We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local charm!”
Review of Cafe Azteca

Cafe Azteca
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Local charm!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Authentic Mexican restaurant with good food and average pricing; very busy and somewhat loud.
Street parking only.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    41
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food and the service are both great!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The title says it all, I have to admit it has been a while since I have been here. The server was wonderful, I had shrimp and it was fantastic.
I went with my daughter and her husband, theywere living in Brooklyn at the time and were equally as impressed. Their experience with authentic Mexican food is much greater than mine is.
There is ample parking.
The prices are reasonable as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jelun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent source of Peruvian and Mexican food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Having lived in the Boston-area for over 15 years, I've found that great Mexican food is hard to come by (Mexican being an extremely general term). Being an ethnically diverse city, Lawrence has some good options, and Cafe Azteca is one of the best. Tasty food, low prices, quick service. While attention is paid to decor as befitting a sit-down restaurant, don't come in here for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wandering_gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Medocrity meets wanna be authentic”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant use to be quite nice. But my last 2 visits were definitely my last 2 visits. Not sure if it cutting corners for the sake of laziness or shaving corners to save on expenses. The food was just not as good as it use to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin_m_crocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, MA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing food for awesome value!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you are ever in Lawrence stop in here. The food is just amazing, authentic mexican that tastes wonderful. Prices are low for the amount of food you receive. Good beer list, great chips and salsa and dessert is great too! They do have limited hours.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjenfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing