We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the area during the summer”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for the area during the summer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here with my family (two adults + 1 child) on a last minute overnight for work. Picked the hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and its affordability. Stayed in one of the ground floor rooms with 2 queen beds. As expected for a motel, the room was small (would have been claustrophobic if 4 adults had been staying in the room) and the furnishings were dated. The blankets on the beds had holes on side and the paint was peeling away in part on the bathroom ceiling. However, the room and bathroom were clean, the water in the shower was nice and hot and the AC worked well - essential on a humid evening. The staff were most welcoming and helpful and readily provided us with extra towels. Breakfast was self-serve juice and coffee, plus DD donuts and bagels -- I appreciated that you could toast the bagels. Due to the convenient and relatively quiet location, I would stay here again if I were visiting the Berkshires and just needed a place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MainSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Main St,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable guest rooms and free breakfast. We hope to see you again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.


Sincerely,
Nalini-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Lee MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    36
    9
    13
See reviews for
37
41
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We booked at the last minute as we were going to Tanglewood and were unfamiliar with lodging in the area. Rather than pay three times the price for an overnight, we took the chance based on reviews we read. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, good service and great location of the motel. I'd definitiely recommend it and plan to book there again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear KarenL721,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable AAA-approved rooms. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations.


Sincerely,
Nalini-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn- Lee, MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I just spent two nights at America's Best Value Inn. The room was a bit on the small side, but spotlessly clean. I had a non-smoking room on the top floor with a nice balcony. The furniture was modern and the mattress was comfortable. There was an in-window heating and air conditioning unit that looks new. It's not very exciting, but I saved a lot of money staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FarAwayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear FarAwayTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share a review about our motel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and rooms, balcony view, and comfortable mattress. We look forward to having you stay again.


Sincerely,
Nalini
Americas Best Value Inn-Lee, MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

I had some doubts at first, after reading about it here. But we took a chance since the reviews sounded honest and positive.
And they were right on the money.
It was well worth it.
Clean, updated, quiet, and comfortable.
Everything in the room worked and the beds were clean and comfy.
OK. It's NOT the Hilton or even the Red Lion, but we checked out the rates at all the B&B's and they averaged $150 per night with NO amenities but a colonial post bed and a few antiques.
So for ALL the money we saved, we could buy our own antiques.
Yes. The breakfast was very very basic, but for around $55 per night, we didn't expect gourmet or a sit down hot 7 course meal.
The hotel does have a refrig and a microwave, so you can bring some of your own food to add to their bagels, cream cheese, and coffee.
The hotel owner/manager was friendly and helpful and the maid service was very good.
It is located about 15 minutes north of the Butternut ski resort and near to plenty of restaurants and attractions and very very easy to find.
So we have no complaints and we saved $100/night over those over-priced B&B's down the road, and used that money for dinners and skiing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longislanderlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear LongIslanderLloyd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean guestrooms, comfortable mattresses, mini-fridge, and free breakfast. We feel that we do offer the "best value" in the area. We hope that you visit us again.


Regards,
Nalini-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Lee, MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly.pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

We arrived in a snow storm that lasted all week in The Berkshires,my wife had meetings all week from 7am-7pm. We asked the owners to give us a "quiet room & do not disturb "till our departure and clean towels when needed, due to our stays strange sleeping hours.All this and more were offered to us ALL the time !!! This motel is your Basic Style,very clean ,great heat (-20 outside) and Proud Owners who care about your stay (every day Jerry or Ann asked us "Is everything OK do you need anything? "We were there for over 7 days of terrible weather but staying here made things seem a bit better. We will be back , hopefully with better weather !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaybirde63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Jaybirde63,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. Despite the unfortunate circumstances, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in our property and do our best to serve the traveling public. It is loyal and dependable customers like you that help us to succeed in the hospitality business.

Sincerely,
Nalini
Americas Best Value Inn-Lee MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Let's keep in mind we paid $45/night including taxes since it's the off-season in Lee. We simply wanted a home base for a few days of hiking and sightseeing in Western Mass and Southern Vermont, and this place was great. Plenty of maps and brochures in the front office, including a very helpful pictorial map of Lee, Stockbridge, Lenox, etc. Very convenient to many great sights and shopping, as well as hiking spots. The owners, a middle-aged couple who appear to live in a house in the back, were very friendly and accommodating.

The room was worn and outdated, but incredibly clean and neat, with adequate space (we had the queen bed room on the second floor, end). It was furnished with a large dresser, two bedside tables, a table and two chairs, mini-fridge, microwave, cable tv, and a hanging rack. The room was freezing at entry (temps outside were in the 30s and the motel was pretty empty) but a wall heating unit worked quickly and well. Bathroom was also spotlessly clean, adequate linens, hand soap and typical hotel shampoo. Shower took a minute or two to heat up, but piping hot water was plentiful, no complaints. The bed was an average motel mattress, fairly comfortable for a couple of nights after hiking and it passed my bedbug inspection with flying colors. The only wildlife were a couple of friendly ladybugs who kept to themselves in the corner of the ceiling. The second floor is one short flight up carpeted stairs, and our room provided an amazing view from the sliding glass doors.

We never checked out the continental breakfast - we picked up a few breakfast items at a local grocery and stored them in the handy mini-fridge, and there were plenty of places for good, local food within a short drive.

I would definitely stay here again (and intend to) if I'm in the area and the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caraheartstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Caraheartstravel,

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review about our motel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms, affordable rates, balcony view, and comfortable mattresses. We take great pride in our AAA-approved location. We hope that you stay with us or another one of our Inns located across the Country.


Regards,
Nalini-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Lee, MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading Berkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a cheap and cheerful place, no frills but provides what you need for a short stay in the area. Rooms clean and comfortable with easy access to all the beautiful places in the Berkshires. Lee and Stockbridge are close by, interesting places with good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nalini J, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Carolc59,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to local shops and restaurants. We feel that our motel offers the best value in the Lee, MA area.


Sincerely,
Nalini-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Lee, MA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee
2.5 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Lee
Rodeway Inn Lee
#8 of 9 in Lee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Chambery Inn
Chambery Inn
#3 of 9 in Lee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Lee/Berkshires/Outlet Area
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stockbridge
Pleasant Valley Motel West Stock...
#1 of 1 in West Stockbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 980 Pleasant St, Lee, MA 01238-9326 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Lee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Lee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Lee Hotel Lee
Best Value Hotel Lee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing