We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax in The Berkshires” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonover Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lenox
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonover Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Boston
2 reviews
“Relax in The Berkshires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at Stonover Farm in the Schoolhouse suite. Typically, we're not the bed and breakfast type, but chose Stonover because of it's architectural beauty, the idyllic setting, and the detached privacy of the Schoolhouse suite. I suspected (and was correct) that Tom and Suki would not inundate us with unsolicited small talk about the property and the area unless we actually asked for their input. The casual but refined approach was perfect for those of us who don't necessarily want to tell out life story to strangers over breakfast, but can appreciate dining in a truly unique and beautiful space. Of course, if you wanted the full run down on the property and the area they were happy to engage.
The Schoolhouse suite was spacious and relaxing, with a huge gorgeous bathroom complemented with white marble, a two person shower and jacuzzi tub. Plenty of windows and light and air (with windows opened) brought the outdoors inside. Although it was cloudy and a bit rainy during our stay, the private outdoor patio would be perfect for enjoying a cup of coffee or a glass of wine with good weather. The bedroom and living room are spacious and comfortable, with a gas fireplace and many interesting books throughout.
Breakfast was excellent with a daily spread of pastries, fruit salad, yogurt and granola, as well as omelettes, eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc. We experienced the wonders of actually eating breakfast and all that goes along with it. What a way to start the day!
We would go back anytime to explore the area, see a concert at Tanglewood, or just to hole up on a winters night. Thanks Tom and Suki for reminding us that Bed and Breakfasts can be elegant and unobtrusive!

Room Tip: If you want to cook for yourself, I believe the Rock Suite has a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luxequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Several times in recent years, we had planned to stay at Stonover Farm while in Lenox, but we never managed to get a reservation in early enough. This year we booked well in advance and were rewarded with three delightful days/nights there. The location is less than a mile from Tanglewood, but not in the midst of the heavy traffic that tends to tie up the main roads.

We happened to be there on a weekend with sweltering heat and humidity, but our suite was cool and comfortable, with all the amenities we could want for our stay. The furnishings and artwork in the main rooms, as well as the lovely grounds and duck pond, all contribute to a peaceful and memorable ambience.

Tom and Suky Werman also provide a great range of breakfast options, from yogurt with fresh fruit and homemade granola to assorted sweet rolls, to hot dishes cooked to order. The breakfast room itself is very inviting -- light and airy with doors opening to a view of the pond.

There is a good reason why many people who stay here make a point of booking well ahead for future stays!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandF_Massachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Such a lovely property & charming hosts. As soon as you get out of the car, you sense it. It is sooo quite, that rare East Coast thing, no background noise, just quite. Then the restoration of the buildings & grounds is truly well done. We were lucky to have found the farm. We stopped to try Blantyre, but that was so not us, then Canyon Ranch, ditto, but the kind person there said if you don't like Blantyre, you will love Stoneover. She called ahead, they had a room (The School House).

Just lovely, a wonderful blend of comfort, clean lines & every amenity you could want. We were lucky to have Suki tour us through the barn & spend some time with her.

A delightful time in a very private cottage.

Room Tip: They are all nice, School House very private & romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelmenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Warm welcome by the Stonover Farm Bed and Breakfast owners. Thanks for inviting us in to your beautiful property. It was a pleasure touring the rooms and expansive grounds. The barn is a highlight. We had the great opportunity to socialize with two couples during the complimentary wine and cheese gathering, hosted by the owners. We were pleased to get to know the owners and guests alike and really made lasting connections. These getaway experiences are what it is all about for us traveling folks!

Highly recommend the Stonover for your next visit to the Berkshires!

Room Tip: Wonderful options await. Owners are happy and helpful to aid in recommending the best fit for your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Could not fault the facilities or service. just so relaxing and we love this part of New England. Returning again next month for more - this time with snow. Worth missing an Australian summer for once.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ventnorvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
684 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've been spending 3 nights/year at Stonover for the last 10 years and love it. We love Tom & Suki and think this is what the Berkshires should be all about. Not Blantyre. Not Wheatley. Not any of those very expensive and a little silly places that would better be in the country in France. This is the right kind of place. Don't get me wrong, we've tried the others and like that kind of thing. This is just the right place in the right place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

In an attempt to salvage a bad experience in Marta's Vineyard, I immediately thought of Stonover. We had been there years ago and found it as charming and serene as we had remembered.

Tom and Suky are extremely lovely and interesting hosts.

My two sister-in-laws loved it as we did.

It was a perfect ending to a disastrous beginning.

Thank you, Tom and Suky!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenox hotels
3.1 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#1 of 20 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonover Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonover Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonover Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 169 Under Mountain Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're on 10 country acres only two miles from Lenox village. We offer a full cooked-to-order breakfast, afternoon wine & cheese, wi-fi, guest computer, free private phones, 14" mattresses, premium linens, robes, amenities, CD player with CDs, 250 movies to watch in your suite, 37" HI-DEF TV's, full cable with HBO, IPOD / IPHONE Docking stations and remote control air conditioning. The main house has three 3-room suites (sitting room, bedroom, bath). The 3-room School House suite stands alone by the duck pond, has 11-foot ceilings, 2 large wall TVs, gas fireplace, heated floors, private patio, large bath with jacuzzi tub, separate 2-headed shower and 2 sinks. Rock Cottage has 2 bedrooms, living room with wood-burning fireplace, full kitchen and porch. We're surrounded by woods, and very near hiking trails and horseback riding. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stonover Farm b&b
Stonover Farm Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing