We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run from Econo Lodges!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Lenox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnuson Hotel Lenox
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Run from Econo Lodges!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This was not quite as tired as Shelburne but it is kind of scary as far as feeling safe in a room. The door appeared to have been kicked in at some point, the smoke alarm fell off the wall and just missed hitting me. There were spiders in one of the beds-not sure what kind as if it matters !
The managers and limited staff were very nice, how difficult it must be to work in a place this dreary and run down. Our last Econo Lodge, ever! We left the Berkshires a day early just to get out of that Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    19
    23
    37
See reviews for
42
45
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I do not regularly give this rating but in this case it is well deserved.

We recently planned a trip to Tanglewood with four other couples. We were somewhat late (several months ahead) in securing lodging and the options were limited. We found that rooms were available at the Econ Lodge. I would never consider staying here again.

All aspects of the one night stay were distressing. Check in was difficult. The room was not completely clean. There were broken furniture and items that did not work properly. The breakfast buffet was dismal.

Given the lack of rooms in the area we were able to procure this mess for $200 per night.

I would strongly caution anyone who is considering this place to look elsewhere. It would be better to travel a bit further than stay here. No question

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank th001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lenox hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Personnel have gone out of their way to ensure that our needs were met - every year!!! Yes, furnishings a bit dated but everything is immaculate and a wonderful value. Abundant flowers and enclosed greenspace for visiting and picnicking a wonderful plus. Breakfast better than antciapted. We'll return for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The workers were all very welcoming and hospitable. They all were sure to make sure that everything that I needed was available, and were sure to direct me in the right direction if it wasn't. They have great advice on dining in the area, and deals with local eateries that make your meal worth the price, as well as tasty. I definitely recommend to those in the area for the best for your money.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice room. Plenty of space. Swimming pool bonus. Waffles and eggs for breakfast. Getting more than just a continental meal. Friendly staff. Convenient to all Berkshire locations. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AW41478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland County, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This is our fourth year in Lenox for the Tanglewood Festival. We've been at this motel each time. NO PROBLEMS. t's just a nice clean, comfortable venue for a good night's sleep with a decent breakfast. Don't expect a $50 buffet, but it'll do and it'll save you the time and money for finding a diner. We've stayed at much better....but also at much worse. We recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank wis633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me,my husband and three kids were driving late and we were all very tired so we just stopped really quick to the first hotel in sight i do have to say the guy at the front desk was very helpful he didn't seem like a sarcastic person that just wanted to go straight home he was very sweet and kind.the room was very comfortable and the room smelled really nice.i have stayed in many hotels before and they all ways have this weird odor but i really liked because this one was nice and fresh the bathroom was very clean and the beds were nicely made a was very surprised how clean they were.the next morning it was a really hot day so we just decided to go in to the pool and i liked because the chlorine smell wasn't so strong in they were very clean there wasn't no glass on the floor or leaves in the pool everything here was wonderful i wish i could give it a higher rating!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
1.6 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.6 mi away
Wagon Wheel Motel
Wagon Wheel Motel
#11 of 14 in Lenox
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Lenox

Property: Magnuson Hotel Lenox
Address: 130 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2390 (Formerly Econo Lodge Lenox)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Lenox 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lenox Hotel Lenox
Lenox Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Lenox Mass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing