We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to eat there”
Review of Cafe Azteca

Cafe Azteca
Ranked #1 of 152 Restaurants in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Have to eat there”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cafe Azteca has been my favorite restaurant for many years now. Every week Antonio makes a special that I think is my favorite until the next one. The menu has so many choices, all I have tried delicious. I don't know how the shrimp (my absolute favorite) are always so crisp and delicious, but they are. One of the best things is that this restaurant accommodates requests to make deviations in the menu, either choice of beans, no dairy products, or more of one food item than another in choices that for example have chicken, fish and meat, it is easy to get no meat and more of the other items. The staff are excellent, and it must be an excellent place to work as most of them work there from age 14 through college and beyond. Everyone is friendly and accommodating. Once in awhile things are not super speedy but we never mind. If things are slow they always bring more chips and salsa and the homemade salsa is so good. I think it should be available by the bowl as a soup choice. I try never go too long without my Cafe Azteca fix.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ei442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gone down hill”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have been going here for many years on a regular basis but tonight will be the las night our food was cold the waitress unattentive, verging on rude. the hot sauce we asked for arrived when we were so fed up and ready to leave and it was frozen, she was also missing in action to take the check we had to go look for her, this is such a shame but this is the 2nd bad experience in a row.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljj4pcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Simply the Best Mexican Around”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Small, family- owned, with an excellent, authentically decorated interior. Chef Antonio learned from his mother in Mexico, but constantly offers specials of his own invention. Everything made to order with fresh ingredients- not the frozen appetizer junk that is served in other venues with Mexican- sounding names.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican Food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you cant afford the time or expense of traveling to Mexico, drop by Cafe Azteca and it is like you just landed in the middle of a Mexican vacation! Been here a few times, and it never dissappoints! It is so beautiful inside, the decorations are so pretty and the food is incredible!

I had the Tamales and they were so tender and tasted great! Had a pitcher of house Margaritas too! Dessert was the bomb! Great service! Low Prices.....this place is gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pncped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“home style food”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We like this place because every time we go they have great specials and the food is always good. They also have great margaritas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Penguin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing