We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can say that you are staying with "Friends in the Berkshires!"”
Review of Crabtree Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crabtree Cottage
Ranked #3 of 8 Lee B&B and Inns
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
279 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“You can say that you are staying with "Friends in the Berkshires!"”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Set on a quiet residential street, this super B & B was the owner's family home. It still is and the lovingly tended house and (!) garden has the feel of staying with completely unpretentious old friends. (friends you have known and liked a long time, not "geriatric" friends!) It doesn't actually look too different from the other family homes on the street except for the riot of color spilling over the fence. (in August tall sunflowers, rudbeckia and cone flowers cheerfully welcomed us, another reason to visit in different seasons, just to see what Janis has been up to, plantwise!) 

The resident dogs are SO sweet... but, sadly, they never let me bring one home!

The rooms are lovely and are very comfortable, (kind of like home but not as messy as being at home, at least not like our house.) Books abound and Berkshire info is at your fingertips. Jeff and Janice have suggestions, too, as well as recommendations from their other guests and community. Our room even had a stack of movie videos but we never spend that much time in the room when the Berkshires are just outside the doorstep! Even on rainy days, there is far to much to experience here! 

From here, you can walk to Lee's pretty downtown in under a minute. You have a choice of many good restaurants for dinner in Lee (there's even a pretty good burrito place and sandwich shops if you want something fast.) You can drive to downtown Lenox or to Tanglewood in about 10 minutes or less, depending on traffic. The Mount and Shakespeare & Company are even closer. So is October Mountain State Forest. It's a wonderful central base for exploring all that the Berkshires have to offer, no matter what you like to do there or where you want to end up.

Plus (pay attention now) by staying here, you get what is probably the best breakfast in the Berkshires, Western Mass or possibly in the entire state! We are ovo-lacto vegetarians and are always happy. (although breakfast is often way too tempting for my ongoing dieting!) I won't try to describe Janis's popovers because drool is detrimental to your computer keyboard. There is usually an egg dish, fruit and something freshly baked. She often prefaces her breakfast selection by saying "I just found this new recipe and decided to try it today, so if it isn't good, please tell me." (Hah, right, as if! Everything is always wonderful, often decadent... they are both wonderful cooks!) 

I do not know when busy innkeepers find time to bake but there is always something set out in the living room for guests in the evening... so, returning from Tanglewood or a play, you might find a plate of cookies, cupcakes or some other delectable midnight snack lurking on the coffee table. (dangerously yummy! I try not to look.)

Breakfast is served in the pretty dining room with all the guests around a table, family style, which also brings me to the fact that only very nice people seem to stay here. If you are one, then you will definitely love it here as much as my husband and I do!

Room Tip: If you like the idea of cooking for yourself, there is a comfortable kitchenette room available, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo-cinzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I were in Lee the weekend of the 4th for the Prairie Home Companion show and we were so lucky to find the Crabtree. Janis and her husband are great! From the delicious breakfasts and the homemade cookies, they really make you feel at home. Last year, we stayed in Great Barrington, which was nice, but Janis' b&b is perfect, it's literally right down the block from the center of town, which is filled with great restaurants and bars and it's about 10 minutes away from Lenox and Tanglewood.

I can't wait to visit the Crabtree next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elucchese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

If you're looking for a great place, Crabtree Cottage is it. Besides being nicely situated near downtown Lee (but not right in it) and EASY to find, the house itself is very charming. Old books galore in the open den and lots of cute touches that made our trip fantastic. The owners are a very sweet couple that take a lot of pride in their work and make it a very enjoyable stay. And the food...well, it is amazing! I didn't want to leave the breakfast table the last morning for fear of not getting such a delicious breakie again. Final word: par-excellence!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Looking for a restfull and relaxing weekend getaway during the off-season, Crabtree Cottage more than met our needs. This warm, quaint B&B privided a quiet and restful stay. Nice location within walking distance of everytrhig that Lee has to offer. The owners are very friendly and helpful and served a delicious and filling breakfast. For good or bad (I feel good) this B&B has only 3 rooms, so everything is kept simple but with necessary personal touches. Excellent off-season rates. Will return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed here one night in late September 2010 on our way to Cape Cod. We had e-mailed our reservation request and received a prompt reply from Janis. All of the reservation process was handled via e-mail. Crabtree Cottage was easy to find using the map on their Web site. It’s just a couple blocks from several good restaurants in downtown Lee. Janis welcomed us at the door, and was friendly and helpful. Parking was off-street, behind the Cottage; it took just a couple minutes to carry our bags to the front door and then upstairs. We had selected the Master’s Chamber, which was spotless, comfortable, and larger than expected with a queen bed, two upholstered chairs, a table, a tiny TV set, DVD, a radio, and Internet access. We have a pillow-top mattress at home, so the bed felt a little too firm to us. The bathroom was larger than expected with up-to-date facilities and quality amenities, such as shampoo and hand lotion. The comfortable Victorian-style sitting room downstairs was like a museum with interesting collectables and books from around the world. It was restful before bedtime to listen to relaxing music and enjoy complementary port and cookies. In the morning Janis served a gourmet breakfast, which included quiche and pancakes and fresh blueberry muffins and fresh fruit. We had compared Crabtree Cottage to other B&Bs and hotels in the Lee area and found the rates were favorable, especially considering the personal service and extras provided. You should know that two small dogs and a cat live here, if it makes a difference to you. My wife is allergic to cats, but everything was so clean she had absolutely no problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayAreAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed here recently on two separate occasions and was very impressed. The room was well appointed, comfortable, spotless, very cozy. The full breakfast was delicious (best scrambled eggs -- made with ricotta cheese -- I have ever tasted and the baked pancake was a wonderful discovery), different items each time, and tastefully served in a beautiful dining room. The attention to detail (water glass and carafe by the bedside, nightlight, cookies in the lounge each evening) was appreciated and made me feel very much at home. The innkeepers Janis and Jeff were so welcoming, gracious, and helpful (Janis even wrapped up my uneaten breakfast muffins for my road trip ahead!), and their two dogs and one cat were a real joy to play with. Definitely look forward to my next stay with them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Word-from-the-Wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Very comfortable room and bed, gourmet breakfast (almond-crusted french toast and ricotta scrambled eggs, with fresh fruit and homemade muffins!), and a welcoming innkeeper who gave us a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary. The location is great (very close to many Berkshires attractions) and the price is much more reasonable than other B&Bs in the Berkshires. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennethHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
0.3 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Lee/Berkshires/Outlet Area
0.9 mi away
Devonfield Inn
Devonfield Inn
#1 of 8 in Lee
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crabtree Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crabtree Cottage

Property: Crabtree Cottage
Address: 65 Franklin St, Lee, MA 01238-1631
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing