We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend : Great Chef for Vegetarians!”
Review of The Kemble Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kemble Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Beautiful yet, not-too-precious.

We returned for our 2nd stay at the Kemble .We had been guests, pre- renovations, in the spring and wanted to see what they had done. Lovely staff, we met Camillo , the new House Manger, who was attentive and delightful. He is an asset and will likely be able to see the Inn throughout its next transitional stages.

Our only complaints: #301 and Muzak in dining Room.

Due to a wedding, the Inn was booked but for room #301. This room was not up to the rest of the Inns standards, in any way. The ceilings, due to slanted configurations and likely historic building limits on what they can do, impedes normal range of motion (and standing)! We hit our head several times and mattress was old, uncomfortable sweeps in center, not pretty linens as is the norm throughout the rest of rooms we saw-It was average, bordering on a depressing room. Very disappointing. rugs was stained.

They might want to consider taking the 3rd floor off until its properly renovated. Camillo was open to suggestions, non-defensive, and upgraded us when our previous rm on 2nd floor became available. This was appreciated and renewed our enthusiasm for the place!

Breakfasts are so very nice, great pancakes. Nice quiet environment. We were happy to see Paul, our server, whom we had met last spring. He was again, gracious and shared his unique experience of the area. He couldn't have been more helpful offering to research horseback riding places for us. We'll miss him.

The best surprise was the restaurant: TopsI 'm a vegetarian and a lovely and interesting plate was created-Rivaled Grammercy Tavern in Manhattan. Cocktails were terrific ( Try the Falling Pear) , Josh, our server also a doll, great.

Our only issue was the odd selection of music: cheezy muzak streamed into dining room playing Madonna and Abba. It was rather funny, yet they can find better choices.

The restaurant could become a destination.

We had a wonderful weekend and became engaged-the only positive association to room #301!

We look forward to returning for Thanksgiving weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor until they complete renovations.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottShortt, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Congratulations on becoming engaged at the Kemble Inn! We enjoyed having you stay with us and are happy to be part of such a happy occasion. With just 13 rooms (12 in winter) we may have less choice for guests coming from out of town when a wedding party is staying with us. Yes, some third floor rooms are much more ‘cozy’ than our more grand second floor room, as we explained to you when you called.

We love seeing returning guests, like you, and are glad we could put you in a second floor room when it became available.

It is great that you will be joining us again on Thanksgiving weekend to enjoy more of our delicious fare. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for The Kemble Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had such a nice impression. We were welcomed in a very friendly manner. Our room was bigger than what we expected from the website. We had reserved one night but quickly decided to spend two. Because their restaurant was closed the days we were there we asked for a recommendation and Anna Lisa went out of her way to find us a great restaurant in town. Close to town, everything is walk able. I found the heated bathroom floor very pleasant. The coffee was better than the average. An interesting place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHOCOLATBLANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thanks for visiting with us! We are so happy you decided to stay another night. That is the best compliment we can get. It is true, we are so close to everything yet you feel like you are in the country. Glad you enjoyed that aspect of our Inn as well as the heated floors! Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had such high hopes (perhaps too high) but at best the Inn was only OK. Noticeable maintence issues, uninterested service (except Camillo) and Breakfasts of no special Quality.
Hotel Advertises "Ralph Lauren Style in Lenox". Most likely Ralph Lauren drove by but didn't stop when he saw the prices.

Room Tip: avoid the 3rd floor rooms if you have to stay here
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Howard,
We enjoyed hosting you and the whole wedding party that stayed with us, giving the bride and groom, and many of their guests a vibrantly-decorated gilded mansion of their own for the weekend. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as other people that weekend. Certainly there are many choices of where to stay in Lenox. Our prices, many say, are very reasonable compared to some of the other local options. The room you stayed in looks out on the Berkshire mountains and is one of our most popular. We hope you enjoyed that spectacular view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were in Lenox for a wedding, which was as perfect as we had expected EXCEPT for the Kemble inn. Overpriced, under cleaned ( room 301 had dirty carpet and an unidentified object under the bed) with a bedpost that came off on touch. And my husband hit his head 5 times on the sloped ceiling. The service was indifferent with the exception of Camillo. Too many rules and not the kind of welcome imagined. No elevator.
Noisy. And no return for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Ellen,

It certainly sounded like the wedding you attended was perfect. We were glad to be a small part of it by hosting you, the bride and groom and many guests of the wedding party. When we exclusively rent out the whole house, which we happily do often for bridal parties, family reunions or groups of friends, all rooms are occupied and everyone gets to enjoy the whole house to themselves – as your party did.

It is true that our third floor rooms which are under the eaves, are included in the room block. Pictures of our rooms are online so everyone has clear expectations of their rooms. When we book individual rooms directly, we go through the benefits of each room with the person on the phone, being sure to explain that there are eaves in the third floor rooms and at this time, no elevator. Because guests were assigned rooms under the contract with the bride and groom, we are sorry you didn’t get the benefit of that explanation beforehand. Perhaps your stay would have been better, as many people love the charm and privacy of our third floor rooms. Thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Kemble Inn in late August 2012 for two nights and our experience was very pleasant. The Inn has undergone a massive renovation, and offers spacious, well priced, and very clean accommodation for travelers to Tarrytown. The staff were very helpful, breakfasts were huge and a visit to their restaurant is a must. It is obvious that a lot of effort and attention to detail were put in to the rejuvenation of the inn and the owners' vision for the future, and for us it was an experience to remember. Would definitely go back there again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarronea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you appreciate all that has gone into renovating our property. It absolutely needed updating back to its original grandeur and decorating to give it a modern flair. It has been a labor of love. We will continue to work towards making the future vision a reality – a pool and spa in a few years? We are glad you will be back to share the excitement with us here in Lenox.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Last night we had a cocktail and hors d'ouevres reception before our friends' wedding. It was everything the lot of us expected and more! The inn was gracious enough to allow our friends to rename their own cocktail list with funny titles for each drink that had a movie theme. What fun! I believe his name is Jason (not exactly sure, something with a J) , however, he made the tastiest drink called "You're Doing It Wrong!" (Prosecco, Framboise Liquer, and fresh raspberrries)....simply divine. The chef Jonathon prepared unique and flavorful food that I would be offered at any 5 star hotel back in Manhattan. The inn keeper Scott was present the entire evening which was a lovely touch of Berkshire hospitality. The inn has it's own classic Berkshire hills and manicured grounds view that really set the scene for the evening. Everything was amazing, I can't wait to return to Lenox and have dinner in their intimate dining room!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Laura,

Weren’t those cocktails fun! We enjoyed making them especially for the wedding party too. We are so glad you enjoyed Chef Johnathan’s cooking. Our guests benefit from his time at top restaurants in Manhattan (Daniel, Jean George, City Hall) – so you are right – we get to enjoy that level of gourmet food right here in Lenox all year round! That is a welcome treat to many living here and, like you, coming back to visit us. Thanks for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've been coming here for many years and this is by far the nicest and best it's ever been. The new owner has done wonderful things to make this beautiful mansion warm and inviting. The new chef is excellent-the breakfasts and one dinner we had couldn't have been better. The staff were attentive to our needs and very helpful and accomodating. I highly recommend staying here for anyone coming to Lenox.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhylandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kembleinn, Owner at The Kemble Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Phyllis,

It is always great for us to have return guests like you and your husband who are able to enjoy the continued improvements we are making to Kemble Inn and Restaurant. The colors and décor were chosen to create a unique, welcoming and vibrant alternative to other more Victorian-era Inns here in Lenox. We are glad you agree the Inn is inviting and warm. Thanks for joining us for the special three-course dinner Chef Johnathan prepared, as well as your made-to-order breakfast that was included in your room. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.5 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
566 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kemble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kemble Inn

Address: 2 Kemble St, Lenox, MA 01240-2813
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $434 - $670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kemble Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a Gilded Age mansion with a modern heart and stunning mountain views, Kemble Inn offers a 12-room retreat with a one-of-a-kind experience. Guests find sanctuary in contemporary styled rooms, savor expertly prepared seasonal cuisine at our on-site restaurant, Table Six, and with our central location, make the most of the cultural offerings and activities in the Berkshires. Our Classic American restaurant, Table Six, is helmed by former White House Chef, Ron Reda and serves expertly prepared seasonal cuisine. Come enjoy White House dining style in the heart of the Berkshires. Your Kemble Inn experience includes the following: New York Times rated “Best Breakfast in the Berkshires” Individually Controlled Thermostat En-suite Bathrooms with heated floors, two with Jacuzzi Tubs Free Wi-Fi HD Flat-Screen TVs w/ Free On-demand movies iPod Docks Complimentary Newspaper Complimentary Self-Parking Housekeeping Service Luxury Linens Luxury Bath Products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kemble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kemble Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing