We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fragrant grasses and peaceful ponds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pleasant Valley Sanctuary

Pleasant Valley Sanctuary
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1,100-acre wildlife sanctuary, along the slopes of Lenox Mountain, features 7 miles of hiking trails and offers nature programs for adults and children throughout the year.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fragrant grasses and peaceful ponds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wildlife sanctuary in just a few minutes of driving off rt. 7 in Lenox. How did we miss it all of these years? Well maintained trails are prepared for light hiking or simply strolling and observing birds and dragonflies. Beautiful, quiet ponds are inhabited by fish, and even beavers. We were lucky to spot a beaver swimming in the middle of the pond. The proud little animal was swimming silently, very happy with himself, then probably noticed us and disappeared diving without making any sound.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LeopoldsFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    32
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GO GO GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely, memorable hike at this beautiful sanctuary. We took the trail all the way up to the overview and had the trail almost completely to ourselves. The climb up is somewhat challenging but was worth it. The care taken to maintain the trails, upkeep the visitors center and trip the wildflower fields is impressive. Mass Audubon loves this place and it shows. Check out the solar panel right next to the farm and the bottle refill station. So cool!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nattyagudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great birding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent birding, including mountain bluebirds as well as beaver lodges that are easily visible. One down side: no insect spray at the otherwise lovely visitor center and gift shop, so remember to bring your own.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunflowerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visted during a touring holiday of new england with family. Recomended by a local. Nice lady in the office gave us so many tips about our sunday morning walk.. you could take the long way or short way...we chose longer as it was so peaceful.
The views of the forest and the pools just stunning.
So many birds to see, blew us away.so well signed you coukd not get lost.
We intended to have a stroll for an hour but stayed for four hours. Would love to get back and explore more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My Spirit Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I come here all the time. What do I love about it? It has anything and everything. You can hike to a mountain top. You can hike alongside scenic ponds. You can walk along waterfalls. In the winter , they offer snowshoe rentals for a very nominal fee. In the summer, it is bursting with green. The fall offers a kaleidoscope of colors. My son and I see animals there a lot. They have a beaver pond. A short walk just before dusk will ensure a viewing (see my photo below!). It costs $5 to get in unless you're a member. I know people don't feel like they should have to pay to be outdoors, but it's a good cause and helps maintain the grounds. It's also good to have the office there to check in with and leave the make and model of your car. The place is big and getting lost (or injured) is possible. It's good to have the staff as a safety net (cell reception here can be thready.)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buskahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pleasant Valley Sanctuary also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Pleasant Valley Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing