiche.
Our inn keeper Ellen Gutman Chenaux and her assisiand Dave could not have been more pleasant and accomidating.
We are hoping to stay here again during the Tanglewood season this summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluteon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Innkeeper at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
We love happy guests!
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We booked a weekend at the Birchwood Inn for my birthday and based on so many glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, we were really looking forward to our stay. Even before we arrived, the confirmation of the booking and the follow up were friendly & professional and gave us a feeling of being taken care of. Our entire stay was wonderful and the tips provided by David, the assistant innkeeper were brilliant. From where to hire snow shoes to where to get a great meal (Prime, a quick walk from the Inn). We really enjoyed the library with the roaring fire, music, games and homemade chocolate pecan pie. I cannot say enough about the breakfasts we had - the food was simply fantastic. We travel a lot and I can honestly say that the Birchwood Inn was one of my favorite places to stay - so much so that we've already booked a room for our anniversary and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lrh96
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

I was at the Birchwood Inn for New Years with my boyfriend. We researched the bed and breakfast before we went on vacation, but to our surprise, it was MUCH more than we could have ever expected. The innkeeper Ellen and her assistant inkeeper were the nicest, kindest, warmest people, who clearly pride themselves on excellent service and accurate tourist information! Not to mention, that the innkeeper owns 2 adorable dogs that are so well behaved and add a certain homey appeal to the house. Our room was clean and quaint, extremely private, and obviously well kept, as was the rest of the house. There is a room with books, games, and a fireplace; a tv room, and a wonderfully set kitchen. The kitchen is also stocked with soda, water, tea, and coffee complimentary for the guests. Overall, the house is cozy, relaxing, quiet, and romantic! Birchwood is also right on route 7, which made venturing out very easy and simple to navigate around the Berkshires. However, above all, the best thing we can say about this place was the FOOD! Breakfast in the morning and afternoon treats were delicious to perfection. I loved Ellen's food so much, I even bought her cookbook so I can try to make her food at home! We would 100% go back to this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrh96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2010
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay! You helped make our holiday season bright! Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.8 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Property: Birchwood Inn
Address: 7 Hubbard St, Lenox, MA 01240-2329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday worries at our Romantic Berkshires bed and breakfast. Relax by a fire in the Library or on our porch in one of our rocking chairs and then stroll down the hill to the Historic Lenox Town Center where you will find a variety of high quality restaurants for lunch and dinner and a boutique shopping experience. Complimentary afternoon tea and "the best breakfast in New England" await you every day at The Birchwood Inn. The rooms are individually appointed at different price points, but all rooms have cable TV and climate control. Bring your well-behaved dog along to enjoy any season in the Berkshires by booking one of our pet friendly rooms. Our Lenox bed and breakfast is that romantic getaway you've been waiting for and we are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing