We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine food and friendly servers”

Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fine food and friendly servers”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Four friends were meeting for our annual vacation in the Berkshires. One remembered Alta from a past reunion. The experience didn't disappoint. It adds so much to an evening out to be treated like it's a pleasure, and even fun, to help you. The food was great. A good time was had by all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    226
    64
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Valley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely "Alta"”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

In Latin "alta" means "high", "lofty", "great", and ALTA is all of these.I hadn't eaten at ALTA in a year. Alas! This was not self-denial, merely circumstances. ALTA, I'm happy to say, has not changed. Success has not gone to its staff's head. Everyone there makes it abundantly clear that they are happy to see you and that they want to please you. That evening I went with the specials: gazpacho; broiled giant scallops with baby beets, mashed potatoes and steamed arugula; a dessert that looked like a layered trifle and featured a medley of fresh berries and mascarpone. Everything was well prepared, beautifully presented, and a symphony of taste delights. Is this why they're called specials? I'll be back. A trip to the Berkshires wouldn't be complete without a visit to ALTA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klagende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine both lunch and dinner”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were in Lenox, CT, for several days and ate both lunch and dinner at Alta. The menu was varied with something for everyone to enjoy. It was delicious. The service was even better and my water glass never got half full before being filled. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had an excellent dinner here, far too much food, but it was fantastic. The pork special was great, medium rare, the way I like pork, and the vegetables were very fresh. Great wine menu with Dave to help choose the proper bottle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kensmithld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
543 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great restaurant experience”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We make sure to eat here when we visit Lenox each year. The food and service are excellent...clearly driven by the on site very present owner who visits every table even on busy nights. Very good seafood and nice wine list. very good value. Be sure to make reservations.

Helpful?
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing