We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Food”
Review of Morgan House Inn

Morgan House Inn
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Morgan House is a great relaxing place to enjoy great appetizers or a wonderful full course meal. Polenta outstanding and Sangria terrific.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    83
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We did a GPS search of restaurants after shopping at the Lee outlets and decided upon Morgan's for a late lunch. We both ordered the special - Chicken Pesto sandwich. The Chicken Pesto was simply outstanding! I am still thinking how incredibly delicious that sandwich was - hope they put it on their main menu. The waitress was very courteous and the food came out quickly. If I am in this area again, will defintely stop by for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank irene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Huge portions - an excellent meal”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stopped here while travelling home from Boston. I did not have a reservation and ate comfortably in the pub (as opposed to the dining room). I ordered one of the specials, a lamb shank with white beans, tomatoes and garlic served over egg noodles. The bowl was huge - easily enough for two meals. It was delicious and exactly the kind of comfort food I was in the mood for. I also had pound cake with berries for dessert, which was basic but fine. They could use some better wines by the glass on the menu. Service was very good. They turned away a couple of people so I think they would do well to keep a bar menu or offer soup, salads and sandwiches at least after 8:30. It was two or three tables with two or three guests per table. In this economy it was weird to see paying customers turned away like that. People eat late in the summer!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marty99x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice for lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We wandered into this restaurant and enjoyed terrific service, a nice array of choices and delicious food. Reasonably priced too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Soochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Attitude and canned gravy”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

During our stay in the Berkshires, we dined at Alta in Lenox, The Old Mill in Egremont, and The Old Inn on the Green in New Marlborough (see separate reviews for all). We also chose to have dinner one night at The Morgan House. The owner seemed quite perturbed that we did not have a reservation (it was a Monday night), and made a big deal, after humming and hawing for a good minute, of saying "oh well, I guess it's all right". WOW - that made us feel SO welcome! She then proceeded to seat us in a huge dining room (an anteroom apparently to the tavern, where most diners were), in which sat one other table of people. A couple more came in while we were eating, but the room was virtually empty the entire night. Our server, a young man, was friendly and efficient, so no complaints there. Also, my husband's salmon was really excellent - this chef knows how to cook fish. But, OMG, where did they get the turkey for the "Roast turkey with gravy"? -- this was processed meat, I am positive, and the gravy was definitely canned. We do not blame the chef for this - he is not responsible for the quality of the product with which he has to work. The quality of the food combined with the truly unacceptable attitude of the owner really put a bad taste in our mouths - we will not be back. On a rather humorous note - the next night, during our wonderful meal at The Old Mill in Egremont, the owner of the Morgan House showed up for dinner - hopefully, she took notes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank highlander88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan House Inn also viewed

 

Been to Morgan House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing