We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Inn, Amazing staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cozy Inn, Amazing staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights here leading into Christmas. Having spent a lot of time in the area in the summer, it seemed the perfect near-but-far get away from the holiday craziness of NYC. The inn Is quite lovely, common areas comfortable, a very fine restaurant , and our room upgraded very nicely. Perfect location, easy walk into Lenox. What really made the stay special was the staff, all of whom were friendly, helpful, relaxed and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs. We had a great visit and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petermv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    39
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
148
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Impeccably clean, high quality funishings and fittings; just a wonderful inn in a modern style. So nice I held my wedding there; so nice that I thought my room there was nicer than at a Ritz the next night.

Note that the in has an in-town location, so it's not the most rural feel, but there are pluses to that too; Lenox has several nice restaurants / shops, and you can easily walk from the inn to dinner, even if you choose to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dzop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great barrington, mass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal with a lovely view on a lovely new England thanksgiving day in the Kemble Inn's formal dining room.

We basked in a stunning view of the Taconic mountain range from our well appointed and spacious table, served by an attentive and always pleasant waitstaff.

We combined a crisp well balanced vin blanc with a well prepared three course traditional Thanksgiving dinner. Our meal was well paced with no rushing. Feeling traditional ourselves we dined on crabcakes to start, filled ourselves with turkey and all the trimmings, and then finished with seasonal tarts.
All were well flavored and more than generous portions.

We concluded our afternoon in the lounge relaxing to piano music and cognac by a roaring fireplace.

We have often savored the inn's hospitality during the festive summer season, but we especially enjoyed the combination of holiday elegance with New England autumn coziness.

we left with our gift of biscotti sated but not stuffed; appreciative of all the efforts expended to make our holiday comfortable as well as memorable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a great time in our stay at the Kimble inn. The accommodations were great, the staff was exceptional, and the food at Table was terrific. Honeslty, the highlight was the congenial and professional manner of the staff. From the time we arrived until we left we we made to feel at home. We will most certainly return!

Chris L

Room Tip: I would go for one of the mountain view rooms on the 2nd floor, away from the stairs it is a bit qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, General Manager at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Chris - Thank you so much! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return!

Best,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Though I usually come to the Berkshires for pleasure, this time it was for business. I was looking for a place that would make my client feel comfortable and cared for so we could have a productive time working together. I couldn't have chosen a better place! Not only is the interior design spectacular -- both modern and classic at the same time -- but the rooms are beautifully appointed, spacious, and comfortable. The radiant heating on the bathroom floors was an especially nice touch. And having drinks by the roaring fire in the piano lounge was incredibly relaxing. We also dined at the in-house Table Six, which was excellent. But what really makes the Kemble Inn extraordinary is the professional, attentive service. The staff was caring, willing to accommodate our needs, and was always positive. I will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a spectacular view, choose a room on the mountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, General Manager at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Diane -

It was such a pleasure hosting you and your client at the Inn, and am happy your workshop was such a success. I am looking forward to working with you more in the future! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Best,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I had a most delightful getaway weekend at the Kemble Inn. The inn is absolutely beautiful, and we were lucky enough to get a room with 2 fireplaces and a jacuzzi. The staff could not do enough for us and the breakfast was amazing. I can't wait for our next visit so we can have dinner at Table 6. The inn is conveniently located within walking distance to downtown Lenox. We are looking forward to returning next fall but will book a little earlier so that we can enjoy 'leaf' season in all its glory. Many thanks to Jessica and the rest of the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, General Manager at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
It was great to have you at the Inn and look forward to the next time you are back with us! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Best,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The accommodations, food, staff, and service could not have been better. From the time we walked in the door on Friday afternoon everyone could not have been nicer to us. I have stayed in other B&Bs in the Berkshires and nothing as good as this. Very much a luxury Inn. The piano lounge area was fantastic. Sitting by the fire, listening to the piano being played, sipping wine. Dinner at Table Six was outstanding and the Chef takes great pride in not only the quality of the food but in the presentation and service. He also takes a real interest in the guests he is serving. Breakfast in the morning was amazing as well. The room was beautifully appointed, clean, well maintained. It felt more like a 5 star hotel room than a country Inn. And I cannot emphasize enough how gracious, professional, and friendly all the staff were during our stay. Jessica, in particullar went above and beyond in every way to make sure my family and I had an amazing experience at the Kemle Inn.

Room Tip: I hate to give a tip on this because I love the rooms so much but 204,203,202 are all fantastic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJENYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, General Manager at The Kemble Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We loved having you and your family at the Inn! It was such a pleasure getting to know all of you and we are looking forward to your return - which is not too far away! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. We will see you soon.

Best,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenox hotels
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
3.5 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.2 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#2 of 20 in Lenox
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Property: The Kemble Inn
Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing