We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prairie Home Companion so much fun at Tanglewood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanglewood

Tanglewood
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra features performances by world-renowned conductors, soloists and musicians.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prairie Home Companion so much fun at Tanglewood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

It only happens in late June, but if you follow the radio show on PBS on Saturday at 6:00, you'll love being there where everything really happens at Tanglewood. The show is great, but the action goes on after for a couple of hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    95
    18
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great concert venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We saw James Taylor perform. We had great seats under cover. Worth the trip. Very pleasant settings but if you think it is going to rain, make sure your seats our under the roomed area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Garrison + Tanglewood = Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Went to Tanglewood to see Prairie Home Companion. Hugely surprised and delighted at the sound quality, ease of parking, and seating. Mr. Keillor was in top form. He is a brilliant ad-libber and tireless performer. His team did their 2 hour show and then went on to play for another hour+. Amazing! His guests included The DiGiallonardo Sisters who wowed the crowd with their spot on harmonies. So much talent in one family hardly seems fair but....more for us to enjoy. The Wailin' Jennys also a tremendously talented group, bathed us in true music. Singer/songwriters that reminded me of why I adore live music. Rounding out the performers and a Ying to the gals Yang, was Keb Mo. Keb offered up his bluesy soul in a way that makes you want more.
Mr Keillor had these three tag team tunes with him for the encore that was truly magical. Songs I haven't heard in years but remembered ALL the words to.
A unique and unforgettable evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scienceteach28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“PHENOMENAL venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Tanglewood hosts the Boston Symphony Orchestra during the summer and is also the summer home of the Boson Pops. On a beautiful summer afternoon or evening, the lawn at Tanglewood looks like a plush green carpet. Picnics and all types of beverage are permitted. Tanglewood also hosts many guest artists, generally for one performance only, and the artists are always first class performers. We are followers of the Pops, not missing a performance and always sitting on the lawn. Highest quality, first class entertainment. One suggestion...for an evening performance, bring a jacket. It really "chills off" in the Berkshire mountains. This venue never disappoints!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“James Taylor and Tanglewood made for a fun July 4!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had never been to Tanglewood and decided to go to see James Taylor after I received a gift certificate last year. I was disappointed that James did not play Tanglewood last July 4 so decided to wait and try to see him this year. Getting tickets on-line the day they went on sale was a nightmare. The BSO website crashed even though they should have expected high demand for the tickets since he sells out every time he plays there. My husband sent a email voicing his frustration and a woman called him directly to help him order two tickets, which was much appreciated. At any rate, we attended the July 4 performance with seats in The Shed. We parked in one of the first parking lots we came to and walked in. It was an easy walk despite the mud and wet grass. We walked around checking out the venue, beautiful with a huge lawn and picnic area. The lawn people are well-equipped and some of the spreads we saw were pretty impressive. I expected vendors and refreshment stands around but the food and drink for purchase seemed to be limited. Our seats were in the back half of the venue. Thank goodness for the screen over our heads or we wouldn't have seen a thing! I was surprised that the seating was not on an incline for better view of the stage. James Taylor played for about 2 1/2 hours and he and the band were excellent! Played all the old hits and some new and seemed to add a few songs at the end when we heard that the fireworks were cancelled due to the weather. The acoustics in the venue are excellent and the atmosphere casual and relaxed. We were a little concerned about getting out of the parking lot after the show but the Lenox police really have that figured out! They changed the traffic configuration in town and we easily got out of the parking lot. We were back at our hotel in no time at all, a welcome surprise. The show was great, well worth the wait, and the venue in The Berkshires just beautiful! Hope to go back to Tanglewood again sometime soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanglewood also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
 

Been to Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing