We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Comedy of errors” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel Lenox

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnuson Hotel Lenox
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
New York
Level Contributor
301 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Comedy of errors”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This motel is conveniently located on Rte 7, just north of the various performing arts venues in Lenox. The staff, though limited, is very pleasant and does their best to be helpful, but the facility itself has numerous problems. these are generally due to age. There are 2 floors, with outside walkways to the rooms. A good flight of steps to the second floor, to where you must carry your luggage. You walk on the path outside to the lobby, in a separate building, if you need anything.

The rooms are a decent size, and some have been a bit updated with new paint and new mattresses, but many still are waiting to have a facelift. the paint was peeling off on the wall over the window wall, the pictures were literally hung by some thread on the wall over the beds; it not only looked like they were going to fall; one did fall, landing on the top of the headrest. Fortunately, no one was in the bed at the time. Our mattresses are getting too soft and should be replaced. The room itself was pretty clean, but it was missing some of the "accessories,(hangars, no ironing board or iron on the holder"; the small coffee pot was quite dirty-with old, dried coffee in the pot and the coffeemaker, and missing most of the cups, etc. that go with it. The small fridge worked well, but is rather rusty inside.

The heater/ac units are individual for each room, which is nice for one to control just how you want it. The problem arises whenthey do not work properly. the newer ones don't give off enough heat to warm up the room in the cold, winter temps. We opted for a room with an older one because it gave off wonderful heat. the problem? The dial to control the temperature did not work. Either we had extremely high heat or no heat. Since it is very dry heat, we finally had to turn it on and off every 1/2 hour during the night. Rather a sleepless night that way.

In the morning, just as we were brushing teeth and about to shower, the front desk called to let us know they were turning off all water due to a leak somewhere in the system. Several hours later, they were still waiting for the repair to be completed. We tried to have the continental breakfast in the lobby, some luke warm coffee and tea with cereal or an english muffin, but it was too cold in there to eat. The temperature is just kept too low for us, even with our coats on.
We had to pack up and leave, in searchof a place to use a bathroom.

I would recommend waiting to try this motel. Perhaps, when the remainder of the complex is updated, and the weather is warmer, and the plumbing is fixed, this could be a pleasant overnight. For us, it truly was a comedy of errors.

Room Tip: Be sure to test heating unit and the beds before committing to the partiuclar room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    19
    23
    37
See reviews for
42
45
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We chose the Econolodge based on other reviews for a recent visit to the Lenox area. It's a good value; the rooms are comfortable but nothing spectacular. Really, just an average hotel but if all you need is a bed and shower and do not have high expectations you will be happy here. The room was clean enough but could use a good deep cleaning or some updating. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The location is a five minute drive to Kripalu, so if you are going there and don't want to pay the exorbitant prices for a room, I would highly recommend the Econolodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Papazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Amply spacious room, a huge and comfortable bed, clean, no-frills... perfectly adequate and satisfactory accommodations. Bathroom was clean and big enough, with sink area outside of the toilet/shower/tub area. No big, flat-screen TV but I rarely even turn the thing on, but it would have been a nice amenity to hook a laptop up to. I requested a room with a strong wi-fi signal and the gracious hostess hooked me up with a prime spot and I had a great online connection.

Breakfast was the standard Econo/Hojo style and really plenty good. The waffle maker worked great and I made a huge, perfect waffle with syrup - and there were cereals, bagels & cream cheese, hard-boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee, toast, milk... little bite size blueberry muffins... oatmeal packets! Great little self-service setup.

Lots of pluses, really. Plenty of parking, too. Only drawback was just a luck of the draw occurrence with a couple coming back to their room in the early morning hours talking as if it was high noon - alcohol will do that - but gratefully the ruckus didn't last long...

It's just a real short drive to the village center of Lenox, surprisingly and pleasingly close.

Wish it had been warmer to be able to use the nice pool I saw!

Save the nice views for a hike, and save a fortune by not staying in an expensive inn or B&B - you'll have a good stay here. Nothing fancy, but all you really need.

Room Tip: Top-level room provided a nice buffer from drive-ups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had family reunion in lenox are And we stay here at EconoLodge In Lenox MA .We had a such goodtime Hotel is clean very good ground Nice trees around near by every thing. Hotel staff very helpful. Also in morning they have good breakfast including hot boiled eggs make your oven waffle, that's great in morning We are so happy. We will be going back.Thank you

Room Tip: ask for room in back 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed hear while visiting my brother in Pittsfield. We stayed in a king suite and loved it. Yes it is and older motel originally a holiday inn when we stayed hear in 1977 and had an indoor pool. The location is good except you need to watch for traffic when leaving. Breakfast was good and the front desk was very helpfully. The outdoor pool and area is very well maintained. Regardless of other reviews I would have no problem staying again. Only question I have is what happen to the inside pool?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stay here for wedding That we need to go near by.ECONO LODGE was good choice for our group .They have good breakfast INCLUDING hot boiled EGGS, Make you own waffle.we realy enjoy staying at ECONO LODGE
Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice EconoLodge in Lenox MA Near all the Berkshires attractions. Nice, comfortable and Clean room wirh garden view. They have good breakfast in the morning and very clean out door Pool. Very friendly front desk staff, they helped us with smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
1.6 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Lenox
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.6 mi away
Wagon Wheel Motel
Wagon Wheel Motel
#11 of 14 in Lenox
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Lenox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Lenox

Property: Magnuson Hotel Lenox
Address: 130 Pittsfield Rd, Lenox, MA 01240-2390 (Formerly Econo Lodge Lenox)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Lenox 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Lenox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lenox Hotel Lenox
Lenox Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Lenox Mass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing