We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loving it everytime!”
Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed again in September and had a lovely time. The terrace outside is fabulous. It's amazing to witness the transformation of the inn.

We stayed on the third floor this time due to availability. I'll admit that the rooms aren't as great as the second floor but I cant really complain because the price reflected that. A lot of the renovations that were done this year were to the second floor. I can't wait to see what the owner plans for the other rooms.

The service was great as usual and they remembered us from our last visit which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChemEngGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks so much. It was great seeing you again. We always appreciate our guests who enjoy everything we offer and understand that we provide so many unique and special options while being a work in progress.

See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 254 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at many different B & Bs over the years and were looking forward to our stay. Our room was pleasant, but the bed left a lot to be desired. Foam pillows were tacky and not very comfortable. We requested wood for our fireplace, but declined to use it when we learned that it was a $35 surcharge. Very tacky - we have never experienced this at any other B & B. Bathroom needs a total makeover - the small fiberglass shower with plastic curtain was really unappealing and the pressed-board shelving was stained and falling apart. Linoleum floors were something one would expect to see in a cheap motel. Dinner menu was limited and wine list was terribly uninteresting. Portions were huge and unappealing. Breakfast menu was better, but not very imaginative. Too much Ralph Lauren when the coffee mugs are RL advertisements! Service was friendly and outside grounds are lovely.

Room Tip: Old inns tend to have creaky floors, so that is an expected bit of noise. We chose our room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Susan.

It sounds like you know a lot about B&B’s so you know it does take time and a huge investment of money and more to fully restore a gorgeous 1800’s mansion into the perfect spot for today’s modern traveler. Room 102 is a favorite of some of our most treasured guests who need handicapped accessible room and bath. It does have one of the not yet renovated baths.

We started renovations on the whole mansion just two years ago and, in addition to working on every room of common areas, restaurant and grounds for all our guests to enjoy, we have been able to fully renovate most of the bathrooms on the second floor up until this point. Not perfect yet, but we are working towards that daily.

We are sorry several of the things we offer weren’t up to your expectations. We do aim to create realistic expectations for our guests which is why pictures and detailed descriptions of the rooms as well as our Chef’s menus, which most people rave about, are on our site.

We hope you will come back and visit us again. Like many of our returning guests, you will likely see more and more improvements as time goes on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Kemble Inn and it was so perfect! We loved our room and had a fire every night in the fireplace (they did it for us) very romantic. Our room had been totally renovated and the spa tub was super! They do need to add a window shade in the bathroom :>)
The grounds and location are perfect and the staff could not have been better.
Breakfast was wonderful. Choices were good and the service was very good as well.
We hope to go back in the spring, as the fall was gorgeous! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi J and MCD:

We enjoyed your visit too and loved how you spent romantic evenings each night in front of your fireplace. Guess what - beautiful shutters were installed in that bathroom yesterday. When you visit us next time you’ll see.

Glad your stay was special. It was our pleasure to help make it that way for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were lucky to have made the spur of the moment decision to stay at The Kemble. The property is beautiful, and you cannot beat the location! Our second floor room was large, clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. We're hoping that the recent renovations and upgrades will soon extend to the bathroom, which is need of more than a little TLC. Those improvements would make The Kemble just about perfect. The staff is helpful and friendly. (Thanks, Camillo, for laying such a nice fire for us!). Breakfast was more than we were expecting, and the best possible way to begin our perfect Berkshire day. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank toriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We so appreciate your note. We’ve worked hard to create a unique, caring and comfortable place for our guests to enjoy. Thank you for understanding that. We still have more to go, but as we complete renovations, our bathrooms are top of the line with heated floors, waterworks showers, some jacuzzis....

Hopefully, as you say, when you return even more upgrades will have been implemented. At the rate we are going, constantly putting more care and attention on those details, in all likelihood, that will be the case.

Thanks again for writing. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful yet, not-too-precious.

We returned for our 2nd stay at the Kemble .We had been guests, pre- renovations, in the spring and wanted to see what they had done. Lovely staff, we met Camillo , the new House Manger, who was attentive and delightful. He is an asset and will likely be able to see the Inn throughout its next transitional stages.

Our only complaints: #301 and Muzak in dining Room.

Due to a wedding, the Inn was booked but for room #301. This room was not up to the rest of the Inns standards, in any way. The ceilings, due to slanted configurations and likely historic building limits on what they can do, impedes normal range of motion (and standing)! We hit our head several times and mattress was old, uncomfortable sweeps in center, not pretty linens as is the norm throughout the rest of rooms we saw-It was average, bordering on a depressing room. Very disappointing. rugs was stained.

They might want to consider taking the 3rd floor off until its properly renovated. Camillo was open to suggestions, non-defensive, and upgraded us when our previous rm on 2nd floor became available. This was appreciated and renewed our enthusiasm for the place!

Breakfasts are so very nice, great pancakes. Nice quiet environment. We were happy to see Paul, our server, whom we had met last spring. He was again, gracious and shared his unique experience of the area. He couldn't have been more helpful offering to research horseback riding places for us. We'll miss him.

The best surprise was the restaurant: TopsI 'm a vegetarian and a lovely and interesting plate was created-Rivaled Grammercy Tavern in Manhattan. Cocktails were terrific ( Try the Falling Pear) , Josh, our server also a doll, great.

Our only issue was the odd selection of music: cheezy muzak streamed into dining room playing Madonna and Abba. It was rather funny, yet they can find better choices.

The restaurant could become a destination.

We had a wonderful weekend and became engaged-the only positive association to room #301!

We look forward to returning for Thanksgiving weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor until they complete renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Congratulations on becoming engaged at the Kemble Inn! We enjoyed having you stay with us and are happy to be part of such a happy occasion. With just 13 rooms (12 in winter) we may have less choice for guests coming from out of town when a wedding party is staying with us. Yes, some third floor rooms are much more ‘cozy’ than our more grand second floor room, as we explained to you when you called.

We love seeing returning guests, like you, and are glad we could put you in a second floor room when it became available.

It is great that you will be joining us again on Thanksgiving weekend to enjoy more of our delicious fare. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had such a nice impression. We were welcomed in a very friendly manner. Our room was bigger than what we expected from the website. We had reserved one night but quickly decided to spend two. Because their restaurant was closed the days we were there we asked for a recommendation and Anna Lisa went out of her way to find us a great restaurant in town. Close to town, everything is walk able. I found the heated bathroom floor very pleasant. The coffee was better than the average. An interesting place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHOCOLATBLANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thanks for visiting with us! We are so happy you decided to stay another night. That is the best compliment we can get. It is true, we are so close to everything yet you feel like you are in the country. Glad you enjoyed that aspect of our Inn as well as the heated floors! Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had such high hopes (perhaps too high) but at best the Inn was only OK. Noticeable maintence issues, uninterested service (except Camillo) and Breakfasts of no special Quality.
Hotel Advertises "Ralph Lauren Style in Lenox". Most likely Ralph Lauren drove by but didn't stop when he saw the prices.

Room Tip: avoid the 3rd floor rooms if you have to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Howard,
We enjoyed hosting you and the whole wedding party that stayed with us, giving the bride and groom, and many of their guests a vibrantly-decorated gilded mansion of their own for the weekend. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as other people that weekend. Certainly there are many choices of where to stay in Lenox. Our prices, many say, are very reasonable compared to some of the other local options. The room you stayed in looks out on the Berkshire mountains and is one of our most popular. We hope you enjoyed that spectacular view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenox hotels
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#6 of 16 in Lenox
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Gateways Inn
Gateways Inn
#2 of 20 in Lenox
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $341 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing