We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ponds at Foxhollow
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Lenox
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This resort is very nice, comfortable with great views from the balcony. Second bedroom is a loft with its own living room and bath. Also has a working fireplace. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though the resort is old, it is very well maintained.

We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationkingCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Ponds at Foxhollow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here last weekend in a 2-bedroom unit to use it as home base for a weekend trip to Butternut. While the unit is technically a sleep-6, we actually had a dozen people (6 adults and 6 children). The unit has 1 bedroom on the first floor, along with a sleeper sofa in the living room; upstairs is another sleeper sofa and a second bedroom. There was plenty of room for everyone since most of the children slept in sleeping bags. Other reviews are correct that the units are dated. However, we found it to be clean, which is most important. The place is a 15 minute drive to Butternut, which is very convenient. The clubhouse has an indoor pool, which the children enjoyed. Wi-fi in the units (unsecured). A few recommendations if you are going to stay here...First, the units have a fireplace in which you are allowed to burn only artificial logs - they sell small 2-hour logs at the front desk for $3 apiece, but you could probably bring better ones to save a little money. Secondly, while the clubhouse provides pool towels, they are small so you may want to bring your own. Lastly, my wife found the sheets to be of low quality - if you want to improve your experience, you may want to bring your own sheets. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly return for another ski weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank howdog14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Nice location in the berkshires but an old property with units that remind me of a low-end hotel. Low end furnishings in need of an upgrade. If you like cheap oak this is the place for you. Clubhouse is also old and in need of an upgrade. Did an exchange for this and the property is very inferior to my marriott unit.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LuckyfromKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The historic site with its beautiful grounds makes for a wonderful environment. The outdoor pool was lovely, there was a majestic heron sitting on the pond at one point, and we took a walk along Laurel Lake (you have to exit the property to access a laneway down). The units themselves have excellent layout and a clean, well-stocked kitchen (but bring your own supplies, including aluminum foil, etc.) and rooms. Furniture and carpet are dated but clean, bathroom needs a reno but is clean. This place could use a lesson in customer service -- tiny frustrations detract from the pleasure of the stay. E.g., no shampoo in the rooms, and the nearest store requires a trip in the car. Newspaper is not free. We would stay here again as a couple, and would recommend it for young children as there's lots to do. However, older teens may find it dull -- the amenities close at 9:00PM.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

In planning our trip to the Berkshires, we were looking for a family-oriented place to stay that would be close to major attractions, yet secluded enough to give us some alone time with our new baby (who, heading into the Memorial Day weekend, was only 4 months old). The Ponds at Foxhollow perfectly fit our needs – it was only 5 minutes away from one of the major attractions in the area – the Edith Wharton estate – as well as only 10 minutes away from both Tanglewood and the town of Lenox, which we had always heard was one of the best towns in the Berkshires. (Hint: the Canyon Ranch Spa – typically ranked among the best spas in the nation - is in Lenox)

Foxhollow – which was apparently a former retreat for scions of the great New York City families back in the day (i.e. folks like Edith Wharton) – did not disappoint. We had a two-room condo with a private backyard patio that had a view of a private lake. Within the Foxhollow complex, there was also a pool, a health club and tennis courts, not to mention trails for walking. Foxhollow is itself set far back from the road, and bordered by hedges, trees, and a long, winding path accessible by both car and bike. We loved this privacy and seclusion – but if you’re planning on walking to a restaurant – or even to a grocery – late at night you’ll be out of luck. You’ll need to hop in your car and hit one of the nearby towns – the drive isn’t bad at all, but we definitely stocked up on our arrival night with food and beverages.

For a relaxing, scenic stay in the Berkshires, I would readily recommend Foxhollow. The booking system is not Web-enabled, and that gave us cause for concern before arriving, but the staff was extremely helpful (even offering to help us assemble our borrowed baby travel crib). All the amenities were modern, but the charm and feeling of the place hearkened back to an Age of Innocence.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank svetich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I travel quite a bit an this place was VERY disappointing. the grounds are beautiful however don't be fooled. The interior of these condos are a trip to 1980. When I called the Gen Manager to complain about the shower head where the water hits your face like bullets, or the fact we were there 2 days yet only got one coffee packet , and you were only allowed 1, thats 1 set of towel for 2 nights, his response was 'oh well'. I mean really.....he was basically like 'too bad.' When I stated my dissatisfaction, he was not willing to help me out. When I stated I was going to write a letter, he said go ahead, its your perogative. REALLY!!! For $300 p/night I expected SO MUCH MORE. I would NEVER stay there again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. I think you would get better service at the Quaiity Inn down the street. Maybe the Gen Manager Ed, should watch the movie 'Give them the Pickle' . Its all about customer service!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RCrem_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PondsMgmt, General Manager at The Ponds at Foxhollow, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to gives your thoughts. We value everyone's opinion, only through feedback can we make improvements. So thank you. I hope, should you return, that you find the renovations we've made to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We very much like the Ponds and stay there at least once a year--and we're looking forward to spending more weeks there in the future.

The Ponds consists of two types of units--the Westinghouse units are on the ground floor and sleep up to four. The Vanderbilt units are on the second and third floors and sleep up to six (two bedrooms sleeping two each and the sleeper couch in the living room). Those names fit because the property was once the vacation home of those famous families.

The rooms are spacious and although the counter space in the kitchen area is limited, these are the most fully equipped kitchens we've ever experienced in a timeshare.

The grounds are attractive, especially the "ponds" themselves on which it is possible to row or use a paddleboat. The clubhouse is strikingly beautiful.

The resort did have problems with high speed internet access, but that's been completely resolved and the service is now excellent.

The units are attractive, well appointed and clean, but some aspects of maintenance could be better. For example, the threshold to outside doors may be a bit worn and in the unit we were in the "fit and finish" on a Jacuzzi tub would have been better if finished off with some molding between the tub and the wall.

Lenox is a great location for a wide range of activities throughout the entire year. There are any number of historic properties to visit and during the summer there are a full range of cultural attractions in Lenox (Tanglewood and a Shakespeare program). Edith Wharton's "The Mount" adjoins the Ponds. The Normal Rockwell Museum and Chesterwood (where the model for the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C. was crafted) is in nearby West Stockbridge. The Hancock Shaker Village is just a few miles away in Pittsfield along with the home in which Herman Melville wrote "Moby Dick."

Lots of stunning scenery and, of course, during the fall, this is a prime jumping off place to view the foliage and during the winter there is easy access to a number of ski resorts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
1.2 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.6 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,038 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
1.6 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ponds at Foxhollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ponds at Foxhollow

Address: 3 Fox Hollow Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2827
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lenox
Price Range: $160 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ponds at Foxhollow 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ponds at Foxhollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ponds At Foxhollow Hotel Lenox
Ponds At Foxhollow Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing