We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generous hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Generous hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

I had a wonderful weekend stay at the Kemble Inn. I highly recommend it! Comfortable rooms, superb location, modern decor, beautiful setting, great breakfast, attentive staff, etc., etc., etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grotonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    39
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
151
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Innkeeper Scott could not have been more perfectly hospitable for our weekend stay--a bunch of friends celebrating a 40th birthday. He was always helpful but never intrusive, and created just the right atmosphere for our gathering. Breakfast was incredible. Location was perfect. Yard & view are gorgeous. Rooms were spotless and lovely. This is New England charm with a cleaner, more modern touch. Just be prepared for the occasional eccentric detail--for example, our room (admittedly one at the lower end of the price range) had no real closet!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterMom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Great location in downtown Lenox. Walk to town and an easy drive to points of interest in Stockbridge, Lee and the rest of the Berkshires. Beautiful old mansion that is being modernly updated with big screen TV's, new bedding, furniture, etc. Delicious, filling breakfast in the morning, pleasant staff. New ownership has a great vision for the place. It has a unique feel inside while the exterior remains quintessentially Berkshires. Overall good value. I've stayed at some older, stuffy inns in the area and appreciated the modern touches, cleanliness and luxuries of the Kemble.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nma1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We just spent three nights at the Kemble Inn, while attending my daughter's wedding at nearby Ventfort Hall, a Gilded Age Mansion. The Kemble Inn is also a mansion, with gorgeous back porch, lawn, and mountain view. We went with a large party of family and friends, and we were treated like royalty. The rooms are large, clean, and beauifully decorated, and the breakfasts were outstanding, different every morning. Best of all was the service. We were able to use the large, fireplaced living room every night to visit with friends. Though we didn't take over the whole inn it felt as if the living room was ours, and helpers at the inn built the fire every night and kept replenishing it. They also served free wine and snacks, and made us feel completely at home. A marvelous place--no complaints. The inn is being refurbished but is already delightful. We look forward to going again. We've been going to the Berkshires for thirty years, and this is the best place we've stayed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you want a getaway in the Berkshires where you plan to be out & about in the county but also want to relax in a quiet, scenic atmosphere, this is a great choice for where to stay. The Kemble Inn is a beautiful mansion located two blocks from the town square--walking distance to all the Main/Church Street restaurants and shops. There is a back porch with a beautiful view, perfect for reading and writing. Our room was a bit plain and could use some updates in lighting and bathroom fixtures, but was very comfortable, with a lovely view of the backyard and mountains. The breakfast, served a long dining room table, was elegant and delicious--a buffet with homemade muffins, breads and quiches/omlettes. As others have mentioned, they have new owners and renovations are being done soon, so the room will be better. Great, friendly staff. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

First off the place presents itself very well from pulling in the cirular drive to the second you open the front door. A grand front hall with a beautifull staircase and crystal chandelier - but with a welcome modern twist, clean, crisp and very nicely done. The Innkeepers are really clearly going out of there way to paying attention to the little things that make a stay in such a place enjoyable. Space to do your thing, and at the same time very attentive. Location to downtown Lenox is perfect -and after a day of walking around checking out the shops-whats better than coming back to a fire, a glass of wine and some nice snacks before dinner. I wish the new owners the best of luck with there future plans for the place -which sound fantastic! Thank you and see you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skylark71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

I brought 10 friends to the Kemble Inn to celebrate my 40th birthday. Scott (the innkeeper) was lowkey and attentive at the same time, which I appreciated. He served us complimentary wine each night we were there, plus appetizers and a champagne toast. The inn appears to be being renovated from the ground floor up. A few friends stayed on the third floor and there the rooms were dated and one had a stained carpet. The others were lovely. Breakfast was yummy; we all sat with formal place settings at one large table you share with everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenox hotels
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Property: The Kemble Inn
Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing