We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The lunch menu items are uniformly excellent. The service is gracious, and the owner almost always comes out to greet us during the meal.
The sandwiches come with great fries, so get your hike in before you go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WHLenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    227
    68
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If in Lenox go to Alta”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My boyfriend took me there for my birthday. Neither one of us had been there before but read really good reviews and I now know why. We had reservations and were offered any unoccupied table to sit at. We were told of the specials by our waiter, David. He knew all the specials and answered questions about other dishes on the menu. The salads were very good and brought out promptly as was the main course. There was bread put on the table and another basket was brought without asking. We both had coffee and David kept both cups full as well as the water. The main courses were ample and delicious. We asked how it is during the summer and David said it gets very busy. Definitely make reservations. If you are lucky you will get Dave to serve you. The owner also came around and asked how everything was and we felt that was a nice touch. Sit outside if the weather is nice. Just be prepared for crowds in the summer. You won't be disappointed if you have to wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I was sceptical going, but left a fan”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My friends selected this location and I admit I was a bit skeptical at first - seemed like a "meat" kind of place which was not my thing. I found, however, there were sufficient options that were not meat based, and that the establishment was very willing to make menu changes to meet individual needs - including those of the gluten-free member of our group. They were well prepared for any kind of dietary need. Staff were pleasant and ready to move us, or adjust anything to help make us more comfortable and happy with our dining experience. Service is paramount here. Meals were all wonderful, and so bountiful we all took portions with us. Of course, we also did that as we had to have room for dessert. The desserts are not to be missed - fabulous and unusual choices. We selected two to share amongst four of us, which was perfect. PLAN TO ORDER DESSERT!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fine service”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Always reliable - we eat at Alta every time we stay at The Birchwood Inn in Lenox. Love this place! Fresh food, well-made drinks from the bar, excellent service

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharonk410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Fine food with a French touch”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

N42°21.439' W73°16.977' What do you do when you work as a French chef in U.S. restaurants to prepare fine French food and meet your wife? You start your own restaurant where Americans can enjoy their well-known dishes prepared with the knowledge of the French kitchen. Aurelien Telle told us that his menu is aimed at the American dining habit and taste, so Americans do not feel uneasy with a menu they don't understand well, but adds the delicacy of the French kitchen.

The special pasta main dish was nice but we didn’t find it special enough during out visit in September 2013. Just nutritious and for us probably too close to the American taste. From another planet came the cheese plate with a variety of Vermont cheeses and New York bread. In combination with the dessert wine, it blew our minds of and catapulted us back to culinary traditions in the French Provence. Aurelien, merci beaucoup.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing