We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount

The Mount
Ranked #2 of 22 things to do in Lenox
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mount is a National Historic Landmark and cultural center that celebrates the intellectual, artistic, and humanitarian legacy of Edith Wharton. The Mount engages a diverse audience by providing context to Wharton's life and achievements through educational and public programs and the conservation and preservation of her historic estate and gardens. Each year, The Mount is host to over 40,000 visitors. Daily tours of the property are offered May through October, with special events throughout the year. Annual summer programming includes a joint exhibit with SculptureNow, Wharton on Wednesdays, Music After Hours, and the celebrated Monday Lecture Series. Exhibitions explore themes from Wharton's life and work.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recommend the Mount especially for the Gardens, which are beautiful in the summer. A great place to relax and take pictures. The house is also fascinating, although it retains few if any of Edith Wharton's original furnishings. Definitely worth visiting for a taste of splendor during the Berkshires' golden age.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    149
    24
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grounds and Historic Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Love the gardens (managed by my sister-in-law, by the way!) and the woodland trail. The inside is a fascinating glimpse into how the wealthy lived in the last century.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You will fall in love with Edith”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I didn't know too much about Edith Wharton but after touring her estate, which she designed. I came to admire this new age woman and look forward to reading 2 of her works: The Age of Innocence and Edith Frome. Tour guides were very helpful. Make sure you watch the movie at the start of the tour. Although all the rooms are not completely restored yet, The Mount is still very worthy of touring. The gardens are absolutely fabulous with indigenous plantings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VTpondjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was worth buying the pass to see several different sites, including the Mount. I didn't know who Edith Wharton was, so it was educational. I was disappointed, however, that they didn't tell me at the entrance that I could pay a little extra and go on a guided tour. I enjoyed my visit here, but liked going to the other museums in the area much more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was Edith Wharton's home that she herself designed. She was the first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize for literature. The home and grounds are lovely and well worth the visit. The tour was informative, the guide was excellent, and the gift shop was worth a look, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mount also viewed

Lenox, Berkshires
Stockbridge, Berkshires
 

Been to The Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing