We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice for Lunch and Dinner”
Review of Bistro Zinc

Bistro Zinc
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Good Choice for Lunch and Dinner”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've been here several times for lunch and find it to be a good choice for a nice lunch and a glass of wine. This time we decided to try it for dinner. Since it was early February, the restaurant was uncrowded andpleasant. Weopted for onion soup, duck rolls and steak frites along with glasses of wine and coffee. All wete well prepated and the service was excellent. This is a grwat choice for well prepared bistro food in a nice environment.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMULD3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    143
    57
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
watertown, CT
Level Contributor
395 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“impressive”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Amazing! They are not to afraid to include classic hearty traditional dishes like homemade papardelle and beef bourguignon along with their own creative dishes. The house cocktails are excellent and so is the steak tartare. The overall feel is innovative but not pretentious.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
317 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, OK food”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Bistro Zinc tries to bring an authentic French bistro feel to Lenox, but the food preparation seems like the chef is overreaching.

For appetizers we had the Charcuterie consisting of a nice selection of pate, cheeses and sausage. ($14) We also had a side of warm olives with rosemary that were flavorful but slightly too salty ($5 for a very generous portion). Both were enjoyable.

For main courses we had the Louisiana Gumbo which was a bit too gummy and all the flavor was overpowered by the andouille sausage. ($26) We also ordered the Cassoulet ($24). This is a slow cooked stew with meat and white beans. Again, instead of a number of flavors coming through the beans were far too prominent and it tasted bland. It was also more soupy than I like, but that is purely personal preference.

For dessert we tried the Profiteroles. The portion was enormous, easily shared by 3 people and at $9, inexpensive. The problem is that the dessert does not fit the restaurant. The portion was huge but the execution was fair at best (closer to Friendly's than a French bistro) . It was frozen rock hard and the pastry had little taste. Fresh soft cream puffs stuffed with a softer ice cream would be more in line with a higher end restaurant. The butterscotch Budino (pudding) was far better. Rich and creamy with nice texture and full of flavor. ($8)

Service was OK and the atmosphere is calming and nicely done. They have a good wine list.

There are a number of better restaurants within steps of Zinc. With a few tweaks and better care to preparation, it shouldn't be too difficult for it to go up a notch or two.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C from NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
357 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Horrible Attitude”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Have been several times, even after reading bad reviews that mostly concerned rude and bad staff. We have enjoyed Bistro Zinc in the past, but will never return again. There was a problem with the taste of one dish due to a different preparation the we previously had. We were told that different chefs season it differently. The manager offered to make it over; however, we would still have to pay for the dish we didn't eat...... a stupid business decision. I now know why I have read about their bad attitude.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank abarasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistroZinc, General Manager at Bistro Zinc, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We at Zinc are committed to making good business decisions. Unfortunately, sometimes, our guests make poor patron decisions, and then expect us to take the cost of their mistakes.
It is the management's perspective that this would be a very "stupid business decision." We always make an effort to correct OUR mistakes. We even go so far as to correct mistakes that are not ours on a regular basis.
However, when a customer makes a blatant and assumptive mistake, by not regarding the menu, and then gets a dish that is not what they expected, we feel that this is hardly our responsibility. Again, the attitude that is taken often times determines the out-come. When the customer tells us that we WILL remake the dish and not charge them for it, when our preparation matches the description in the menu, that sets a bad tone. In this case, we told the customer that we could make the dish as they wished, but that we did not feel obligated to eat the cost of something that was prepared correctly, based on their false assumptions. We were told that it was a "stupid business decision." This seems like sour grapes over a mistake that was not ours. Perhaps if abarasol had read the menu, this whole situation may have been avoided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenox, ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

went with friends after not being there for a long time. the diversity of the menu which included bone marrow and rabbit stew was impressive. the service was great. the price high, but not overly expensive.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Zinc also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Bistro Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing