We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect addition to our wedding”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect addition to our wedding”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the wonderful Gateways Inn on multiple occasions over our 2 year engagement. Living in NYC but getting married in the Berkshires presented a whole set of issues and stress adding to normal wedding stress. We were not sure when we decided on the Berkshires for our wedding but decided the extra stress would be well worth it. We met the inn keepers Eiran and Michele through my future in laws who have been going to Lenox for years to enjoy the many plays and events that Lenox has to offer. I can whole heartedly say that with out the help of these two wonderful people our wedding would not have been the event that it was. They stepped up to assist us at every turn, and when things took some major unexpected turns and we lost our venue months before our wedding, Eiran and Michele stepped in immediately after hearing this and set up multiple other tours. They helped with everything, I mean everything to make sure our wedding weekend was perfect.
We were fortunate enough to be able to hold our Friday night welcome party at the Gateways Inn with Michelle catering the entire event. Being a Chef myself food is obviously very important to me, well, she delivered with food that any upscale NYC restaurant would fight to have. It was delicious! The bartenders were amazing as well, personable, professional, and knowledgeable. Not to mention the astounding fine scotch collection they have. We reserved the entire Inn for the weekend to give our guests a place to stay and they all informed us that the rooms were clean, comfortable, and had a great nights sleep. People especially commented on the special touches- the Keurigs, for example- and how beautiful the rooms were. All of this we obviously knew from the countless nights we spent in the Inn prior to our wedding weekend. We had the pleasure of staying in various rooms as well, all of which were just great. Each room is named after a Shakespearean character which gives the rooms a little extra instead of "oh room 3 or 4". We enjoyed trying out different rooms when we had the chance, as each is different and have their own unique 'feel' (not a bad room in the house!). The rest of the staff were so helpful and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure our guests had a great experience. The homemade breakfasts especially were a big hit as well! We thoroughly enjoyed them, as did our guests (who couldn't get enough of the amazing food... Or the fact that Michele makes everything herself).
From the bottom of my heart I want to thank Eiran and Michele for making our wedding an event we will never forget!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
215
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights as part of a family wedding and enjoyed the B&B thoroughly. The room was good sized, clean, comfortable, with a clean private bath. Breakfast had great choice, variety, and was delicious. The staff made us feel at home. The ambience and architecture was extremely pleasant. We could easily walk anywhere in town. They had entertainment at night and a full service bar. The B&B contributed greatly to our wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay at the Gateways Inn last May. It was fantastic. We have stayed in many inns, but this one definitely has the most historic feel to it. The classic architecture of the entryway makes you feel as if you are in a movie set in the 1920's. The food is amazing, the innkeepers are very hospitable and knowledgeable of the area, and the beds & super soft! We can't say enough good things about this inn...and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Berkshires!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chibi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend stay, accompanied by friends, in this lovely inn. The "Gilded Age summer home" is beautiful and the food excellent, but the major asset is the hosts. They are genuinely warm, and there was no snobbery or sense of B&B-type regimentation, but with all the positive intimacy of a B&B.

Breakfasts and dinners are excellent, with a hot dish at breakfast, as well as fruits, cheeses, juice; several fish dishes on the weekend. Terrific steak at dinner.

We will now make this our default location in Lenox on our yearly trips, and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We love the Gateways Inn.It is a spacious, clean, comfortable place to stay in Lenox. You can walk to the Shakespeare and Company play houses and it is 1.2 miles from Tanglewood. Also an easy walk to downtown restaurants although their own restaurant is very good..
We particularly like to come to the Gateways lounge and their beautiful bar after theater and enjoy some great Jazz music and a light snack. This rounds out the evening nicely.
Since I enjoy single malt scotches, their selection of a couple of hundred single malt scotches and a couple of dozen Grappas provides a unique tasting experience.. I have never been to a place with such a broad selection of these two liquors.
Michelle handles breakfast which is always a treat. Best breakfast in town. We even come up in the fall and winter. I recommend Gateways to all of my friends which is a double-edged sword as it is not always easy to get a room.
Here is a tip. Sometimes the website will show them to be fully booked. If you call an speak to Eiran, they will occasionally have a late cancellation and you can slip in. Since we are spur of the moment people this has proved helpful as it did on August 2nd , our annivaersary , when we decided, at the last minute, to go to Lenox for the night for opening night of Mother Courage. A call to Eiran found an open night in the Miranda room which was a special treat for sure.
Vince and Mary Kay
Branford CT

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are 'hotel' people, Marriott, Hilton et al, so when decided on a night at the Gateways, we really did not know what to expect. This beautiful inn was wonderfully located, warmly inviting, and just seemed to get better as our short stay progressed. The bar was beautiful, and pleasantly situated between the piano room and the restaurant. Our waitress, Hannah, was simply exceptional. We enjoyed two meals, dinner and breakfast. The dinner menu was engaging and innovative - and delicious. The homemade treats for breakfast were just that - treats. The granola was wonderful. The warmest part though, was the welcome provided by Michelle, Eiran and their staff. It was so personal, and I guess that is what differentiates the Gateways from all the other Chains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerandReenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great Inn located in top spot in Lenox. Nice stateley former summer home of Procter (of Procter & Gamble). SUper clean room & shower. We had the smallest room (cozy) which indeed was cozy, but big enough. Minor point was airco didnt go below 70', but was good enough. Best thing was the breakfast with fresh OJ, terrific fish dishes one day and great cheeses. Other daywas nice bread etc. THe lady of the Inn does a lot of homecooking and it really shows. HAts off to the owners who really do a splendid job. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jverhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
552 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing