We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a renovation, chef and cleaning person”
Review of Whistler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whistler's Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed here due to the Inn's close proximity to Tanglewood. We stayed in the Captain's Room, which we were told ahead of time is very small. The size of the room was indeed small, but that was not the issue. The walls were so soft in some spots due to water damage, that the wallpaper no longer stuck to it, and there were spots of mold growing on the walls. The one window in the room had such a flithy window treatment that it had become stained a brownish yellow. The very nice oak chest of drawers was dingy on the surface as well. The bathroom was tiled, and in need of a good scrubbing. The towels were thin, small and none too plentiful. The remainder of the home was dusty and full of cobwebs. Just generally dirty. As for breakfast - we were told that it was served from 8:30 am to 10:30 am. We sat to eat at around 9:15 am. There were an assortment of store bought coffee cakes, bagels, cereals and english muffins (that you had to stand and toast yourself) and very few home-cooked choices....some hard boiled eggs that we had to crack ourselves, and what hot entrees that were served (only 2), were cold by the time we got there. And by the way, it was served buffet style.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbb258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardchasemears, Manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2010

Ever so often we have will have a day when the sun is not shining.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

I stayed at the Whistler's Inn for 4 days, and found it to be an interesting place. My husband and I enjoy staying at B&Bs, and have stayed at many, both large and small. Whistler's is a large B&B with two buildings and many rooms. It is in a large house which is filled with antiques, books and artwork. It's location is good, it is walking distance to restaurants and shops in the town of Lenox, and centrally located to most of the attractions in the Berkshires. The owners are friendly and were willing to answer questions about activities in the area.
However, there are several drawbacks at this Inn. First of all, we felt that we did not get a good value here--one of the most important features of staying at a B&B is the breakfast--this place did not score well. The breakfast was a buffet, mostly coffee cakes, some homemade, boxed cereals, and wasn't well presented. Tupperware covers over the dishes doesn't mix well with elegant antiques. The silverware was put into a drawer organizer on the table. The china looked like it came from a garage sale. Every other B&B we have stayed at featured a hot, cooked breakfast, which was served.
The rooms were small, ours was so small that there was no place to sit except for the bed. We had to use the two chairs in the room to put our luggage--there wasn't any space on the floor. The bathroom was also small, and the fixtures were old, not antiques, but from the 60's. The bed linens looked worn, the towels were thin and not too plentiful. We do not mind paying a lot for a place where we get a good value but Whistler's is expensive--and not worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Almagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rchardchasemears, manager at Whistler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2009

Whistler's Inn is an old old English Tudor manor house which keeps the antiquity of an era gone by. Some people don't like antiques. Some people don't like museums. Many people can not discuss the history of this great country. If you like antiques, art, literature and the history of this USA you will love Whistler's Inn. The owner Richard Chase Mears is an American novelist. Richardchasemears.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

This is an old property, but it is very clean and spacious, with a grand piano, lots of books, and an outdoor patio facing the afternoon sun. The innkeepers were very pleasant. When I mentioned that the reservation rate quoted by Expedia was less than the rate on their web site, they honored the lower rate. We stayed in Mr Whistler's room, which was $225. It was very large and easily accommodated a small roll in bed for our daughter (expect a small charge for the extra person). We mentioned an interest in using the fireplace and Lisa checked to see that the flue was open. When we returned from dinner there was a duraflame log ready for us to light. The inn is a short walk from the center of Lenox, which is very convenient. At breakfast, the innkeepers shared stories about the house and the town. They were very engaged in conversation with the guests, and one even went into intimate territory, waxing poetic about their choice for presidential nominee.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InMyOwnWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

The owners are very nice, and the location is great. Unfortunately, the inn really needs help. As soon as you approach the main entrance, there is must odor and common rooms -- while nicely appointed -- feel much like grandma's house. The room we stayed in had a bathroom that forced you to literally duck your head when using the toilet. The decor was very tired and felt cheap. There are many beautiful inns in Lenox, and this one has the potential to be great -- but it desperately needs to be updated.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank marsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

My husband and I travel extensively and prefer staying in B & B's because of their warm, hospitable atmosphere. Whistler's Inn was a real disappointment. We had expected a charming, elegant inn. Instead we found the public rooms dark and musty smelling, and the inn keepers anything but cordial. Because of a mix-up on their part, we did not receive the room we had booked; Mrs. Whistler's boudoir. At the buffet breakfast, we were totally ignored by our host. We will definitely look for another inn when we return to the Berkshires.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank tlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

When making the reservation, the inn indicated that several rooms were available, including a relatively new room in the owner's building with a queen bed. This sounded nice, so we booked it.

Upon arrival, we were shocked to find that the "bed" was actually a sofa bed. It's incredible that an establishment would make such a material omission. We were pretty tired from the ride and decided to give it a shot. The next morning, after a not so pleasant night of sleep, we mentioned to the staff that we were not told when making a reservation that it was a sofa bed and that we would like to see other rooms that were available. We were simply told that all of the other rooms were booked. Not a word of apology or offer to make an adjustment on the bill.

The breakfast was nothing special - mostly an assortment of various pastries that you could probably pick up at the bakery section of your local grocery. The glasses for the juice were about the size of two shot glasses, which meant that you had to repeatedly get up to fill the glass. Perhaps the inn is looking to discourage guests from drinking too much juice?

Would not stay here again, even in a room with an actual bed.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123rep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

I stayed here with my fiancee for one night in June 2007. On arrival, the hosts did not seem very excited or welcoming and gave a very cursory tour of the house. Our room was VERY small, had a broken lamp and broken toilet, and clearly had not been redecorated in at least 20 years. The window in the bedroom also did not have a curtain -- so anyone driving by on the street could look in.

When we arrived at breakfast -- served from 830-1030, we arrived at 945 -- there was very little food left. They only had some pastries, cereal, and english muffins. No juice, eggs, bacon, quiche, or anything. After eating a very meager breakfast of cereal and muffins, one of the hosts finally approached us and asked if we wanted her to make us some eggs -- AFTER we'd already eaten. We declined and left shortly thereafter.

This B&B was NOT worth the money! I felt completely ripped off.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allisonmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
2.9 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
589 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.1 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Lenox Berkshires
0.2 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 20 in Lenox
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler's Inn

Address: 5 Greenwood St, Lenox, MA 01240-2029
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range: $126 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whistler's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on The Travel Channel and Great Escapes, this 1820 English Tudor mansion in the heart of the Berkshires was once the home of the railroad tycoon Ross Wynans Whistler, nephew of the painter James M. Whistler. Close to Tanglewood and all major Berkshire cultural venues, Whistler's Inn captures the warmth and elegance of a bygone era. On six acres of gardens and woodlands and two blocks from the center of Lenox, this quiet antique and art-filled retreat has an extensive library and French music room with a Steinway grand piano. A buffet breakfast is served with recipes inspired by the cook's world travels (Spain, France, Israel, South America, Japan and Morocco). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whistler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler`s Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing