We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”

Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Powell, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lunch”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The atmosphere was perfect, as was the service. The owner stopped at our table more than once to make sure all was well. The food we ordered, a sandwich and a soup, could have been just a bit more seasoned, but were very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    228
    69
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Casual, Friendly, Good Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Looking for a local restaurant for dinner we booked a table here based on Tripadvisor reviews. We arrived on a cold, rainy night and the manager welcomed us as if to his house for dinner, knew our reservation name & showed us right to our table. Our server was knowledgeable and efficient. We decided to share an order of mussels first - small, just 'ok', but the sauce was fantastic, followed by a salad - split for us in the kitchen but large enough to appear like 2 salads. My husband's entree was risotto w/ salmon, I had a chicken dish. Both were good, in fact, the risotto was very good, but here's the surprise. The portions were huge! Maybe we should have guessed based on the size of the salad, but there was (seriously) enough risotto served to feed a family of four and I left half of my chicken on the plate. We were looking forward to trying a dessert, but there was no way. The menu gives the impression that a 3-course meal is a good way to go & I'm really not sure why the restaurant fills the plates to groaning -- but you might check portion sizes with your waiter when you go.
I'd recommend this restaurant to other Berkshire travelers, very comfortable, trying hard to please.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved Alta”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I found Alta on the Trip Advisor website when looking for a place for our anniversary dinner during our vacation in the Berkshires. We loved everything about this place. We shared blue cheese samosas with amazing sauteed baby kale with sunflower seeds as an app and then both had lamb shanks for our entree. The lamb was fall off the bone tender and delicious with perfectly roasted fingerling potatoes and broccoli. And the wine pairing suggested on the menu - a sangiovese - was a perfect match. The maple creme brulee was just the right balance of sweet crunch with creamy. The imtimate room was crowded but surprisingly quiet which was such a relief from the usual. There appeared to be sound proofing panels on the ceiling which were very effective. And we enjoyed the artwork as well. It is all for sale and our superb waitress provided a price list for us. The charming owner also checked in with us as well and graciously wrote down the name of the wine. I'd go back in a minute.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnMAmesburyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stop for lunch!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stopped at this wonderful little restaurant in the heart of artsy Lenox, MA. What a find! The focus is on Mediterranean-style; the food is fresh and delicious and the service was excellent. If the weather is good enjoy a table on the porch. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gma523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Pretty little place, larger than it looks from outside and it was very full (reservations required I would think). Good choice of menu. Lovely home made soup, followed by risotto with vegetables and shrimp,which was excellent. No room for desert! Amazing selection of ines by the glass. Casual atmosphere. My guess this is the best in town.

Helpful?
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing