We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
2 reviews
“Great Service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night during a big snowstorm. Facilities staff shoveled path to my vehicle and cleared the snow from the car. Very clean and comfortable room at a good value. Would recommend to anyone staying in the North Andover area.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rltufts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andovermanagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We work hard to meet all of our guests needs. Living in New England sometimes it requires shoveling and snow removal. The hotel is in a great location is and as you stated is a great value to all. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. Hope you will stay again the next time you are in the area,

Molly Mulholland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    38
    16
    24
See reviews for
58
27
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Had been considering moving usual hotels from Hamtpon Inn chain to Holiday Inn Express. However this stay leaves me questioning standards maintained by HI Express. King room had only bed and desk chair. No where else to sit. Was plenty of room for sofa or easy chair. Why not provide? Also, one plug on desk for charging things. Not acceptable. Bathroom is basic with some mildew around grout. As others mentioned the signage to find hotel very difficult to locate.

Breakfast was pretty standard but tables spread around lobby area without much thought. Doesn't compare with more modern renovated hotels.

I saw this hotel as more of a step down from standard HI Express and Hampton Inns. Granted the price was lower as well so probably should have known based on that but the brand name should stand for something and it simply doesn't here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jdwells67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jdwells67,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the layout of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawrence hotels

Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have to say that from start to finish I was comfortable/pleased.
I was immediately greeted at the front desk by Kalisha and was quickly given a room before the
Check in time as I did not make a previous reservation. I also
Was given a water and snack so that was a warm welcome.
The next day I had to leave for work and there was a pretty bad snow storm in progress.
After having my free am coffee in the lobby, I was dreading cleaning the snow off my vehicle but the staff members Chris (front desk) and Junior offered immediate assistance to help me.
I found that exceptional service!...the walk ways were also shoveled and it was very early 3:30 am when this event happened. Later that day, I decided to extend my stay.
Jessica (front desk staff) happily arranged for that to go smoothly. I think the location has plenty of parking and a Dunkin donuts and FriendlyS restaurant are steps away ....
I had all the comforts I needed and the rooms were spacious/clean !
Thank you for a great stay

Room Tip: I stayed on the lower level near ice and goodie machines Also a hop to coffee and breakfast bar. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMLacroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I only stayed one night here for business. I loved having a Dunkin' right outside the hotel but the driveway was a little confusing as it is the same one as Dunkin/Denny's. The business center was very helpful as I needed to print some documents that I had forgotten to bring with me. The room seemed clean but smelled musty. The air conditioner was loud. The furniture was dated and the legs on the desk in the room I stayed in (219) seemed like they were going to collapse from under it at any moment. Not the best Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed at but for the price, it's not a bad hotel option if you're in the area. Last note, for all the gripes I listed about the physical condition of the hotel, the staff was very nice, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Jessica P,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff being very nice, friendly, and helpful. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here to and from New York so only experienced this place for sleeping and having a breakfast. Have to say the beds are quite comfortable the first stay however on our way back, we were in a different room and the bed was not as comfortable as the first nights stay. The air conditioning unit needs upgrades. The food is good as it is a kick start to the day. I cannot comment on anything more as it was for sleeping purposes only and did not have a chance to really see the full facility of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear JanBean,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurleyville, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I would never stay here again. It was an awful experience. Dirty rooms, they booked us the wrong room, and gave me a hard time about it. The front desk people were very nice but the manager Molly was rude and not very understanding. Take your money and go to a Marriott!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitiekisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andovermanagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your feed back . We work hard every day to please our guests. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your loyalty. We hope you will continue to stay at IHG hotels.

Regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What the title says. I'd like to say there's nothing special here, but there actually is! The staff. GM, front desk, night auditor, and housekeeping are all excellent.

Breakfast bar is clean and constantly re-stocked. That can't be said for all HIX properties. Ample parking. Keep in mind there is no pool or guest laundry (as advertised on the IHG site). This is, however, one of the more affordable properties in the Lawrence/Andover area. Easy business center, nice lobby sitting area, and they sent a few faxes for me (with no charge).

Stuff like that goes a long way.

Friendly's Restaurant and Dunkin Donuts are both in the parking lot.

No complaints. Solid five stars all around.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andovermanagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Krystal G

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express while on vacation. It is great to hear about your stay. I was very exchied and shared with the housekeeper that cleaned your room. Diane our breakfast attendant was thrilled to receive some feedback as well. Your compliments mean a lot to me but more to my staff that work hard everyday.

Hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
3.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Andover
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Andover
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
3.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Andover
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tewksbury Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence

Property: Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence
Address: 224 Winthrop Ave, Lawrence, MA 01843-3824 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the pet-friendly Andover North-Lawrence hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Andover Lawrence hotel provides convenient access to major airports, such as Logan International (BOS) and Manchester Airports (MHT) with quick access to I-495 and I-93. Ideal for the business traveler, our Lawrence hotel is in close proximity to several major attractions and businesses. Our location also makes conducting business at companies like Raytheon, New Balance and Smith & Nephew very easy. Nearby local educational facilities, including Brooks School, Phillips Academy, Merrimack College, Cambridge College and Essex Community College are easily reached from our Lawrence hotel. Leisure guests will find that our Andover-Lawrence, MA hotel has a wide variety of vacation activities. The North Shore beaches are just 15 miles away. The Harold Parker State Forest is only four miles away. The Stevens-Coolidge Place Gardens and Colonial Revival House Museum are just over one mile away. During your Andover vacation, you can enjoy choice hotel amenities like high-speed, hotel-wide Internet access, and our complimentary hot breakfast bar. This Lawrence hotel is pet-friendly for those traveling with pets. There are even free treats for your pet at the front desk! Book your reservations today and take advantage of our great Andover-Lawrence hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Andover North - Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence / Andover Hotel Lawrence
Holiday Inn Lawrence
Lawrence Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing