We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dinner”

Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
448 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Superb dinner”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We discovered Alta last year during our annual visit to the Berkshires. This year we
made sure to have dinner there twice - once with friends - to introduce them to this
lovely, casual bistro. The food is fresh, creative and cooked to order. Flexibility with
the menu is another positive aspect of this restaurant. Their wine selection is excellent
and their suggestions for various entrees are perfect. The service is outstanding and
the owner is very gracious. Just remember to make reservations especially during the
season since it does get crowded.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redramPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    225
    64
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in the Berkshires”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

There are so many restaurants in Lenox and surroundings that sometimes its overwhelming. Most look terrific but many end up being just ok or even mediocre (Jonathan's a big disappointment, Church St Cafe just ok, Zinc Bistro good but not fantastic.) Alta was FANTASTIC. And we love good food! Service was excellent, and we loved that it's common practice to taste your glass of wine even before ordering it. They want you to be happy! We asked for all sorts of substitutions and they were wonderfully accommodating. Be sure to get a little side of their salty caramel sauce for whatever fish or meat you order!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Lenox”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I have eaten at Alta several times over the past 2 years and have never been disappointed.

The food is creatively and well prepared but not overly frou-frou. We've eaten great pasta, fish and meat -- most recently, an excellent and perfectly cooked Berkshire "heritage" pork chop with creamy mashed potatoes, grilled baby asparagus and brought together with a tangy-sweet-spicy sauce. My wife had linguine, cooked al dente with a Mediterranean sauce of olives, oven-dried tomatoes, fennel and artichokes. In typical American style, the pasta was somewhat over-sauced (Italians like their pasta not drowned in sauce) and the artichokes weren't fresh (they were flash frozen). If I were the chef, I'd have found some other in-season farm-fresh ingredient as a substitute or just go with the "less is more" option so typical of the best Italian cuisine. Having said this, the dish was very enjoyable.

Service and management is impeccable and the wine list is interesting and fairly priced. Your table is available at the time reserved and Alta gets you out reliably so you can get to your concert, play or other performance on time. Occasionally, we've been seated outside on the delightful porch, which glows with the early evening setting sun.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very Yummy”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a spectacular meal here recently. . . Roasted Salmon for me and Trout for my husband. The food was creatively prepared and just plain ol' delicious. To start, I had a beautifully prepared Vodka Gimlet. Next, I chose a Fois Gras Terrine with a peach jam that was exquisite. Then, we filled up on the entrees. Unfortunately, we were too full for dessert. The meal was about $120 +/- but was worth the money. . . and usually, I can't say that. When we go back to Lenox, Alta will be on my dance card!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Mass.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The food and the atmosphere was wonderful. We had the trout and the roasted cod in a delicious sauce.... the seafood cocktail is a must try - so unique!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kbmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Alta Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing