We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem worthy your time and attention!”

Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio
Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Lenox
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WHEN TO VISIT-Closed from October 9th 2017 to May 15th 2018. Groups of 6 or more by appointment one week in advance until October 31st. Regular public hours begin June 21, 2018.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My wife and I visited this home and studio for the first time. It's always a pleasure for us to see where artists worked as well as lived. The docent for this tour (I'm sorry I can't remember her hame) was very knowledgable about the history; of course, you'd expect that of someone in that position but she really has her heart and soul into it and it came across. Feel free to ask her about traveling to Italy and skiing the Dolomites, too! She is a wealth of information and was very gracious with her time and attention. Whether you are a fan of cubism or not, this is worth a visit as there are so few places like it that are well-preserved and allow you not only to appreciate the art but to step back into that period for a short while...

1  Thank Jimijump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaF693, Public Relations Manager at Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for this review of Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio. You commend our outstanding docent and we are indeed blessed to have a highly trained and dedicated staff making sure you are not "just a number" when you visit. Preservation of the house, grounds and collections is a top priority are it is gratifying to learn when these efforts are appreciated. Surgical booties are worn throughout the house, to protect the floors, and also to keep the rooms from being "roped off" from the public for a greater immersion into the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had not heard of the Frelinghuysen Morris House before our trip and loved our visit. The art deco home with outstanding early 20th century paintings and the original furnishings is fascinating and a very interesting contrast with the gilded age homes we also visited. Tour lead by the assistant director was outstanding.

3  Thank capegirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaF693, Public Relations Manager at Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio. There is nothing the dedicated staff enjoys more than introducing visitors to the house, art collection and furnishings for the first time. The Berkshires is filled with Gilded Age "cottages" and this escape into Modernism is a wonderful addition to the mix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

If you enjoy art and want to treat yourself to a lovely experience, by all means visit this little gem of a museum. It's called the Frelinghausen Morris House and Studio and, while accurately named, is really actually a Cubist Museum containing wonderful paintings, statuary and frescoes done by artists Suzy Frelinghuysen and George L.K. Morris (who were married avant garde artists and collectors of abstract art in the 1930's - 1950's.) The art is exhibited throughout the home Suzy and George built and lived in, so you also are seeing a furnished house and working studio..and you get a first rate personal tour that greatly adds to your appreciation of the art. Oh, and by the way, "for dessert" you will see excellent original Picassos, Legers and Gris', as well, that Suzy and George acquired.

1  Thank JeffWFtLeeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaF693, Public Relations Manager at Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the considerable time it must have taken to review Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio. It is always a pleasure to read reviews from visitors who have really immersed themselves in the spirit of the place. It is especially rewarding to learn that visitors leave with a greater appreciation of art because the art is placed in context of the building for which it was designed. This achieves the mission of the foundation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We come up to the Berkshires every year for Tanglewood. We have visited the Mount, Norman Rockwell , etc. But we wanted something different and this beautiful modern house with cubist art work was the perfect getaway from the usual. My knowlegde of the art world is nothing to brag about, but material from the tour was easy to swallow. Fabulous grounds, would reccomend just to walk them. Overall great addition to our summer In Stockbridge,

2  Thank JBLU050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio also viewed

 

Been to Frelinghuysen Morris House & Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing