We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it IS CHEAP! But, that is about all I can say”
Review of Wagon Wheel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wagon Wheel Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Reviewed August 16, 2011

OK, maybe the location is wonderful, for all the Berkshire sights and sounds. But, it is a really down and out motel from the old days. Complete with a replica of Roy Roger's horse in the front.... well, maybe it wasn't Trigger, but it could have been. There is fresh paint around the place. The clientele seem to working stiffs and cheap vacationers. This is the sort of motel that often houses "homeless" people... but, I saw little evidence of that sort of thing. The rooms were clean and tacky decor abounds. Even though it is on a major thoroughfare... the room we had at the back wasn't noisy. I would be cautious with security issues. Use your common sense.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Wagon Wheel Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a small, family owned hotel in a great area. If you are looking for a CLEAN, NO FRILLS HOTEL. this is it. You can not go wrong for the price. If you are looking for a really nice hotel with chocolates on the pillows this is not for you. BUT if you are looking for an inexpensive, no frills, CLEAN hotel.....STAY AT THE WAGON WHEEL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cHERIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel is small, no frills, & met our basic needs. Had difficulty finding hotel availability during a recent Tanglewood visit & decided to stay here. We were not expecting anything elaborate - nor was it. We had a quiet room in the back. It was small, dated, but clean - also had minifridge /microwave. Two people could not fit in the bathroom at the same time if they tried. One nite is just fine. Close to Tanglewood. 10% discount to local restaurants. I would not recommend the front rooms facing the street - I'm sure far too noisy. Owners were extremely pleasant.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Coco1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This place is a joke. The rooms are dirty, damaged furniture, mildewed and smelly. I took one look at the room and ran out as fast as I could. You have to be crazy to stay there. It frankly looks dangerous.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank genephilps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WagonWheel808, Manager at Wagon Wheel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2009

This room has been recently painted and rented almost everyday without any complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I did not have a good experience at this overpriced motel. The street noise is intense. We booked a jacuzzi suite, what a joke. There was no hot water, not even warm water for the jacuzzi. This motel is overpriced and past its prime. Do yourself a favor and find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyCoolTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is a charming, quaint motel -- clean, attractive. An extremely kind family runs the place, so you get a very at-home feeling here. I stayed for three nights, and was happy here the entire time. The bed was comfy and I slept really well. I'm happy to say the windows are like windows in a real house -- they open! There are lots of restaurants nearby, all within walking distance, as well as one of the nicest grocery stores I have ever been in called Guido's (a five-minute walk). A Chinese restaurant and a Friendly's, a CVS and a Price Chopper are just across the road. I could easily have stayed here longer. Also: I spent almost the entire two days in my room (was finishing some work) and I didn't feel claustrophobic at all. The rooms smell nice, too. (Microwave, TV, small fridge included.)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Very friendly owners, ready to help when needed.
Of course, this is no 5 star hotel, but it serves its purpose well.
Hard to find a better value in this area during the Tanglewood festival.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjdana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lenox Pittsfield
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagon Wheel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Motel

Address: 484 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2902
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range: $54 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wagon Wheel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wagon Wheel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wagon Wheel Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing