We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really something special”

Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have been dining regularly in Lenox for 12 years and have eaten at all of the venues. Alta is truly special. . The owner Aurelien is so charming and welcoming. The food is tremendous, and wines are very reasonable and varied.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scsvirsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    221
    61
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderrful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Food was varied and delicious. The staff very friendly and engaging. We enjoyed speaking with the bartender on duty while we were there. Atmosphere was cozy and warm. Loved the bar area. Restaurant was within walking distance of our B&B. Reservation would be recommended as the restaurant is very popular.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Went back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Alta had an excellent 3 course fixed price menu. Good value, very good food, nice selection of 3 entrees that changed nightly. Suggest reservation as it was crowded both nights.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLPBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Must Try Restaurant in Lenox”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was in the Berkshires for a business meeting. Our Hotel was less than 10 minutes away and we decided to try Alta. There were no tables available and we both my wife and I like to seat at the bar.
The experience was enjoyable on more than one level.
The bartender was very nice and attentive and served us our drinks to perfection and on a reasonable time.
My wife tried the prix fixe menu ($25) and I had the duck. Her three course dinner was very good. I love duck whatever the way it is done. This one with salted caramel sauce was to die for. It was cooked as I asked for: rare/medium rare, tender flavorful.
We had a bottle of côtes de Provence rosé fruity and very affordable. The wine list is pretty as extensive with a lot of choices.
The bar seems to be very well loaded in various alcohol and liquors. I noticed a nice collection of premium single malt scotch.
I definitely recommend Alta for a quality dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with a nice outdoor deck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very good food. If it is too warm, it is nice and air conditioned inside. We actually went there about 4 times because we spent quite a bit of time in Lenox. It is a great location.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank liketravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing