We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chesapeake Inn of Lenox
Nearby Hotels
$131
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenox Inn(Lenox)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Inn(Lenox)(Great Value!)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Terrace Inn(Lenox)
$199
$189
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires(Lenox)(Great Value!)
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort(Lenox)(Great Value!)
$219
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Gables Inn(Lenox)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
11
2
1
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
2
1
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 18 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed with John at the Inn last year, and am currently making plans to return this year. John cheerily accomodated my dietary requests, the Inn is in a fantastic location with relation to Tanglewood, I was able to pop onto the wireless when I had to attend to a "crisis" from work, and I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the peace and tranquility of the heated lap pool. (What a luxury --> It rates way above 5 stars in my opinion). I found the Inn, and my room in particular to be neat and clean and I appreciated that there were always plenty of pools towels at hand. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Being a music critic, I spend a lot of time at Tanglewood, the Boston Symphony's wonderful summer festival in the Berkshires. For convenience, comfort and privacy, the Chesapeake Inn can not be beat. Located almost across the street from the Tanglewood campus, the inn is wonderfully rustic and charming. The innkeeper John makes a cooked to order breakfast everyday. You just write down what you want for breakfast the night before and John shops and buys fresh food every morning. There is no set time for breakfast. You can have it any time you want, even in the afternoon. There is an inviting lap pool and John has a barbecue every Saturday night on the house for his guests if you do not feel like taking on the restaurant traffic on that busiest night of the week prior to a Tanglewood concert or theater performance. John goes out of the way to meet his guests' needs and see to it that they have a comfortable, relaxing stay. With its great location and warm, friendly ambience, the Chesapeake Inn is your best pick for Tanglewood.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are different. When you call John, he can describe each one for you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LawrenceEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

For the past three years, we have enjoyed staying at the Chesapeake when visiting Lenox to see James Taylor and the Boston Pops during their July appearances. No other Inn is closer to Tanglewood, and the convenience of walking to the park is worth the stay alone. We love "our" Innkeeper John, and can't say enough about his hospitality and willingness to go out of his way to accommodate our needs. John has coordinated with the box office to obtain concert seats exactly where we prefer to sit, eliminating that hassle and frustration for us, and the "whatever you want-whenever you want it" breakfast is terrific. The Inn is humble in its wooded setting and not gussied up with antiques and too much "stuff" (the type of environment that makes one of us dislike staying at the typical B&B), making it a great value by comparison to other Lenox lodging during the season. The result is a rustic, casual and comfortable experience that's exactly right for us. And when we're not out and about, we're content to lounge by the pool-a bonus during this year's heat wave. Thanks for another wonderful stay, John, we'll see you again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank LegalGirlCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeInn, Owner at Chesapeake Inn of Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Chesapeake Inn is a Tanglewood Business Partner. This provides us with access to tickets before they go on sale to the general public (usually 6 – 8 weeks). We extend this opportunity to our guests. Our pool is available to our guests 24 hours/day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had a fantastic long weekend stay at the Chesapeake Inn of Lenox. The facility was super clean and John Sporck, the innkeeper, was a great host. Just steps away from Tanglewood made it real easy to enjoy the events for a weary traveler. The breakfasts were terric. I had my favorite, smoked salmon on a bagel, which is a rather expensive item for a B&B to serve. Enjoyed John's Saturday evening chicken BBQ, and that we were able to avoid waits at local area restaurans before the concert. I wholeheartedly would recommend The Chesapeake to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeInn, Owner at Chesapeake Inn of Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

This review illustrates our efforts to cater to each guest’s needs, wants, and desires. We shop each morning to be able to serve each guest a breakfast according to his individual order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you're in Lenox, and especially if you're there to see a show at Tanglewood, this is the place to stay. John, the innkeeper, goes out of his way to make sure your stay is pleasant. The rooms are cozy and bright, and it's within trail-pleasing, walking distance of Tanglewood.

In addition to John's flexibility, graciousness, and enthusiasm, one of the things we love most is breakfast. Most inns have a set menu at a set time. At Chesapeake, you let John know what you would like to eat and he'll cook to order whenever you come downstairs.

We highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: John can let you know which rooms are bigger, more private, etc. Just ask. :-)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMarieTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesapeakeInn, Owner at Chesapeake Inn of Lenox, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Our approach is customized for each guest. We’ve served breakfast as early as 4:30am and as late as 2:00pm. We search for add-ons that create value for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews