We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful spot!

Take the guided house tour with knowledgeable docents and learn about a woman way ahead of her... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
kingbyriverk
,
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
via mobile
Wonderful!

Mom and I both enjoy Edith Wharton's books and were recommended to visit The Mount over some other... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Valerie S
,
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Read all 801 reviews
  
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveler rating
546
208
32
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
208
32
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden tour guided tour pet cemetery free jazz interior design gardens are beautiful terrace cafe lovely house full bloom amazing woman formal gardens well worth the visit the main house wonderful tour her husband gilded age high school
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Take the guided house tour with knowledgeable docents and learn about a woman way ahead of her time. The house is lovely and the gardens provide wonderful photo opportunities. Visit in nice weather and enjoy a cafe lunch on the porch.

Thank kingbyriverk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mom and I both enjoy Edith Wharton's books and were recommended to visit The Mount over some other historic homes in the vicinity by a friend. What a joy! Her decorating style is so very different from the standard Victorian; none of the home was "off limits"; the tour was comprehensive and fun; and they were able to accommodate my handicapped mom! Her poetry is wonderful - don't miss Garden Valedictory!

Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

enjoyed our tour of this old historic home. story and tour was very interesting, everyone in our group liked it. has been restored well. some of gardens and stable area closed for winter. i would imagine that summer would be great to visit. strong recommendations....guides were great.

Thank ronk699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

From beautiful gardens to water fountains to walking trails to pet cemetaries to 1 of the very few grass stair case in the US, you will find it here!! And the inside home tour walks you thru an excellent history of our country.

Thank p n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were told this was a highly recommended museum to visit and we weren’t sure what to expect.
Looking back we’re very happy that we did go and took the tour which was extremely informative and put into historical balance.
A must visit if you’re in The Berkshires MA!

Thank louisg319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been to the Berkshires many times but never to the Mount. It’s a beautiful estate to visit and the tour is superb! The guide was so knowledgeable and had a real connection to Edith ! It was like she was on stage telling her life’s story! Just marvelous and not to be missed !

Thank Quest810582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

On a very hot day we toured the inside of the house. Because one gets a 2 day pass, we went back for the second day early in the morning.

Thank VirginiaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A location really suitable for adults only. Great house to look around, and lots of exhibits and very informative guides. Will take a couple of hours for the visit, with plain garden to wonder around

Thank check06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I didn't know much about Edith Wharton but after going on the tour of her home, I plan on reading more of her books. Docent very imofrmative & entertaiing. Grounds very pretty as well

Thank Destination743460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This magnificently restored home was a treat to tour. Docent was good, but I recommend you read one of Wharton’s novels to get the most out of the tour.

Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews