We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant without stuffiness”
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Elegant without stuffiness”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I previously enjoyed cocktails and small plates at this inn after a concert last summer, but had not stayed at the inn overnight. We happened upon a chance to spend two lovely evenings here in May and were treated like old friends. Michele and Eiran are warm and friendly, totally engaging, and super involved owners and hosts. They truly strive to make your stay enjoyable. Unlike some establishments which feel like museums or libraries, they want you to enjoy the look and feel of the building, furnishings, and ambiance. They want you to be comfortable and relaxed. Our breakfasts were wonderful with superb blueberry pancakes one morning and a tasty, tall, vegetable packed fritatta the next, as well as delicious housemade granola and all the fixings. We ate dinner one evening which was outstanding as well. The spinach crepe appetizer was delicious as was the evening special, veal osso bucco.

Thank you for a lovely time and we can hardly wait to stay again in August.

Room Tip: The bed in our room was a tad tall for my liking but my spouse was happy to give a boost up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
214
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It is difficult to find enough superlatives to describe the Inn. It is beautiful to look at, has a wonderful location in the heart of Lenox, has breakfasts to die for and certainly not least, wonderful hosts Michelle and Eiran. Michelle's fruit pancakes were so yummy as was the asparagus/brie omelette and vegetable frittata. Don't miss out on the granola, it is a feast in itself and we even brought two jars home with us. The singer and pianist in the Piano Bar on Thursday evening were remarkably good as was the bar food.
We will have to return soon as Michelle has promised to refill our granola jars. Thanks so much for a delightful mini vacation.
Helen and Colin
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent a relaxing and enjoyable weekend at Gateways and have already booked for another for Memorial Day weekend. I most appreciated how every effort was made to make my stay comfortable, pleasurable, and enriching. The owners/hosts were most informative and helpful in not only letting me know about worthwhile things to do but the easiest way to get to places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were given a gift certificate by our children and it turned Out to be a double treat. The ride, the inn, the owners, the room, the ambiance, the trio that played and sang, the piano player all made for a surprising wonderful and memorable mini vacation. Owe thanks to all for making good memories. The inn is located in a great location, lots to walk to and see and/or buy. The innkeepers make you comfortable and feel like family. The breakfasts are great and the restaurant is wonderful with great wines and excellent food. All in all a huge success and fabulous choice. Thanks all!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeeKogis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Upon arriving at the Gateway, we were warmly greeted by our first names and given a tour of the facilities by Michele. We were so impressed by the grace and dignity of the dining room, we went directly to our lovely room and cancelled our plans for the evening and made a reservation for dinner at the Gateway. Smart decision. We had a quiet drink at the bar, dressed for dinner and enjoyed a first class dinner with and adventurous bottle of wine. Would go back in a heartbeat. The quintessential "country" inn experience.

Mary & Richard

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I were in need of a last minute quick getaway and found everything we were looking for at the Gateways Inn. The inn keepers were very warm and welcoming. The room was comfortable and quite beautiful. The piano bar and live entertainment was a pleasant surprise and added to the sense that we were in another world. The location was perfect as it allowed us to walk to the local shops and to dinner. Breakfast was lovely. Overall we were very pleased and we will definitely return to the Gateways Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful albeit too brief overnight stay at the Gateway's. The Inn was absolutely charming, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Our thanks to Michelle for her warm hospitality and for being so accommodating to our needs. We certainly would highly recommend the Inn to our friends without reservation. Our thanks Richard and Laurie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
0.4 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
551 reviews
2.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#5 of 16 in Lenox
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Cornell Inn Lenox
Cornell Inn Lenox
#1 of 19 in Lenox
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing