We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casual, delightful, scrumptious serenity”
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The fabulous music of Tanglewood finds its complement in this charming inn. All rooms in Lenox during the summer are pricey, and this is no exception. The difference, however, is the value. THe roms are charming and spacious, The front porch is a delight, as is the sitting room. The breakfasts are heavenly, and linger in the memory long into the autumn. We have stayed at several inns in tghe area, and none tops the Birchwood.

Room Tip: Room 5 is particularly charming, with its own fireplace and hand-painted bathroom. There are two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transplantdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Room 5, The Egleston Room, is my personal favorite. The coral and seafoam hues are restful, the garden view special, and the clawfoot tub ever so soothing. I am delighted you enjoyed it as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Staying at Birchwood Inn is like returning to the home of a favorite aunt. Ellen, the sweetly sophisticated innkeeper, makes her guests feel welcome in premises that glow with good taste. We were there during Tanglewood Season, refugees from a Maryland heat wave, and delighted with the cool weather and comfortably furnished front porch where tea and homemade treats were available each afternoon. Ellen is a gourmet cook, creating spectacular breakfasts served by her assistants in the inn's elegant dining room.

Birchwood Inn is pet-friendly, and our chocolate lab Conrad spent one night in the Post Room, located in an auxiliary property next to the main house. A private entrance and a front porch was an ideal situation, although he spent two nights at nearby Camp Wagalot so we could enjoy concerts and sample the fare of restaurants within walking distance. Zinc was a favorite, as was Alta and the Church Street Cafe.

Birchwood Inn, an historic house on a quiet street in Lenox, is a special destination year-round. The gardens and grounds are well kept and the public rooms inviting. Ellen is a charming and thoughtful host - as well as a great cook. Her labrador Quinn and service dog Charlie are a bonus -- as is the inn's pet-friendly policy . We give it five thumbs-up!

Room Tip: If traveling with your dog, ask for the Post Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

It's such a high to have happy guests! The ultimate goal of every innkeeper. Quinn, Charley, and the Birchwood team delighted in your stay as much as you did, making a great start to the summer. We hope to see the three of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

There is nothing I can say that is wrong with this B&B, but it is not exceptional enough to be worth the price. I don't know if this is a competitive rate, but our small room was over $300 !!! Ellen is charming and hospitable, but Roger, the assistant innkeeper, seemed to be looking for a tip. Our Post Room in the Carriage House was underwhelming. The decor seemed a bit shabby and worn - very different from the picture on their beautiful web site. The breakfast was somewhat disappointing because we don't happen to like sweet breakfasts. It would have been nice to have a selection, which is something we have happily found in many B & B's. Oh well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhodeIslandActor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We sincerely regret that you didn't have an exceptional Birchwood experience in July. Please note that the rate for your moderate room with the semi-private porch is actually $269.00 a night plus tax. Perhaps you would have been happier in a room in the mansion itself rather than the cottage-y you originally chose, which, by the way, is one of our most popular rooms.
If you had mentioned to us that you prefer a savory breakfast rather than the Peach Gazpacho and Waffles of Insane Greatness with Fresh Strawberries, we would have been happy to prepare an alternative dish, which we often do.
Roger, by the way, is the consummate customer service person, often going above and beyond. I hope that you didn't mistake his commitment to service as looking for a gratuity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely B&B. Hospitality and service and food were all amazing. Ellen, the owner and her 2 dogs were the best hosts and she can make a wonderful breakfast. Terry and Roger made our stay so memorable by providing restaurant suggestions, attractions and driving routes for all our fun plans in and around Lenox, plus the use of their kayaks for a memorable trip down the Housatonic! Our room was quiet and well kept and cleaned each day. Would definitely recommend this B&B. Enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geezeRidgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Terri, Roger, Quinn, Charley, and I were delighted that you chose to celebrate the 4th of July at our historic inn and took advantage of the many activities the Berkshires have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The good news is that the very nice innkeepers were willing to offer me a one night stay at the last moment when we found out the Hampton Inn didn't have operable windows; for me, fresh air is a necessity.
Also, on the positive side, the front porch was lovely with rocking chairs and the common rooms seemed very comfy and interesting.
Read my other reviews; I rarely write anything negative, just high marks and lots of information, all praise. I don't know what to say; other people seemed to love this place. All night long, I just wanted to leave and get my money back. I got the feeling this would not be an option!
The room: Old motel feel, no hair conditioner, just a shampoo and a bar of soap, kind of bare bones, oldish mattress, curtains partly missing hooks. I opened the windows, and, while there were screens, the room flooded with mosquitoes and other insects. The window air conditioner sounded like a B52 all night long and put out inadequate cooling. We slept miserably.
Breakfast: This required an appointment, and I came on time to find the tables all filled. They very kindly prepared a gluten free option for me. The fruit was in a bowl of pre-sweetened yogurt, no espresso or latte available, other offerings were prepackaged sugar and flavored yogurt. There was a dog in the dining room, beautiful dog, nuzzling under the table, only I am highly allergic to dogs.
Outside my room in the morning was the strong smell of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerlynKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. When you called at the last minute looking for a room because you were unsatisfied with your original accommodation, we were happy to help, even offering you a significant discount for the night. We quickly prepared our only available room for you and your daughter. Had you mentioned the conditioner during your stay, we certainly would have gotten you some immediately. We have not had any other guests mention the unit in your room being loud, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will look into this and make any necessary repairs.

Since we make all of our breakfasts fresh for our guests, we do ask that you choose one of 3 seatings for breakfast. When you arrived, we let you know that a table would be ready for you in a few minutes. You returned 45 minutes later, and although it was well past the time we would normally close our kitchen, we happily prepared your special gluten-free entree, as per your request. The fruit dish that morning was one of our most popular, our “Fruitini” with fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. There were also freshly prepared bread and muffins for you to choose from. We tried to bring your attention to these items but hesitated to interrupt your cell phone conversation that lasted the entire time you were in the dining room. Our breakfasts have won numerous awards, and we are sorry that you did not enjoy it more.

We are a dog-friendly inn and have two service dogs of our own. As soon as we learned of your allergies, we did remove Quinn from the dining room.

We strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and well taken care. By your own admission, we were succeeding for most of our guests as they were “loving the place,” we are sorry that you were not one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We couldn't have hoped for a more relaxing little getaway celebrating my husband's birthday! This Inn is charming, quaint, dog friendly and the service was exquisitely above and beyond. Our hosts, Ellen, Quinn, Charlie and the associate inn keepers, made sure that our pups and us had a memorable stay from start to finish. The town is adorable with great boutiques, places to eat and gorgeous architecture at every turn. We were greeted with beds/bowls/towels/treats for our dogs and a delicious afternoon tea with homemade rhubarb cake in the library. We enjoyed the grounds and hammock immensely, perfect spot to relax and read a book. There is a great walking trail right across the street that is perfect for exploring. The breakfasts were unique and satisfying, as were the afternoon treats and "sweet dreams" in the butler's nook. We were even treated to cookies and milk after arriving home from a dinner in town, delivered fresh from the oven to our door...we felt spoiled! Thank you to everyone at Birchwood Inn for making this a wonderful birthday for my hubby and fun for the dogs too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

All of us got great pleasure from seeing you enjoying yourselves. That's what we're all about! And what wonderful Bernese Mountain dogs! Quinn and Charley certainly enjoying hosting Jack and Bu's visit. All of us are looking forward to welcoming you home to Birchwood Inn again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Came out to the Berkshires for a kid free romantic weekend with my wife. Couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The innkeeper and her assistance were all welcoming and attentive. The grounds, common rooms, and guest rooms were beautifully decorated and maintained.

And the food! The award for best breakfast in New England is well deserved! Be sure to hit the butler's pantry in the evening when you return after a day's adventure in the area, you never know what sweet treat will be waiting for you on the counter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chatelaine, Owner at Birchwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

I am delighted that we were able to make your romantic getaway a memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenox hotels
0.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.3 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.8 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.5 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Address: 7 Hubbard St, Lenox, MA 01240-2329
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $217 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday worries at our Romantic Berkshires bed and breakfast. Relax by a fire in the Library or on our porch in one of our rocking chairs and then stroll down the hill to the Historic Lenox Town Center where you will find a variety of high quality restaurants for lunch and dinner and a boutique shopping experience. Complimentary afternoon tea and "the best breakfast in New England" await you every day at The Birchwood Inn. The rooms are individually appointed at different price points, but all rooms have cable TV and climate control. Bring your well-behaved dog along to enjoy any season in the Berkshires by booking one of our pet friendly rooms. Our Lenox bed and breakfast is that romantic getaway you've been waiting for and we are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing