We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a quick getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gateways Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Lenox B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sturbridge
1 review
“Perfect for a quick getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I were in need of a last minute quick getaway and found everything we were looking for at the Gateways Inn. The inn keepers were very warm and welcoming. The room was comfortable and quite beautiful. The piano bar and live entertainment was a pleasant surprise and added to the sense that we were in another world. The location was perfect as it allowed us to walk to the local shops and to dinner. Breakfast was lovely. Overall we were very pleased and we will definitely return to the Gateways Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
209
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful albeit too brief overnight stay at the Gateway's. The Inn was absolutely charming, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Our thanks to Michelle for her warm hospitality and for being so accommodating to our needs. We certainly would highly recommend the Inn to our friends without reservation. Our thanks Richard and Laurie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My friend and fellow yoga teacher and I were in Kripalu Yoga Center for a workshop and decided to stay at Gateway's Inn which I found on Trip Advisor! The Inn was as good as all the reviews said it would be---charming, beautifully decorated, comfortable, clean. Michelle was an especially welcoming and fun hostess. When she heard we could not have breakfast at the Inn since we were leaving for the Yoga Center too early in the mornng, she put delicious homemade granola, yogurt and fruit in our refrigerator so we could eat (very very early!) before our morning meditation session. I can't wait to come back with my husband very soon. I would highly recommend this Inn--one of the nicest places in which I have stayed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a fabulous weekend at Gateway’s. The location couldn’t be better; less than 2 miles to Tanglewood and a 3 minute walk to many creative shops. The inn itself is fantastic. Eiron, our innkeeper showed us to our room (Juliette) which was warm, charming and new. The bar is well stocked and well tended. The piano bar was our entertainment for two nights. The musicians were talented, creative and engaging. The highlight of our stay was the culinary weekend. It was fascinating to be part of a professional kitchen. Cain, the chef and Jeremy the sous chef were professional, friendly and exceedingly great teachers. Michelle our Innkeeper prepared the menus and spent much of the time with us as Master Chef. We prepared a 4 course lunch and a 5 course dinner. We, the students, measured, chopped, stirred, cooked and plated the meals. We thoroughly enjoyed finishing our meals with the excellent wine selections. Best of all, we learned some tips that we will use in our own kitchen forever.

I would summarize by saying that everyone we met there truly loved their job and wanted to make our experience the best possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudma54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

For my birthday weekend, my boyfriend planned a surprise getaway trip to the Berkshires. We are both familiar with and love enjoying time together in the area but this was our first time at the Gateways Inn. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner Eiran and I learned that not only would we be staying at this charming old Proctor mansion but that we would be taking part of a complete Italian culinary weekend! The weekend began with a tour from Eiran and an upgrade to a bigger room (how lovely!). The rooms were well appointed with all the charm you'd expect from a B&B. Our bathroom, which I tend to critique, was spacious, updated and most of all clean!

The weekend began with welcome drinks with another couple enjoying the culinary weekend and a greeting by Michele who is the other owner and Eiran's wife. She and her chef's prepared an indulgent dinner for us before we got to cooking the next day.

Saturday was full of cooking! We entered the world of Top Chef in their professional kitchen and learned how to chop, sauté, grill, bake etc. With the help of Michele and her chefs Cain and Jeremy, we prepared and ate two four course Italian meals with plenty of wine flowing. While not everyone will enroll in a culinary weekend here, you can still bet that your food in their restaurant will be top notch and prepared by the most knowledgeable, talented and friendly chefs! It was such a unique, fun and special experience that myself and my boyfriend will never forget.

With gracious hosts, great rooms, music entertainment on the weekend nights and of course great food available for all meals (including complimentary breakfast every morning), you can be sure that this is an Inn that is not to be missed if you are vacationing in the Berkshires.

Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful Inn in the Berkshires with comfortable rooms, nice common areas, an excellent restaurant and bar and music at night. We have stayed in many Select Registry Inns and this ranks among the best

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed for 2 marvelous nights at this magical Inn. We were greeted warmly by the innkeepers and showed to tthe coziest room....fireplace going, impeccable design, sparkling clean bathroom...all the accoutrements. The breakfast/dining room was gorgeous and the tables were set up ever so beautifully. The meal was delicious and I have NEVER experienced such flaky croissants. All the help were helpful and friendly. We also had dinner there and the food was fantastic and not overpriced. We spent the BEST night in the piano bar with glorious entertainment and wonderful service. Would I return to the Gateways Inn? How about tomorrow!!! Ellen R

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs, the Desdamona Room on the main floor is for you. Located behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenox
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
6.9 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blantyre
Blantyre
#4 of 14 in Lenox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 14 in Lenox
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateways Inn

Property: Gateways Inn
Address: 51 Walker St, Lenox, MA 01240-2719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lenox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lenox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateways Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 11 room boutique hotel, located in historic Lenox MA. Origanlly built as the summer "cottage" for Harley Procter of Procter & Gamble fame. In house 5 star restuarant, exceptionally stocked bar and live music at the paino bar enhance your stay. Perfect for an intimate wedding, a family reunion or a romantic escape, we are one of the Berkshires finest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateways Hotel Lenox

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing