We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect in every way”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
A ten minute drive away, Stithians Lake offers a great day out, on and off the water
A little further away, Newlyn is the largest fishing port in England
Explore one of Henry VIII's finest coastal fortresses, Pendennis Castle
Watch the sun go down at Porthleven with a refreshing drink at the Ship Inn
St. Ives and the nearby Carbis Bay are a lovely day out
Falmouth has the world's third largest deep-water harbour and is renowned for the arts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Porkellis, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jo T
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect in every way”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well, what can I say? Andrew and Anthony couldn't have welcomed my daughter and I more. We stayed in the beautiful barn for four nights and didn't want to come home. The Star Inn is a gorgeous country pub and only about five steps from the barn accommodation, with a brilliant reputation for excellent food.....tried and tested..... Scrumptious!
Our hosts ensured that we had everything we needed for a luxury stay from the most comfortable bed and sofa bed (difficult I know!) ... to a thoughtful welcome pack of local eggs, milk, butter and bread. A very well designed holiday home with a modern kitchen, bathroom with bath, washer/dryer and towels provided.
From the quiet Cornish village setting, to the friendly local pub and beautiful barn conversion, we had a fabulous break. My daughter and I saw much of the stunning Cornish countryside and rugged coastline, just a short drive away. However, we couldn't wait to receive the friendly welcome on our return and looked forward to our nightly catch up with Andrew & Anthony.
Anthony we loved your homemade Cornish pasty and beautiful fruit cake you kindly let us try. We also can't forget your gorgeous dogs Silverstone and Jovi.
We made friends here and can't wait to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Atmosphere from location and people
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Jo, it was a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us last week. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your Cornish pasty and look forward to welcoming you again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B
1 review
“Excellent cottage and friendly service”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic stay at the Star Inn. Very nice location in the countryside. We were very pleased with services. The staff were so friendly and welcoming, felt very cosy and comfortable. Cleanliness 5 star. Overall, more than our expectation. will be looking forward again for our next break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage and the friendly welcoming service.
Liked least: had problem with wi-fi connection inside the cottage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2016
It was lovely to meet you all. We are really pleased that you had a great break and look forward to welcoming you back soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie E
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accomodation and central for both North and South coast”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just stayed for the second time at the The Barn at the Star Inn. Very comfortable accommodation which is in an excellent position to visit both the north and south coast of Cornwall, The Lizard and Lands End. The owners, Anthony and Andrew are very friendly and welcoming.
We also ate at the The Star Inn, excellent food and a warm and welcoming pub.
Thank you. I'm sure we will be back again as our daughter and her partner have now found some accommodation in Cornwall for the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent Value
Liked least: Wifi available in the pub but not in The Barn. Mobile reception is also limited.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
It was great to see you all again and we are really pleased that your daughter and her partner found somewhere for the summer. We are glad that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon! A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina...
1 review
“Very good! Can wait to go back!”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I highly recommend the Barn! I had a delightful time at the Barn (The Star Inn). It is a fantastic place to stay is very comfortable and well set up. The owners (Andrew and Anthony) are lovely, very warm and welcoming. Thank you both for such a great time and I’m looking forward to see you again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Confort
Liked least: Wi-fi/internet access
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahhR28...
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would and have recommended to anyone”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a wonderful few days. Luxury. The barn was cosy in the wet weather. Our girls wanted us to live forever in a house like this! .....if only we could. Had a good home cooked meal in the pub as well. Thank you. We hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2016
Sarah, thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you all again soon. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelsma...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Highly recommended. Antony and Andrew were brilliant hosts, friendly, approachable and helpful. The barn was beautiful, clean and a very relaxing atmosphere. The pub itself had friendly locals and although we didn't sample the food it looked and smelled delicious. We will be telling all our friends and family about it and will be visiting again in the summer. Thanks very much guys!!! Rachel and josh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2016
We are so pleased that you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High quality accommodation and great attention to detail.”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The accommodation was excellent very comfortable and set up well for 4 people to stay. The welcome pack was excellent as we arrived quite late. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The location is good within easy reach of Helston, Truro and the Lizard peninsula.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
It was lovely to have you with us over Christmas. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. A&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing